C. Vladeck, Director, Health Care Financing Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Vladeck received his Ph.D. in political science from the University of Michigan. *Washington Post* national correspondent E.J. Dionne was selected as winner of the 1996 Carey McWilliams Award honoring his contribution to our understanding of politics.

Details on awards presented by the Organized Sections appears later in Association News.

APSA Welcomes Graduate Students at San Francisco Meeting

Graduate students are an integral part of the APSA Annual Meeting, and this year over 1500 attended. Graduate students delivered papers in the approximately 650 panels and roundtables during the 1996 meeting, and could also be found among the 250 scholars presenting posters at the Annual Meeting poster sessions.

Several events and services targeted graduate students in San Francisco, including two forms of informal exchanges with senior scholars. "Breakfast with Champions" gave students the opportunity to participate in relaxed roundtable discussions with renowned political scientists. Discussions ranged from career planning and networking relationships, to balancing family responsibilities, formulating research, and improvements in teaching skills.

At the Annual Meeting's Leading Scholar series, the graduate students participated in roundtable sessions with two legendary scholars. Gabriel A. Almond and Heinz Eulau, both of Stanford University and both former APSA presidents, discussed the evolution of political science, and the controversies that have reconstructed the discipline in recent decades.

The Professional Placement Service, located in the Hotel Nikko San Francisco, attracted over 600 applicants. The Service offers an opportunity for institutions to meet job candidates face-to-face and discuss prospective employment opportuni-



Herbert Kitschelt, Duke University, receives the Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award for the best book published in 1995 on government, politics, or international affairs. Title of his book: *The Radical Right in Western Europe* (University of Michigan Press). Presenting the award is Virginia Sapiro, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Award Committee Chair.

ties. This year 96 institutions were represented and 177 job openings were posted.

Finally, students attended the Annual Graduate Student Reception, where they received a special welcome from President Arend Lijphart and President-Elect Elinor Ostrom. Held at the Crowne Plaza Parc Fifty-Five Hotel, students mingled with other students and with many of the nation's most respected political scientists.

APSA Awards Advanced Graduate Student Travel Grants

In a continuing effort to assist graduate students slated to present papers at the annual meeting, the Association again offered its Advanced Graduate Student Travel Grant Program. With funding through the APSA Council, 18 travel grants were awarded. Nearly 90 applications were submitted. The names and affiliations of winners follow:

Russell Lightfoot, Miami University Tom Lewis, University of Washing-

Steven Lobell, University of California-Los Angeles

Kira Poplowski, University of California-Santa Barbara

J. L. Jeffries, University of Southern California

Gene Brewer, University of Georgia Andrew Barnes, Princeton University Jeff J. Corntassel, University of Arizona

Patrice M. Mareschal, University of Oklahoma

Scott H. Huffmon, University of Mississippi

Peter Stone, University of Rochester Robert H. Bruhl, University of Illinois at Chicago

Janice M. Googin, Brown University Marie Gottschalk, Yale University Paul G. Harris, Brandeis University Paul A. Harris, Auburn University Heather Trippel, Purdue University Douglas M. Gibler, Vanderbilt University

Annual Meeting Short Courses Promote Professional Development

Ten short courses were offered in San Francisco the day before this year's Annual Meeting began. As part of the Annual Meeting's "Professional Day" program, several APSA Organized Sections and the National Issues Forum sponsored

746