Volume V

February 1972

Number 1

PRELIMINARY SLATE OF CANDIDATES FOR ASA OFFICE

The Nominating Committee for 1972 (Carl Rosberg, Chairman, David Abernethy, Mutwakil A. Amin, Mary-Louise Bourret, and Kay Lawson), met on 27 December 1971. The following people have accepted the invitation of the Committee to stand for election to the Vice Presidency and the Board of Directors.

Vice President:

Richard Sklar, University of California, Los Angeles Absolom Vilakazi, The American University

Board of Directors (Elect three for three-year terms):
Harm J. de Blij, University of Miami, Coral Gables
Hilda Kuper, University of California, Los Angeles
John A. Marcum, University of Denver
C. Sylvester Whitaker, Princeton University
John Willis, University of California, Berkeley
Audrey Wipper, University of Waterloo, Canada
James B. Wolf, University of Colorado
I. William Zartman, New York University

The June issue of the <u>Newsletter</u> will print statements by the candidates. Ballots will be sent to members in July.

Article II, Section 9 of the Association By-laws provides that "At least sixty (60) days prior to the date of (the) annual meeting, any ten or more Members may nominate additional candidates by sending their nominations to the Elections Committee."

The final date for receiving additional nominations will be June 1, 1972. Nominations should be sent to the Executive Secretary, 218 Shiffman Center, Brandeis University, Waltham, Massachusetts 02154, and must be accompanied by a signed statement from the nominee to the effect that he is willing to stand for election and that he will serve if elected. Sponsors of nominations must presently be members of the Association.