particular form, trainees' performance should be assessed in the following areas: (a) ability in history taking, formulation and oral and written case presentation; (b) therapeutic skill and judgement, including ability in specific treatment techniques; (c) relationships with patients and their relatives and with colleagues (medical and non-medical); (d) theoretical knowledge of psychiatry; (e) knowledge of, and skill in, general medicine; (f) initiative, reliability, self-reliance and administrative ability; (g) command of English language (where appropriate).

It is important for the assessment to describe the trainee's particular strengths and weaknesses and to state the

trainer's views about any action needed and career prospects. A rating of ability in each area on a simple 3 or 5 point scale provides a useful profile, but there should also be adequate space for narrative comment.

Formal assessments should always be discussed by the consultant and the tutor with the trainee but should otherwise remain confidential. The trainee should be asked to add his own written comments, including his views as to the quality of content and training on that placement. The report should remain with the psychiatric tutor and remain confidential between consultant, tutor and trainee concerned.

# College Notices

### Stop Press

It was announced at the meeting of Council on 19 March that the new President of the College will be Kenneth Rawnsley, Professor of Psychiatry at the Welsh National School of Medicine.

# A Helping Hand

A year ago the Research Committee expressed its willingness to help those who were experiencing difficulties in undertaking research projects and who were unable to get advice from other sources (*Bulletin*, May 1980). A number of individuals have already sought help and I hope, received it. We would again like to draw attention to our readiness to be of assistance.

SHEILA A. MANN

Secretary, Research Committee

# Tenth Psychiatric Tutors' Conference

The next Psychiatric Tutors' Conference is to be held at the University of Kent at Canterbury from 24 to 26 September 1981. Tutors are invited to send suggestions for topics for discussion to Dr I. G. Bronks at the College. Enquiries to Jane Boyce, also at the College.

## Psychotherapy Section Scientific Meeting

Dr Fay Fransella, Reader in Clinical Psychology at the Royal Free Hospital, will be talking about **Personal Constructs in Psychotherapy** at the College at 8.00 pm on 20 May 1981. All members of the College are welcome to attend.

# Officers of the Divisions

#### Chiltern and Thames Valley Division

Chairman: Dr J. Steinert Secretary: Dr St Montgomery

Representative Fellow on Council: Dr E. W. Shepherd
Representative Member on Council: Dr Diana Dickens
Executive Committee: Drs B. Alapin, B. Chester, T. Crow,

R. Cundall, H. A. Dickinson, W. B. Knapman, Professor R. G. Priest, Dr V. Wilkinson.

Co-opted: Dr A. R. M. Freeman, J. B. McWhinnie

Collegiate Trainees Representatives: Drs. M. Bowker and D. Costain

# **East Anglian Division**

Chairman: Sir Martin Roth

Secretary: Dr Digby Hall

Representative Fellow on Council: Dr A. G. Mezey
Representative Member on Council: Dr Digby Hall
Executive Committee: Drs. S. Cohen. G. Goldberg

Executive Committee: Drs. S. Cohen, G. Goldberg, D. M. Lynch, F. McEvett, A. Mitchell, B. F. Whitehead

Collegiate Trainees Representatives: Drs H. Ghadiali and G. Holt

# Irish Division

Chairman: Professor T. Lynch Secretary: Dr D. Shanley

Represenatative Fellows on Council: Dr A. S. Clenaghan

and Professor T. Lynch (alternate)

Representative Members on Council: Drs R. Galloway and P. A. Carney (alternate)

Executive Committee: Dr F. R. Brown, Professor I. Browne,
Drs G. J. Calvert, P. A. Carney, A. S. Clenaghan, M.
Collins, J. Corbett, R. Draper, D. Dunne, Professor T.
Fahy, Drs J. J. Fennelly, M. Hartmann, M. J. Ledwith, S.
Martens, B. McCaffrey, W. B. McConnell, S. D.
McGrath, P. McQuaid, Professor P. J. Meehan, Drs M.
Mulcahy, W. M. Nelson, J. O'Boyle, U. O'Donnell, W. C.
Patton, C. Smith, V. Sullivan, P. Tubridy, J. Walsh, D.
Walshe, Professor M. Webb

Co-opted: Professor I. Browne, Drs W. A. G. MacCallum, E. Martin, B. McCaffrey, O. Shanks

Collegiate Trainees Representatives: Drs J. O'Riordan, J. Scott, O. Shanks and E. Martin

#### **Midland Division**

Chairman: Dr C. P. Seager Secretary: Dr L. I. Liebling

Representative Fellow on Council: Drs C. P. Seager Representative Member on Council: Dr L. I. Liebling

Executive Committee: Drs C. Berry, Professor R. Bluglass, Drs. P. Crofts, T. L. Dunn, M. A. Ezzat, D. Gill, E. B. Gordon, P. Morris, A. H. Ogden, B. E. Oliver, R. L. Palmer, K. Raychaudhuri, L. G. Scarth

Collegiate Trainees Representatives: Drs P. Casey and K. Dwivedi

#### **North East Division**

Chairman: Dr K. Davison
Secretary: Dr H. de B. Warren

Representative Fellows on Council: Drs. D. A. Stephens and G. G. Wallis (alternate)

Representative Member on Council: Dr T. E. Nelson

Executive Committee: Drs J. Blake, J. Caldbeck-Meenan, P. Cannon, N. E. Crumpton, R. Farquharson, L. M. Kremer, E. MacDougall, H. B. Milne, A. R. Nicol, P. Victoria Spencer, Professor A. C. P. Sims

Collegiate Trainees Representatives: Drs S. Baugh and D. Srinivasan

# North West Division

Chairman: Dr M. D. Enoch Secretary: Dr I. Cookson

Representative Fellow on Council: Dr M. Cashman Representative Member on Council: Dr M. W. Forth

Executive Committee: Drs R. T. Allen, J. Ansari, D. J. Black, M. W. Forth, A. W. Johnson, K. Khan, M. J. MacCulloch, P. Maguire, W. P. Maragakis, K. Rix, S. Shafar, A. K. Suri

Collegiate Trainees Representatives: Drs F. Margison and T. Rajamanickam

## **Scottish Division**

Chairman: Professor G. C. Timbury Secretary: Dr W. D. Boyd

Representative Fellows on Council: Drs W. D. Boyd, R. Davidson, I. M. Ingram and D. A. Primrose

Representative Members on Council: Drs J. Evans, P. W. Kershaw, M. R. Malcolm and N. A. Todd

Executive Committee: Drs B. R. Ballinger, J. K. Binns, Professor R. E. Kendell, Drs R. G. McCreadie, P. K. Mulkherjee, E. C. Nelson and the Chairman or Secretary of each of the Specialist Sub-Sections and Groups in the Division

Co-opted: Drs J. A. Clark and R. A. W. Ratcliff Collegiate Trainees Representatives: Drs J. Gallagher and I.

ollegiate Trainees Representatives: Drs J. Gallagher and I.
Pullen

#### **Southern Division**

Chairman: Dr K. Hamadah

Secretary: Dr K. O'Keeffe

Representative Fellow on Council: Dr J. Hatrick Representative Member on Council: Dr A. C. Smith

Executive Committee: Drs K. Bergmann, J. Cockburn, J. A. Corbett, G. Davies, J. Hatrick, M. Heller, J. M. Hirons, J. Kellett, J. Pearce, M. Perinpanaygam, E. Roderic-Evans and P. Taylor

Co-opted: Professor R. Cawley, Drs Freda Reed and J. Stead

Collegiate Trainees Representatives: Drs L. Sireling and Helena Waters

#### **South West Division**

Chairman: Dr H. J. Crow Secretary: Dr C. Davies

Representative Fellow on Council: Dr H. J. Crow

Representative Member on Council: Dr C. Davies

Executive Committee: Drs I. G. Christie, D. H. Dick, M. J. Gay, A. L. Horton, J. Jancar, G. E. Langley, J. S. Lyon, H. G. Morgan, P. N. Nott, G. D. P. Wallen, and A. E. Wilson

Collegiate Trainees Representatives: Drs K. Craig, D. Martin and Carol Trotter

### Welsh Division

Chairman: Dr J. M. Cuthill Secretary: Dr A. M. P. Kellam

Representative Fellows on Council: Drs J. Cuthill and J. M. Hughes (alternate)

Representative Members on Council: Drs A. B. Rolfe and A.

Representative Members on Council: Drs A. B. Rolfe and A. M. P. Kellam (alternate)

Executive Committee: Drs T. J. G. Davies, H. Edwards, I. Gonsalves, Enid Howells, J. M. Hughes, G. H. Jones, T. A. Phillips, D. Pierce, W. B. Spry, M. M. Tannahill, D. D. R. Williams

Ex-officio: Drs M. W. Annear, Elinor Kapp, Professor K. Rawnsley, Dr A. B. Rolfe

Collegiate Trainees Representatives: Drs P. Marshall and R. Scorer