The AERONAUTICAL Journal

Contents

F. T. Smith and R. J. Bodonyi

On short-scale inviscid instabilities in flow past surface-mounted obstacles and other non-parallel motions

B. Porter

Design of digital flight-mode control systems for helicopters with non-linear actuators

A. Bradshaw and M. A. Woodhead

Time-delay compensation in active control algorithms

D. M. Causon and P. J. Ford

Numerical solutions of the Euler equations governing axisymmetric and three-dimensional transonic flow

Library reviews, additions and reports

Incorporating

The Aeronautical Quarterly

Volume 89 Number 886 June/July 1985

NOTES ON THE PREPARATION OF PAPERS FOR PUBLICATION IN THE AERONAUTICAL JOURNAL

All papers submitted for publication are sent to two referees.

Three clear copies of the manuscript, each complete with illustrations, should be submitted. Papers should be typed in double spacing and not exceed 10 000 words. Handwritten manuscripts cannot be accepted.

A list of all symbols used, both in the illustrations and in the text, should be given in alphabetical order at the beginning of the paper whether or not they are standard. All unfamiliar terms must be explained.

Symbols and formulae should be typewritten if possible. The use of dots, bars and so on, over symbols, or the use of dots as multiplication signs and bars for brackets should be avoided. Suffixes and indices must be clearly indicated and complicated suffixes avoided.

References should be numbered in the text where they occur, and a complete list of references given at the end of the paper. (The *Aeronautical Journal* uses the BSI Numeric System for reference — eg, author(s), title of contribution, title of periodical, year of publication, volume number, page numbers.)

Illustrations should be kept to a minimum. When the paper is first submitted they can be clear prints or graphs, sketches or photographs. If the paper is accepted, authors are asked to provide the original drawings, if possible, and clear, glossy, black-and-white photographs. All diagrams should be produced to the same scale.

Conditions of Publication

An author must obtain consent, where necessary, to use any material in a paper which is copyright of the property of any other person or his employers.

Security clearance, if appropriate, must be obtained by the author before the paper is submitted.

The copyright of papers printed in the *Aeronautical Journal* is the property of The Royal Aeronautical Society. Permission to reprint or to use any paper will not be refused unreasonably.

Authors are entitled to 50 complimentary reprints of their papers. Authors may order any number of additional reprints at the time of printing and quotations can be provided.

The Aeronautical Quarterly Volume 89 Number 886 June/July 1985 AERONAUTICAL Journal Incorporating the Aeronautical Quarterly



Head of Publications: Robert Bryanton

Editor: Jay Wolff, Assoc. Member RAeS

Assistant Editor: Michèle Didyk

Associate Editor: Professor L. F. Crabtree, PhD, CEng, FRAeS

4 Hamilton Place, London W1V 0BQ Tel: 01-499 3515

Cables: Didaskalos, London W1

Advertisements:
Kevin Shead,
T. G. Scott & Son,
30-32 Southampton Street,
London WC2E 7HR.
Tel: 01-240 2032
Telex: 299181.
(Telecopier facilities available)

Reproduction of any of the papers published in this journal is not permitted without the written consent of the Editor.

None of the papers or paragraphs must be taken as expressing the opinion of the Council unless otherwise stated.

Printed by Manor Park Press Ltd, Unit 7, Highfield Industrial Estate, Edison Road, Hampden Park, Eastbourne.

Subscriptions: £116 per annum, post free.

RAeS members: £10.50 per

Single copies, including back numbers : £12.

All foreign currency rates on application.

Published by The Royal Aeronautical Society, 4 Hamilton Place, London W1V 0BQ, England

ISSN: 0001-9240
PUBLISHED MONTHLY
EXCEPT II INF AND

EXCEPT JUNE AND AUGUST

Contents

205

F. T. Smith and R. J. Bodonyi
On short-scale inviscid instabilities in flow past surface-mounted obstacles and other non-parallel

motions

213 B. Porter

Design of digital flight-mode control systems for helicopters with non-linear actuators

219

A. Bradshaw and M. A. Woodhead Time-delay compensation in active control algorithms 226

D. M. Causon and P. J. Ford Numerical solutions of the Euler equations governing axisymmetric and three-dimensional transonic flow

242

Library reviews, additions and reports

Incorporating the Journals of The Institution of Aeronautical Engineers and The Helicopter Association of Great Britain

The Royal Aeronautical Society

FOUNDED 1866

INCORPORATED BY ROYAL CHARTER 1949

Patron: HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN

COUNCIL 1985/86

President: T. H. KERR, CB, BSc, CEng, FRAeS

President-Elect: Dr. J. W. FOZARD, OBE, DSc, DCAE, BSc(Hons), FEng, FIMechE, FAIAA, FRAeS

Vice-Presidents:

PROFESSOR J. L. STOLLERY, DSc(Eng), DIC, CEng, FCGI, AFAIAA, FRAeS Dr. P. H. CALDER, OBE, PhD, BSc(Hons), DIC, ACGI, CEng, MIMechE, FRAeS Air Marshal Sir ERIC DUNN, KBE, CB, BEM, CEng, FRAeS, RAF

Past Presidents:

CAPTAIN E. M. BROWN, CBE, DSc, AFC, MA, FRAeS, RN (Ret'd) PROFESSOR M. G. FARLEY, HonCGIA, CEng, FIMechE, FBIM, FIProdE, FRAeS Dr. G. K. C. PARDOE, PhD, BSc(Eng), DLC, CEng, FBIS, FRAeS.

Members:

M. W. ANDERSON, AE, MA(Cantab), CEng, MICE, MSAE, AFAIAA, FRAeS R. G. AUSTIN, MSc, CEng, MAIAA, FRAeS A. E. M. BARTON, DFC, CEng, MRAeS A. L. BLACKMAN, OBE, MA, FRAeS V. W. CLARKSON, CEng, FRAeS J. L. CROWDER, MA, CEng, FBIS, AFAIAA, HonMIED, FRAeS N. FALCONER, BSc, MEcon, FIStat, MRAeS P. A. HEARNE, MSc, DLC, FEng, FRAeS G. C. HOWELL, MA, MSc, CEng, FRAeS N. A. JACKSON, CBE, CEng, FRAeS D. J. KNIGHT, BSc(Eng), AMRAeS Ms. M. MANNASSI, BSc(Eng), ACGI, AMRAeS H. METCALFE, OBE, BSc, ARCS, FEng, FRAeS Dr. G. G. POPE, MSc(Eng), PhD, DIC, FCGI, CEng, FRAeS AIR MARSHAL SIR CHARLES PRINGLE, KBE, MA, FEng, CBIM, FRAeS, RAF(Ret'd) D. J. RICHER, MSc, CEng, MRAeS V. A. B. ROGERS, MSc, FEng, FIMechE, FRAeS P. R. SAMPSON, TEng, AMRAeS J. T. STAMPER, MA(Cantab), FEng, FRAeS R. B. STRATTON, CEng, FRAeS, MCASI, FSLAET A. T. WORKER

Overseas Divisions:

R. J. YATES, CEng, FRAeS (President — Australia)
M. J. BAKER, CEng, MRAeS, (President — New Zealand)
PROFESSOR EDGAR BUNT, (President — South Africa)
M. D. A. van OLST, CEng, MRAeS (President — Zimbabwe)