posed by the Council of APSA put the authority to adjust dues in the hands of the elected officers and Council so that if the Association began experiencing deficits, the Council, which meets twice a year, could act quickly to adjust dues if necessary. Under current rules, it can take an entire year to approve a change in dues, and once it is approved another year is required under APSA's quarterly billing system to implement and receive the income from dues increases.

The results are as follows:

Constitutional Amendment for Modification of Procedures for Dues Changes

In Favor of the Amendment	1,805
Against the Amendment	1,623
Invalid Ballots	63

The amended Section 1 of Article III now reads:

Any person sharing the object of the Association may become a member upon payment of annual dues. All classes of dues, including life membership and reduced annual dues for retired members and students, shall be set by the Council.

The rate of return and distribution of votes is quite similar to the outcome of the 1980 dues increase referendum. At that time, 1,527 voted in favor of a dues increase, 1,257 opposed an increase, and 223 abstained.

Section on Political Organizations and Parties Elects Officers

 ${f T}$ he APSA Organized Section on Political Organizations and Parties elected the following officers at its September 4, 1987. business meeting. Frank Sorauf, University of Minnesota, is president. The secretary and program chair for the next two years is Alan Gitelson (1987-88), Loyola University of Chicago, and James L. Gibson (1988-89), University of Houston. Mem bers of the executive committee are: Peggy Conway, University of Maryland; Anne Costain, University of Colorado; William Crotty, Northwestern University; Lorn Foster, Pomona College; Kay Lawson, San Francisco State University; Sarah Morehouse, University of Connecticut; Dianne Pinderhughes, University of Illinois; Gerald Schlesinger, Michigan State University; and lack Walker. University of Michigan.