



EDITORIAL OFFICE 506 Keystone Drive, Warrendale, PA 15086-7573 USA Bulletin@mrs.org tel 724.779.2747 fax 724.779.8313 www.mrs.org

About the Materials Research Society

The Materials Research Society (MRS), a not-for-profit scientific association founded in 1973, promotes interdisciplinary goal-oriented basic research on materials of technological importance. Membership in the Society includes almost 16,000 scientists, engineers, and research managers from industrial, government, and university research laboratories in the United States and close to 70 countries.

The Society's interdisciplinary approach differs from that of single-discipline professional societies because it promotes information exchange across the many technical fields touching materials development. MRS sponsors two major international annual meetings encompassing approximately 70 topical symposia, and also sponsors numerous single-topic scientific meetings. The Society recognizes professional and technical excellence and fosters technical interaction in local geographic regions through Sections and University Chapters.

MRS participates in the international arena of materials research through the International Union of Materials Research Societies (IUMRS). MRS is a member of ASTRA and is an affiliate of the American Institute of Physics.

MRS publishes symposium proceedings, MRS Bulletin, Journal of Materials Research, and other publications related to current research activities.

2010 MRS BOARD OF DIRECTORS

President David S. Ginley, National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA Immediate Past President Shefford P. Baker, Cornell University, USA Vice President and President-Elect James J. De Yoreo, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA

Secretary Bethanie J.H. Stadler, University of Minnesota, USA Treasurer Michael R. Fitzsimmons, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA Executive Director Todd M. Osman, Materials Research Society, USA

Wade Adams, Rice University, USA

Tia Benson Tolle, Air Force Research Laboratory, USA Flemming Besenbacher, Aarhus University, Denmark
Eberhard Bodenschatz, Max Planck Institute for Dynamics
and Self Organization, Germany

lan W. Boyd, Melbourne Centre for Nanofabrication, Australia Yves J. Chabal, The University of Texas at Dallas, USA J. Murray Gibson, Argonne National Laboratory, USA Charles C. Han, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China Gregg S. Higashi, Alta Devices Inc., USA Chris Orme, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA

Michael F. Rubner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA Takao Someya, The University of Tokyo, Japan Richard A. Vaia, Air Force Research Laboratory, USA

Pierre Wiltzius, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA

MRS OPERATING COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Academic Affairs Kalpana Katti, North Dakota State University, USA Awards Julia R. Weertman, Northwestern University, USA Government Affairs Duane B. Dimos, Sandia National Laboratories, USA Information Services Sean Hearne, Sandia National Laboratories, USA International Relations Julia W. P. Hsu, The University of Texas, Dallas, USA Intersociety Interactions Martin L. Green, National Institute

of Standards and Technology, USA

Membership Shashi G. Jasty, Sigma-Aldrich, USA

Public Outreach Amy Moll, Boise State University, USA

Technical Program Michael J. Aziz, Harvard University, USA

MRS OFFICE OF PUBLIC AFFAIRS

Ron Kelley 499 South Capitol St. SW, Suite 600, Washington, DC 20003

Editor

Elizabeth L. Fleischer, fleischer@mrs.org

Managing Editor

Judy Meiksin, meiksin@mrs.org

Technical Editor

Lori A. Wilson, lwilson@mrs.org

Editorial Assistants

Ben Moriarty, moriarty@mrs.org Mary Wilmoth

Associate Technical Editor

Don Monroe

Art Director

Kasia M. Bruniany

Production/Design

Franklin Design, Chrisopher R. Roberts, SPI Technologies, Inc.

Advertising/Sponsorship Mary E. Kaufold, kaufold@mrs.org Donna L. Watterson, watterson@mrs.org

Circulation

Michelle Judt, judt@mrs.org

Director of Publications and Marketing Gail A. Oare

Guest Editors

Cameron Alexander and Igbal Gill

Special Contributors

Graeme Lister, Steven Trohalaki, and Tara Washington

Special Consultants
Gan Moog Chow, Gopal R. Rao, and Alan Sellinger

Book Review Board

Linda J. Olafsen (Chair)

Beyond the Lab

Carol Trager-Cowan (Chair), Y.-T. Cheng, Eric Marshall, Amit Misra, and U. Ramamurty

Energy Quarterly

V.S. Arunachalam (Chair), Anshu Bharadwaj, David Cahen, George Crabtree, Russell R. Chianelli, Robin W. Grimes, Abdelilah Slaoui, Guillermo Solórzano, and Steve M. Yalisove: Gordon E. Pike (Project Manager)

EDITORIAL BOARD

Paul S. Drzaic (Chair), Drzaic Consulting Services, USA V.S. Arunachalam, Center for Study of Science, Technology & Policy, India Marie-Isabelle Baraton, University of Limoges, France Robert C. Cammarata, Johns Hopkins University, USA Laura Fornaro, University of Uruguay, Uruguay
Hanns-Ulrich Habermeier, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Germany Steven C. Moss, Aerospace Corporation, USA Julie A. Nucci, Cornell University, USA Linda J. Olafsen, Baylor University, USA David N. Seidman, Northwestern University, USA Carol Trager-Cowan, University of Strathclyde, UK Julia R. Weertman, Northwestern University, USA Eric Werwa, Washington, DC, USA Steve M. Yalisove, University of Michigan, USA

VOLUME ORGANIZERS

2012 Lei Jiang, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China Sergei V. Kalinin, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA Stephanie P. Lacour, University of Cambridge, UK Steven C. Moss, Aerospace Corporation, USA

2011 Kyoung-Shin Choi, Purdue University, USA Reuben T. Collins, Colorado School of Mines, USA Sean E. Shaheen, University of Denver, USA

2010 T. John Balk, University of Kentucky, USA David Cahen, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel Fiona C. Meldrum, University of Leeds, UK Stephen K. Streiffer, Argonne National Laboratory, USA

2009 Amit Misra, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA Rvan O'Havre. Colorado School of Mines. USA Kenneth R. Shull, Northwestern University, USA Susanne Stemmer, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA

MRS Bulletin (ISSN: 0883-7694, print: ISSN 1938-1425, online) is published 12 times a year by the Materials Research Society, 506 Keystone Drive, Warrendale, PA 15086-7573, Copyright © 2010, Materials Research Society, Permission required to reproduce content. Periodical postage paid at Warrendale, PA, and at additional mailing offices. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to MRS Bulletin in care of the Materials Research Society, at the address listed; tel. 724-779-3003; fax 724-779-8313. Printed in the U.S.A.

Membership in MRS is \$115 annually for regular members, \$30 for students. Dues include an allocation of \$29 (\$17 for students) to a subscription to MRS Bulletin. Individual member

subscriptions are for personal use only. Non-member subscription rates are \$300 for one calendar year (12 issues) within the U.S.A. and \$360 elsewhere. Single copies may be purchased for \$55 each. Requests from subscribers for missing journal issues will be honored without charge only if received within six months of the issue's actual date of publication; otherwise, the issue may be purchased at the single-copy price.

MRS Bulletin is included in Current Contents */Engineering. Computing. and Technology: Current Contents */Physical. Chemical. and Earth Sciences, the SciSearch ** online database, Research Alert®, Science Citation Index®, and the Materials Science Citation Index™. Back volumes of MRS Bulletin are available on microfiche through University Microfilms Inc., 300 North Zeeb Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48106, USA.

Send Letters to the Editor to Bulletin@mrs.org. Include your name, affiliation, and full contact information.