

Doris Graber, recipient of Murray Edelman Distinguished Career Award, with award presenter, Darrell West.

1991 APSA Annual Meeting was received by John Zaller, University of California at Los Angeles, for "Information and Incumbency Advantage in Congressional Elections." The award was presented by Michael Delli Carpini, Barnard College.

The Murray Edelman Distinguished Career Award was created to honor Murray Edelman and is given to an individual whose lifetime scholarship has advanced our understanding of political communication. The first recipient of this award is Doris Graber of the University of Illinois, Chicago. The award was presented at the Annual Meeting by Darrell West, Brown University. Professor Graber was cited for her scholarship and for her leadership in developing the field of political communication.

Political Economy Organized Section

The Best Book or Article on Political Economy published in the last three calendar years was a joint award this year. The recipients were Alice H. Amsden, New School for Social Research, for Asia's Next Giant: South Korea and Late Industrialization, published by Oxford University Press, and Robert Wade, University of Sussex, for Governing the Market: Economic Theory and the Role of Government in East Asian Industrialization, published by Princeton University Press. G. John Ikenberry of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace and the University of Pennsylvania presented this award.

The Political Economy Organized Section was unable to give an award for 1991, so they also presented the 1991 award retroactively for the Best Book or Article on Political Economy to Ronald Rogowski, University of California at Los Angeles, for his book Commerce and Coalitions: How Trade Affects Domestic Political Alignments, published by Princeton University Press.

Committee on the **Status of Blacks Honors APSA Fellows**

The Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession held a reception in honor of all African-American Graduate Fellows on September 4 in conjunction with the Annual Meeting. The APSA African-American Graduate Fellowship Program was instituted in 1970. Since its introduction, it has produced 39 Ph.D.s, 15 A.B.D.'s, and many more fellows are currently completing their coursework.

The reception was organized by Christopher Foreman, Committee chair, and Maurice C. Woodard, APSA staff associate.

New APSA Officers Elected

APSA President James Q. Wilson presided at the Association's 1992 Annual Meeting Business Meeting September 5, where new officers were elected.

Charles O. Jones, University of Wisconsin, Madison, was elected president-elect; he will assume the office of president in 1993-94. Allan Kornberg, Duke University; Arlene W. Saxonhouse, University of Michigan; and Kenneth A. Shepsle, Harvard University, were elected to oneyear terms as vice presidents.

F. Chris Garcia, University of New Mexico, was elected to a one-year term as secretary. Eight new Council members were also elected to twoyear terms: Harriet B. Applewhite, Southern Connecticut University; David S. Broder, Washington Post; James L. Gibson, University of Houston; Jennifer L. Hochschild, Princeton University; Raymond F. Hopkins, Swarthmore College; Gary C. Jacobson, University of California, San Diego; Barbara S. Romzek, University of Kansas; and Linda Faye Williams, University of Maryland.

At the end of the meeting, Wilson passed the gavel to Lucius J. Barker to begin his term as president.

Editor's Note: A list of all Association committees and their membership will appear in the March issue of PS.

Travel Grants for Foreign Scholars Attending Annual Meeting

Forty-six foreign scholars were the recipients of travel grants to attend the 1992 APSA Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois. Foreign graduate students attending U.S. universities were selected competitively and received travel money made available by Huang Hsing Foundation, The Asia Foundation, and the APSA Council. More senior scholars who had been invited to participate at the Annual Meeting were also awarded travel funds by the APSA Council.

As part of an exchange between

NOMINATIONS SOUGHT FOR 1993 APSA AWARDS

Nominations are invited for the APSA awards to be presented at the 1993 Annual Meeting in Washington. Dissertations must be nominated by departments and submitted by January 15, 1993. Books must be nominated by publishers and submitted by February 1, 1993. Members are invited to nominate individuals for the career awards. Further details may be obtained by contacting the national office.