APSA and the Japan Political Science Association, three Japanese political scientists attended the Annual Meeting and presented papers. The exchange program is supported by a grant to the APSA from the Japan–U.S. Friendship Commission, and is now in its third year of operation.

A list of the foreign grantees, their countries, and their U.S. affiliations follows.

Huang Hsing Foundation:
Weiqun Gu, P.R.C., Harvard
University
Chien-Hui Huang, Taiwan, University of Missouri, St. Louis
Szu-chien Hsu, Taiwan, Columbia

Asia Foundation:

University

Jianwei Wang, P.R.C., University of Michigan

Priscilla A. Tacujan, Philippines, Claremont Graduate School Sheila Nair, Malaysia, University of

Minnesota Yasuhiko Matsuda, Japan, University of Pittsburgh

Takako Kobori, Japan, Stanford University

Sangmook Kim, Korea, Michigan State University

Mi Yung Yoon, Korea, Florida State University

Jae-Won Yoo, Korea, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Weixing Hu, P.R.C., University of Maryland, College Park

Eui-Young Kim, Korea, University of Michigan

Jeevaragah Yasotha, Singapore, University of Missouri, Columbia

Yaqing Qin, P.R.C., University of Missouri, Columbia

Jiang Ren, P.R.C., University of Nebraska, Lincoln

Xiabo Hu, P.R.C., Duke University Yue Ren, P.R.C., Columbia University

Chang Sheng Lin, P.R.C., Claremont Graduate School

Tzu-Yang Chang, Taiwan, State University of New York, Buffalo

APSA Council Grants:

Pat Moloney, New Zealand, Rutgers University

Vesna Danilovic, Yugoslavia, State University of New York, Buffalo Andrei Korobkov, Russia, University of Alabama Dermot J. O'Brien, Ireland, New York University

Svetlana Savranskaya, Russia, Emory University

Daniel Diermeier, Germany, University of Rochester

Brian J. Gaines, Canada, Stanford University

Bojan Petrovic, Yugoslavia, University of California, Irvine

Sieglinde Gstohl, Liechtenstein, Harvard University

Michael Allen Mintrom, New Zealand, State University of New York, Stony Brook

Mark Andrew Laffey, New Zealand, University of Minnesota

Senior Scholars Grants— APSA Council:

Anne Phillips, England, City of London Polytechnic

Erik Komarov, Russia, Russian Academy of Sciences

William Smirnov, Russia, Russian Academy of Sciences

Attila Agh, Hungary, Hungarian Political Science Association

Georgina Waylen, England, University of Salford

J. Jens Hesse, England, Nuffield College

Andrew Adonis, England, The Financial Times

Stephen Woolcock, England, Royal Institute of International Affairs

Wolfgang Rudig, Scotland, University of Strathclyde

Yu-Shan Wu, Taiwan, National Taiwan University

Alexander Carius, Germany, Freie Universität Berlin

Peter Mohler, Germany, Sentrum für Umfragen, Methoden und Analysen, Mannheim

APSA-JPSA Exchange Program— Visiting Japanese Scholars: Nobuhiro Hiwatari, University of Tokyo

Ichiro Miyake, Kobe University Akira Morita, Chiba University

Short Courses Offered at Annual Meeting

The Law and Courts, Politics and Life Sciences, and History and Politics organized sections offered the following short courses at the Annual Meeting this summer respectively:

Public Law: The State of the Field. led by John Brigham, University of Massachusetts; Greg Caldeira, Ohio State University; and Leslie Goldstein, University of Delaware; Genetics and Public Policy, led by Andrea Bonnicksen, Northern Illinois University, and Robert H. Blank, University of Canterbury, New Zealand; and Historical Approaches to the Study of Public Policy, led by Theda Skocpol and Paul Pierson, Harvard University. The Association continued its successful Leading Scholar Series for Graduate Students. featuring Theodore J. Lowi, Cornell University. In addition, The Graduate School of Political Management at George Washington University, helped to sponsor Ethics in American Politics, led by Gregory G. Lebel, George Washington University.

APSA's Bunche Students Attend Annual Meeting

Eleven of the 25 students participating in the Ralph Bunche Summer Institute came to Chicago to attend APSA's Annual Meeting. The students were recognized at the reception given by the Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession.

The Bunche Institute is hosted by a consortium of five Atlanta institutions: Spelman College, Emory University, Morehouse College, Clark Atlanta University and Georgia State University. Each year 25 outstanding African American undergraduates are selected to attend the six-week program whose purpose is to encourage enrollment in graduate school. This year students from 16 states attended the Bunche Institute. Eight of the 25 participants hailed from historically black colleges.

Students enroll in two courses, one in American politics and one in methodology. This summer the courses were taught by Jeanne Meadows of Spelman and Alan Abramowitz of Emory. The Institute is directed by Lois Moreland of Spelman College and is sustained by the volunteer efforts of Tobe Johnson of Morehouse, William Boone of Clark Atlanta, William Thomas of Georgia State, and Eleanor Main and Micheal Giles of Emory. In addition, many