Association News

Benjamin Ginsburg, Department of Government, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY 14853.

Stephen Holmes, Department of Political Science, University of Chicago, 5828 South University Avenue, Chicago, IL 60637.

Robert Keohane, Department of Government, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA 02138.

Paula D. McClain, Center for Public Affairs, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ 85287.

Kay Schlozman, Department of Political Science, Boston College, Chestnut Hill, MA 02167-3807.

Donald L. Robinson, Department of Government, Smith College, Northampton, MA 01063.

G. Bingham Powell, Jr. Selected Next Managing Editor of APSR

G. Bingham Powell, Jr., University of Rochester, has been selected to serve as the next Managing Editor of the American Political Science Review. President Judith Shklar proposed Bingham's appointment to the Council at its Fall meeting in San Francisco after consideration of the recommendations of the ad hoc Search Committee for the Managing Editor. His selection was approved by the APSA Council at the meeting.

Powell's scholarship in the field of comparative politics, electoral politics, and political participation has been widely recognized. He received the Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award for the best book published in the United States during 1982 on government, politics, or international affairs for his study Contemporary Democracies: Participation, Stability and Violence, published by Harvard University Press.

Bingham Powell has been Professor of Political Science at the University of Rochester since 1979. He began his teaching career at the University of California at Berkeley in 1968 and moved to Rochester in 1970. He has also taught at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He received his Ph.D. from Stanford University in 1968. Bingham Powell served on the APSA Council from 1986 to 1988 and on

the Editorial Board of the APSR from 1985-88, and has served as well on the editorial boards of the American Journal of Political Science and the Midwest Journal of Political Science.

The members of the Managing Editor Search Committee were Richard Fenno, University of Rochester, Chair; Lucius Barker, Washington University; Alexander George, Stanford University; Virginia Gray, University of Minnesota; Robert Jervis, Columbia University; Peter Lange, Duke University; Samuel C. Patterson, Ohio State University; and Judith N. Shklar, Harvard University, ex officio.

Committee on Status of Blacks Presents Awards at Annual Meeting

The APSA Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession honored two political scientists at the Annual Meeting in San Francisco. Ronald Walters, Howard University, and Michael Preston, University of Southern California, were both warmly acclaimed at the meeting for their substantial contributions to the profession. They were recognized for their scholarship, leadership and mentorship. Walters and Preston are both professor and chair at their respective institutions.

Mitchell Rice, Louisiana State, chair of the Committee, made the presentations at the annual nightcap reception of the Committee. Professors Robert Smith, San Francisco State University; Joseph McCormick, Howard University; Paula McClain, Arizona State; and Dianne Pinderhughes, University of Illinois, made



Mitchell Rice (center), chair of the Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession, presided at the reception honoring Michael Preston (left) and Ronald Walters (right).

personalized remarks about the honorees.

Organized Section on Transformational Politics Approved by Council

The Organized Section on Transformational Politics was officially approved by the Council at the Annual Meeting in San Francisco. This brings to twenty-six the number of Organized Sections functioning within the Association.

Individuals seeking membership in this new Section should send their \$5 dues to the national office, or designate membership with their next APSA renewal. A statement of the aims of the new Section by Jeff Fishel, American University, and Betty Zisk, Boston University, is printed in the September 1990 issue of PS.

Public Policy Section Is Reconstituted

At the Annual Meeting the Public Policy Organized Section adopted new bylaws and a new name, approved a slate of officers for the upcoming year, and initiated plans for new Section newsletter. Robert Lineberry, University of Houston, was elected President of the Section, Randall Ripley, Ohio State University, is Vice President, and H. Brinton Milward, University of Arizona, will serve as Secretary-Treasurer.

Virginia Gray, University of Minnesota; Terry Moe, Stanford University; Elinor Ostrom, Indiana University; Susan Rose-Ackerman, Yale Law School; Paul Sabatier, University of California at Davis; and Anne Schneider, Arizona State University, are serving on the Governing Council. Helen Ingram, University of Arizona, will take the lead on initiating the Newsletter.

The purpose of the Public Policy Section is to foster professional growth and communication among political scientists interested in public policy. Dues-paying members of what was previously named the Policy Studies Section of the APSA

638 PS: Political Science & Politics