Commission 38

EXCHANGE OF ASTRONOMERS/ECHANGE D'ASTRONOMES

Business Meeting, 20 August, 1994, 9:00-10:30

President:

J. Sahade

Vice-President: Secretary: H.E. Jorgensen K.-C. Leung

Members present:

Y. Kozai, I.S. Nha, M.S. Roberts, C. Tolbert, Y. Kondo & R.M. West

1. Report of the President

The President reported that during the triennium the Commission business, for expediency reasons, was conducted between the Vice-President and himself through facsimile, following a tradition in Commission 38.

The President stressed the fact that during the triennium the cooperation and help that he enjoyed from the Vice-President was more than excellent and he wished to keep on record his indebtedness to Professor Jorgensen.

During the triennium up to August 1, 1994, 24 grants were given and about 30 replies were negative, the latter because the applicants did not meet the Commission Guidelines, either the proposed visits being too short or the applications not meeting the purpose of Commission 38 grants.

The grants that were approved went to astronomers from 10 different countries, namely,

China	(7)
Argentina	(4)
Russia	(4)
India	(3)
Brazil	(1)
Czech R.	(1)
Lithuania	(1)
New Zealand	(1)
Slovak R.	(1)
Ukraine	(1)

the number in parenthesis being the number of grantees from each particular country, and the places to which they went were in

India	(5)
France	(3)
FRG	(3)
USA	(3)
Brazil	(2)
UK	(2)
Austria	(1)
Belgium	(1)
Canada	(1)
Denmark	(1)
Mexico	(1)
New Zealand	(1)
	203

I. Appenzeller (ed.), Transactions of the International Astronomical Union Volume XXIIB, 203-206. © 1996 IAU. Printed in the Netherlands.

the numbers in parenthesis being again the number of grantees that went to that particular country.

The President indicated the amount of money that was available for the past triennium and the one that would be available for the next triennium, namely,

for 1991-1994	CHF 76000
for 1994-1997	CHF 88000

and pointed out the need of publicizing the existence of Commission 38 in a more effective way, perhaps by producing some kind of a poster and sending it out to the different astronomical institutions/departments in the World.

The number of grants assigned in the triennium is, however, in the line of what has been the case in other triennia, namely,

1970-73	56
1973-76	21
1976-79	18
1979-82	24
1982-85	23
1985-88	23
1988-91	27
1991-94	24

Prof. Jorgensen thought that it would also be useful to send the Commission Guidelines to the different astronomical institutions, and Dr. West suggested to publicize Commission 38 in Sky and Telescope, ESO's publications like The Messenger and other similar places.

At the question of the role of the membership in the work of the Commission, Prof. Jorgensen expressed his view that it would be difficult to involve the members in the reviewing process because normally the time available is too short. The President suggested that the members could help publicizing the existence of the Commission.

2. Review of the Commission membership

The President reported the addition of two names to the membership of Commission 38, namely those of Yoji Kondo and Richard M. West. No objection were raised and no additional names were proposed.

3. Business matters

a. Professor Kozai's proposal

The President explained that Professor Kozai had proposed that Commission 38 should grant travel money to astronomers who live in countries with hard currency problems and have been assigned telescope observing time in good sites.

The proposal was extensively discussed by the attendees and after considering its different implications and flexibility that is contemplated in the present Commission Guidelines, it was found unnecessary and inconvenient to change them. Professor Kozai concurred with this decision.

b. Review of the terms of reference of the Commission

In regard to the Commission Guidelines, the President suggested that in the Application Procedure section

- (ii) curriculum vita should be corrected to curriculum vitae
- (v) should be underlined and that the following should be added
- (vi) postal and e-mail addresses
- (vii)bank account number, if possible

M.S. Tolbert thought that an application form for Commission 38 grants would be useful.

4. Membership of the new Organizing Committee

The President reported that the proposal submitted to the EC for the next triennium included the following names:

Prof. H.E. Jorgensen (Denmark), as the next President Dr. M. Roberts (USA), as next Vice-President and D.M. Chitre, J.R. Ducati, G. Krishna, M. Morimoto, R.M. West and J. Sahade as the members of the Organizing Committee.

No objections were raised.

5. Other business

R.M. West suggested that the Commission 38 should consider granting money for subsistence also. The reading of the relevant parts of the Commission Guidelines led to the conclusion that they were sufficiently flexible to require any change.

---- o -----

Before the meeting was closed the Vice-President expressed his gratitude to Prof. Sahade and thanked him for a perfect and constructive cooperation during the triennium.

COMMISSION 38

List of Grantees - Triennium 1991-1994

Name	Origin	Destination
Benaglia, P.	Instituto Argentino de Radio Astronomia, Ville Elisa (Bs. As.), Argentina	National Radio Astronomy Observatory, Albuquerque, NM, USA
Carpintero, D.	La Plata Observatory, La Plata, Argentina	Instituto de Astronomia, UNAM, Mexico
Chandra, S.	University of Gorakhpur, India	Frankfurt University, Germany
Colombo, E.	Instituto de Astronomia y Fisica de Espacio, Buenos Aires, Argentina	Fred L. Whipple Observatory, Amado, AZ, USA
Ducati, J.R.	UFRGS, Porto Alegre, RS, Brazil	University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI, USA
Frolov, P.	P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute, Moscow, Russia	Copenhagen University Observatory, Copenhagen, Denmark
Godunova, V.	Main Astronomical Observatory, Kiev, Ukraine	Graz University of Technology, Graz, Austria
Goldes, G.	Cordoba Observatory, Cordoba, Argentina	Marseille Observatory, Marseille, France
Gu, ZN.	Shanghai Observatory, Shanghai, China PR	Royal Observatory, Brussels, Belgium
Korchagin, V.I.	Institute of Physics, Rostov-on-Don, Russia	IUCAA, Pune, India
Li, ZS.	Shanghai Observatory, Shanghai, China PR	Paris Observatory, Paris, France
Nazarova, L.	Sternberg Astronomical Institute, Moscow, Russia	Royal Greenwich Observatory, Cambridge, UK
Nesvorny, D.	Astronomical Institute, Prague, Czech R	University of Sao Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Oknyanskij, V.	Sternberg Astronomical Insitute, Moscow, Russia	TIFR, Bombay, India
Pandey, U.	University of Gorakhpur, India	Bonn University, Germany
Pritchard, J.	University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand	Institut d'Astrophysique, Paris, France
Qin, Z.	Purple Mountain Observatory, Nanjing, China PR	Max-Planck-Institut fuer Radioastronomie, Bonn, Germany
Sersen, M.	Comenius University, Bratislava, Slovak R	IUCAA, Punc, India
Singh, H.P.	University of Delhi, India	University of London, UK
Tong, Y.	Beijing Normal University, China PR	INPE, Sao Jose dos Campos, Brazil
Urpin, V.	Ioffe Insitute for Physics & Technology, St Petersburg, Russia	TIFR, Bombay, India
Vorobyov, E.	Rostov State University, Rostov-on-Don, Russia	TIFR, Bombay, India
Zdanavicius, K.	Institute of Theoretical Physics & Astronomy, Villnius, Lithuania	Carter Observatory, Wellington, New Zealand
Zhao, J.	Shanghai Observatory, Shanghai, China PR	Dominion Astrophysicsal Observatory, Victoria, B.C., Canada

About thirty additional requests had to be turned down because they did not meet the Commission guidelines, and another one did not provide all the required information. One grant was not utilized and is not listed.

Reports of the work performed under the Commission 38 grants were received from one grantee of the previous period and from nine grantees of the present period.