Nominations Accepted for the 2019 APSA Awards

ubmit your nominations for the APSA dissertation, book, paper and article, and career awards, which will be presented at the 2019 APSA Annual Meeting in Washington, DC. The deadline for submission will be in February 2019. For more information, visit www.apsanet.org/awards. The 2019 awards are listed below.

GOODNOW AWARD

The Frank J. Goodnow Award is for distinguished service to the profession and the American Political Science Association, not necessarily a career of scholarship. This service may be by individuals, groups, or public and private organizations who have played a role in the development of the political science profession and the building of the association.

CAREER AWARDS

Bestowed for significant achievements related to political science.

APSA Distinguished Teaching Award

To honor outstanding contributions to undergraduate and/or graduate teaching of political science at two- and four-year institutions. The award recognizes contributions that have made a significant impact on the manner in which political science is taught.

John Gaus Distinguished Award and Lectureship

Honors the recipient's lifetime of exemplary scholarship in political science and public administration.

Hubert H. Humphrey Award

In recognition of notable public service by a political scientist.

Carey McWilliams Award

Recognizes a major journalistic contribution to our understanding of politics.

Benjamin E. Lippincott Award

For exceptional work by a living political theorist that is still considered significant after a time span of at least 15 years since the original publication (supported by the University of Minnesota).

Charles Merriam Award

For a person whose published work and career represent a significant contribution to the art of government through the application of social science research.

Ithiel de Sola Pool Award

For a scholar selected to present a lecture exploring the implications of research on issues of politics in a range of scholarship pursued by Ithiel de Sola Pool.

Hanes Walton Jr. Career Award

For a political scientist whose lifetime of distinguished scholarship "has made significant contributions to our understanding of racial and ethnic politics and illuminates the conditions under which diversity and intergroup tolerance thrive in democratic societies."

DISSERTATION AWARDS

Departments are invited to submit dissertations that have been completed in the past two academic years.

Gabriel A. Almond Award

In the field of comparative politics.

William Anderson Award

In the field of federalism or intergovernmental relations, state, or local politics.

Edward S. Corwin Award In the field of public law.

Harold D. Lasswell Award

In the field of public policy.

Merze Tate Award In the field of international relations, law, and politics.

E.E. Schattschneider Award In the field of American government.

Leo Strauss Award In the field of political philosophy.

Leonard D. White In the field of public administration.

BOOK AWARDS

Books published in 2018 may be nominated by individuals or publishers.

Ralph J. Bunche Award

For the best scholarly work in political science that explores the phenomenon of ethnic and cultural pluralism.

Robert A. Dahl Award

Awarded to an untenured scholar who has produced scholarship of the highest quality on the subject of democracy, including books, papers, and articles.

Theodore J. Lowi Award

For the best first book in any field of political science, showing promise of having a substantive impact on the overall discipline, regardless of method, specific focus of inquiry or approach to subject.

Gladys M. Kammerer Award

For the best political science publication in the field of US national policy.

Victoria Schuck Award

For the best book published on women and politics.

Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award

For the best book published in the United States in the field of government, politics, or international affairs.

PAPER AND ARTICLE AWARDS

Papers and articles published in 2018 may be nominated by individuals or publishers.

Franklin L. Burdette/Pi Sigma Alpha Award

For the best paper presented at the previous APSA Annual Meeting.

Robert A. Dahl Award

For an untenured scholar who has produced scholarship of the highest quality on the subject of democracy, including books, papers, and articles.

Heinz Eulau Award

For the best articles published in the *APSR* and *Perspectives on Politics* during the previous year. ■