FMS Hosts W.A. Owczarski of the OSTP



William A. Owczarski, chairman of the OSTP Committee on Materials, addresses FMS luncheon.

Following its quarterly trustees meeting on March 3, 1988, the Federation of Materials Societies (FMS) hosted a luncheon where the keynote speaker was William A. Owczarski of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). Owczarski currently serves as chairman of COMAT, the Committee on Materials. which consists of about 35 federal-agency representatives whose charter involves the coordination of national minerals and materials activities. Owczarski joined OSTP and assumed his chairmanship of COMAT on September 28, 1987, having most recently been a technical director at Pratt & Whitney Co. He is the fifth in a series of Industrial Research Institute (IRI) Fellows to serve at OSTP in a fellowship program initiated by IRI. (The previous COMAT chairman was Greg Henderson, the first Society of Automotive Engineers Fellow there.)

COMAT currently comprises five subcommittees: High Temperature Superconductivity, chaired by L. Ianiello of the Department of Energy; Ceramics, chaired by R. Gottschall of the Department of Energy; Versailles Advanced Materials Standards Committee, chaired by H.T. Yolken of the National Bureau of Standards; Interagency Materials Group, chaired by R. Reynick of the National Science Foundation; and Composites (chaired by D. Reneker of OSTP and the National Bureau of Standards). A sixth subcommittee on Nondestructive Evaluation, Advance Process Control and Sensors is currently being organized under the guidance of H.T. Yolken of the National Bureau of Standards and J. Persh of the Department of Defense.

Owczarski emphasized COMAT's current interest in cooperating with the National Critical Materials Council (NCMC) during NCMC's preparation of an Advanced Materials Program Plan. The

three-member NCMC, chaired by Secretary of Interior Donald Hodel, is interested in integrating private and government sector viewpoints into the Program Plan. NCMC's other two members are William Martin, Undersecretary of Energy, and Thomas Moore of the Council of Economic Advisors. Its Executive Director is Robert Dale Wilson with new offices situated at the Department of the Interior.

FMS was asked to help in the preparation of the Program Plan by running workshops addressing issues central to the concerns of the NCMC. FMS ran a successful workshop for the private sector on January 6, 1988 and is host for the government sector workshop on March 29.

Owczarski will chair the March workshop, which will include an address by Presidential Science Advisor (and OSTP director) William Graham. Also attending will be representatives from federal agencies within whose mission advanced materials issues fall. Both workshop reports will be appended to the NCMC Advanced Materials Program Plan to document input from the respective groups.

According to Owczarski, Graham believes three important areas for the United States need attention—information systems and computers, biotechnology, and advanced materials. It is the advanced materials concerns that have induced the OSTP to cooperate closely with the NCMC.

Owczarski closed with remarks on a second (non-COMAT) area of concern at OSTP—implementation of the President's Executive Order #12591 regarding the transfer of technology from federal laboratories to private industry.

In a related activity, FMS is devoting its 10th Biennial Forum (June 13-16, 1988, Fredericksburg, Virginia) to "Creating a Materials Future - Translating Scientific Leadership into Commercial Advantage." The program is organized and chaired by Peter Bridenbaugh of Alcoa. Information on the Forum is available from Federation of Materials Societies, 1707 L Street NW, Ste. 333, Washington DC, 20036; telephone (202) 296-9282.

DOE Notes SSC Site to be Identified in November 1988

In order to benefit from public comments on the environmental impact statement being prepared for the project, DOE will identify the preferred site for the Superconducting Super Collider in late November 1988. More than 450 comments were received at recent public meetings on the environmental impact statement. Approximately 8,000 people attended the

meetings. Proposed sites are in Arizona, Colorado, Illinois, Michigan, North Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas. The date for announcing the final site selection remains unchanged at January 1989.

12 Members Added to Advisory Committee on Nuclear Facility Safety

Twelve additional members have been named to serve on an Advisory Committee on Nuclear Safety, an independent committee reporting to the Secretary of Energy on safety issues at DOE nuclear facilities. The committee was chartered as part of DOE's response to safety recommendations made in October 1987 in a report prepared by the National Academies of Sciences and Engineering. John F. Aherne, former chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, will chair the committee.

\$16.1 Billion Budget Proposed for FY 1989

DOE has proposed a \$16.1 billion budget for fiscal year 1989. The budget request contains a substantial increase for basic science research and development. Included are \$363 million in initial construction funds for the SSC and \$6 million to initiate the 6/7 GeV Synchrotron Light Source for basic research in such areas as semiconductors and supercomputers.

NSF Notes New Director Named for Division of Materials Research



Albert Schindler, new director of the NSF Division of Materials Research.

The National Science Foundation has announced that Prof. Albert Schindler will be the director of the Division of Materials Research. Schindler is a professor of materials engineering and physics at Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana. He is also director of Purdue's Materials Research Laboratory, their Materials Research Group, and the Indiana Center for Innovative Superconductor Technology. Prior to joining the Purdue faculty, Schindler was associate director of research at the Naval Research Laboratory.

16 MRS BULLETIN/APRIL 1988