REPORT OF THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

In a Special Postal Ballot of the Society which was held in July 1965 the Society approved the submissions by the Council of the revised constitution of the Society. This constitution has been printed together with the constitution of the Summer Research Institute, and a copy has been sent to all members.

Under the provisions of the new constitution the following members have been elected by the Council.

Honorary Members: Professor Sir Thomas Cherry and Professor C. E. Weatherburn (the first honorary members of the Society).

Ordinary Members:

ma	inary Memoers.	
	Professor B. Abrahamson	Mr T. Lewis
	Mr M. J. C. Baker	Mr B. Meakins
	Mr W. D. Bartlett	Mr N. J. de Mestre
	Mr B. F. Bingley	Mr C. B. G. McIntosh
	Mr P. E. Blanksby	Mr D. F. Nicholls
	Mr A. J. Bull	Dr M. R. Osborne
	Mr K. W. Chang	Professor D. C. Peaslee
	Mr D. L. Clements	Mr N. D. Porter
	Mr J. J. Cross	Mr J. F. Price
	Mr L. C. Debman	Mr W. Pye
	Dr T. J. Dickson	Mr A. M. Roberts
	Mr P. M. Drummond	Mr B. Robinson
	Dr V. Dlab	Ir P. B. M. Roes
	Mrs E. J. Giles	Mr A. Shafaat
	Mr J. D. Gray	Mr K. G. Smith
	Dr R. H. J. Grimshaw	Mr A. G. R. Stewart
	Mr W. S. Hearn	Dr E. Strzelecki
	Dr T. D. Howroyd	Professor S. J. Tobin
	Mr R. R. Huilgol	Professor P. M. Weichsel
	Mrs M. Izumi	Mr R. T. Worley
	Dr S. Izumi	Mr A. J. van der Poorten
	Mr B. W. King	Dr R. Vyborny
	Dr A. H. Klotz	•

Reciprocal members:

Mr R. W. Eyland	(London Math. Soc.)
Mr D. Desbrow	(Edinburgh Math. Soc.)
Mr J. C. Butcher	(Amer. Math. Soc.)
Mr Harold S. Miller	(Amer. Math. Soc.)
Mr W. Bogdanowicz	(Amer. Math. Soc.)

Resignations have been received from the following: R. S. Northcote, M. R. O'Carroll, N. U. Prabhu, H. P. Powell, D. Ross, J. P. McCarthy, G. Rennie.

The deaths of Mr M.L. Urquhart and Professor H. C. Levey, two foundation members of the Society, are reported with regret.

The Annual Meeting of the Australian Mathematical Society was held at the University of Western Australia from Monday 23rd May to Friday 27th May, 1966. There were forty-four members from interstate and twenty-one local members. Most of the interstate visitors stayed at Kingswood College.

The following speakers gave one-hour addresses by invitation: Dr I. T. Adamson (The class tower problem), Professor J. W. Craggs (Dynamic similarity), Professor A. T. James (Hypergeometric functions, multivariate distributions and orthogonal polynomials (an account of joint work with Mr G. Constantine)), Dr A. Klotz (Unified field theories), Mr T. Lewis (Randomly delayed events), Professor D. C. Peaslee (Elementary particles and Lie groups), Professor G. B. Preston (Representations of certain semi-groups).

Research papers were presented by: Mr J. C. Baker, Dr D. W. Barnes, Professor A. Brown, Dr V. Dlab, Professor J. B. Douglas, Mr H. M. Finucan, Mr J. L. Griffiths, Professor A. F. Horadam, Dr A. Klotz, Professor H. O. Lancaster, Professor K. Mahler, Dr M. F. Newman, Dr M. N. Oguztoreli, Ir P. B. M. Roes, Mr T. P. Speed, Professor C. Szekeres, Professor S. J. Tobin Dr C. J. F. Upton, Professor G. E. Wall, Dr G. A. Watterson, Professor P. M. Weichsel.

The two main social events were a visit to Houghton Vineyards and the Annual Dinner, which was well attended.

The tenth General Meeting of the Society was held on Thursday 26th May, at which the reports from the Secretary, Treasurer, and Editor were received.

The following were elected to the Council of the Society for the ensuing session: President – Professor H. O. Lancaster (New South Wales); Vice-Presidents – Professor H. C. Levey (Western Australia), Professor B. H. Neumann (Australian Capital Territory); Treasurer – Professor C. S. Davis (Queensland); Secretary – Dr C. J. F. Upton (Victoria); Editor – Professor G. B. Preston (Victoria); Assistant Editor – Professor J. B. Miller (Victoria); Ordinary Members (2nd term) – Professor A. F. Pillow (Queensland), Professor J. B. Douglas (New South Wales), Professor G. B. Preston (Victoria), (1st term) – Dr J. H. Michael (South Australia), Mr D. H. Row (Tasmania), Professor H. S. Green (South Australia).

It was decided to hold the next Annual Meeting of the Australian Mathematical Society in Canberra. The expected dates of the Meeting are from May 29th to June 2nd, 1967.

C. J. F. Upton