Association News

1970 Annual Meeting

The 1970 Annual Meeting of the American Political Science Association was held at the Biltmore and Hilton Hotels, Los Angeles, California, September 8-12. Official registration for the meeting was 2,659 with 980 participants in panel sessions. 421 papers were delivered.

Annual Business Meeting

The Annual Business Meeting was conducted in five sessions this year with President Karl W. Deutsch presiding; the American Arbitration Association assisted with the administration of the sessions. Items on the agenda included amendments to the current Constitution, the proposed new Constitution, resolutions, and nominations for Association officers.

The Business Meeting voted to submit three Constitutional amendments to the membership: removal of specific dues amounts from the Constitution, mail ballot vote on resolutions, and adopting positions on issues affecting the status and



Robert E. Lane, Yale University, Association President 1970-71



rights of Black and other disadvantaged groups in the United States. Two amendments received less than forty per cent of the votes present and failed: separation of Association dues from subscription to the Review and selection of the Editor of the Review by an elected Board of Review Editors. One amendment, on cumulative voting for Association officers, was tabled. By vote of the Business Meeting, action on the proposed new Constitution was deferred for a year to allow further discussion of it.

Resolutions relating to the status of women and Chicanos were passed at the meeting and a resolution on academic freedom was referred to the Committee on Academic Freedom. Seven resolutions which were not reached on the agenda due to lack of time were submitted by vote of the meeting to the membership. The results of the balloting on these resolutions, as well as on Constitutional amendments, election of officers, and the referendum on dues called for by the proposed amendment on dues will be published in a future issue along with official minutes of the Council and Business Meetings.

Presidential Address

President Karl W. Deutsch of Harvard University presented his Presidential Address, "On Political Theory and Political Action", at the Annual Meeting. It will be published in the March REVIEW.

Awards

David Butler, Nuffield College, and Donald Stokes, University of Michigan, received the \$1,000 Woodrow Wilson Foundation Book Award for the best book published in the United States in 1969 in government, politics, or international affairs. The award winning book, Political Change in Britain was published in America by St. Martin's Press. According to Bernard C. Cohen, the Chairman of the Selection Committee, the volume "will leave its mark on students of parties, of British politics, of comparative politics, of voting behavior, and of democratic theory for many years to come." The Committee which selected the winner was composed of Bernard C. Cohen, University of Wisconsin, Chairman; Harvey C. Mansfield, Jr., Harvard; and Susanne Hoeber Rudolph, Chicago.





The Pi Sigma Alpha Award, for the best paper presented at the 1969 Annual Meeting, went to Brian Fly, Stanford, and Richard Winters, Dartmouth for "The Politics of Redistribution." Members of the Selection Committee were: Gerald H. Kramer, Yale, Chairman; Samuel H. Barnes, Michigan; and William C. Mitchell, Oregon.

The Helen Dwight Reid Award, for the best dissertation in the field of international relations, law and politics, went to Francis Seth Singleton, University of Alberta. His dissertation, "The African States and the Congo Affair 1960-65" was submitted by the Department of Political Science, Yale University. Members of the Selection Committee were: Burton M. Sapin, George Washington, Chairman; Richard A. Brody, Stanford; and Donald J. Puchala, Columbia.

The Leonard D. White Award, for the best dissertation in the general field of public administration, broadly defined, went to Gary W. Wynia, University of Minnesota. His dissertation, "Policy and Bureaucracy in Central America: A Comparative Study" was submitted by the Department of Political

Science, University of Wisconsin, Madison. Members of the Selection Committee were: Harvey C. Mansfield, Columbia, Chairman; Norman I. Wengert, Colorado State; and Dwaine Marvick, California, Los Angeles.

