

Vinette Smith

Avra Johnson, University of Houston

Non-funded Fellows

Cosette Grant, Dillard University Marva Jean Gordon, St. Edward's University

Anita Cumberbatch, John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Vinette E. Smith, Prairie View A&M Scharn Robinson, Union College Donnett M. Flash, University of

Iowa

Marsha Townsend, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Sharon Ards, Rice University

Wanda DeVeen Jones, Purdue University

Devin Walker, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Maurice L. King, West Georgia College

Terri D. Jackson, Bucknell University

Status for 1989-90 Program: Of the 16 students named as 1989-90 Fellows, one was funded by APSA, 11 were funded by departments of political science, two decided to attend law school, and another chose Oxford University. Only one of the 16 was unsuccessful in securing funding.

Oral History of Black American Political Scientists

Malcolm Jewell wrote a proposal on behalf of APSA and the University of Kentucky to produce a monograph by and about Black American Political Scientists as part of APSA's Oral History Project, one of the Evron Kirkpatrick Fund programs. Status: We have been given oral confirmation from the Ford Foundation that we will be granted \$25,000 for this project.

Conclusion

Although it is clear that as a profession we have much to do and that we must persistently work on the pipeline problem over the next decade, I think we have made a good start. I will report periodically to you on how we are doing and would appreciate any ideas you may have on the specific programs or the more general recruitment problem.

Pi Sigma Alpha Awards

Each fall Pi Sigma Alpha, the National Honor Society of Political Science, gives awards for activities for the academic year to Pi Sigma Alpha chapters at institutions throughout the country. Proposals for the awards for this year must be postmarked by November 9, 1990 and sent to the national office of Pi Sigma Alpha, 4000 Albemarle Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20016.

Proposals submitted for consideration fall into three general categories:

- 1. *Membership*—activities which increase the number of members in a chapter.
- Society Affairs—program activities, such as an essay competition, newsletter, debates, special speakers, public service awards, political activism projects, etc., that will improve the quality of the chapter program.
- Service—activities such as providing speakers to area high schools of community groups to discuss political issues, conducting a campus poll to measure student interest in relevant civic topics, etc.

In 1989 the amount of \$20,010 was given to twenty-eight award-winning chapters to help develop their projects, in amounts ranging from \$250 to \$2,000.

Winning chapters and the projects for which awards were granted were:

Alpha Iota, Utah State University, for projects to increase membership and to promote academic excellence and the exchange of student and faculty ideas, including publication of The Utah State Review;

Alpha Kappa, University of Utah, for an essay contest open to all high school age students in the state of Utah:

Alpha Upsilon, University of Michigan, for a membership drive consisting of campus mailings and informal gatherings;

Alpha Phi, Idaho State University, for a bi-weekly "Coffee and Politics" forum;

Beta Mu, Brigham Young University, for a High School Outreach program;

Beta Tau, University of Pennsylvania, to assist in rebuilding the chapter through guest speakers and videos:

Gamma Kappa, Howard University, for a Ralph Bunche Distinguished Lecture Series;

Gamma Tau, Whittier College, for a speakers panel:

Gamma Chi, University of South Carolina, for a seminar on Current Conditions in Areas of Critical Interest to the United States;

Epsilon Nu, Auburn University, for a series of events to celebrate the department's twentieth anniversary;

Zeta Xi, University of Delaware, for a one-day undergraduate student conference focusing on political change;

Zeta Phi, Murray State University, for an International Speakers Forum;

Theta Alpha, Creighton University, for an initiation banquet, student debates, and brown bag lunches;

Theta Pi, Northern Arizona University, for partial funding to send six members to represent the United Kingdom at the National Model United Nations conference in New York:

Theta Phi, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, for a two-day miniresidence; Kappa Kappa, Indiana State University, for the preparation of a brochure on Political Science career literature;

Mu Upsilon, John Carroll University, for a symposium on the 1989 Cleveland mayoral election;

Nu Xi, University of North Dakota, for a lecture and awareness series with the theme "The Future of the Homeless";

Nu Omega, Oakland University, to fund "Oh Congress! A Conference on Congressional Legislative Process";

Xi Xi, State University of New York, Geneseo, to expand campus awareness of changes taking place in the communist world through various methods, including a competition among student teams in a "Jeopardy" game format;

Omicron Alpha, St. Olaf College, for sponsoring a speaker of national calibre;

Omicron Zeta, Washburn University of Topeka, for publication of an undergraduate political science journal, The Washburn Journal of Politics;

Omicron Rho, Marist College, for an essay contest on the topic "The Cold War—Is It Over?";

Pi Epsilon, Glassboro State University, for equipment for a small Political Science library;

Pi Omicron, University of California, Irvine, for a symposium entitled "The Outbreak of Democracy: Reflections on a World in Transi-

tion?";

Rho Nu, Prairie View A&M University, and Xi Mu, Southern University, to partially fund a program on "The 1965 Voting Rights Act Twenty-Five Years Later: Past Litigation and Contemporary Problem Areas";

Rho Omicron, Tufts University, to foster an interest in the discipline of political science and to increase chapter membership through a forum in which underclassmen can meet with students and professors.

Pi Sigma Alpha, founded in 1920, now has 386 chapters distributed among the leading collegiate institutions in the country.

All correspondence for Urban Politics Section should be mailed to:

Professor Bryan Jones
Chair, Department of Political Science
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX 77843