

Previously, she was on the faculty at Linköping University and held a visiting/adjunct faculty position at Carnegie Mellon University. Earlier, she spent a decade working in industry in Canada. She has had support from industry (ABB, Siemens, and Nortel Networks) for her research and consulting.

Madsen has published two books, three book chapters/sections, and 99 articles; has been awarded three patents; and has delivered more than 100 invited talks. She

has served as a panelist for the National Research Council and as a Trustee for the American Vacuum Society (AVS), and currently serves as an Advisory Board member for the Rosalind Franklin Society and on the Board of Directors for The American Ceramic Society (ACerS). She has a BASc degree in electrical engineering and a BA degree in psychology from the University of Waterloo, a MEng degree in electronics from Carleton University, and a PhD degree in materials

science from McMaster University. Madsen's other recognitions include those by NSF (two Director Awards), The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (Ellen Swallow Richards Diversity Award), ABET (Claire L. Felbinger Award for Diversity), ACerS (Fellow), the University of Waterloo (Engineering Achievement Medal), Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (Junipero Serra Award), and AVS (Excellence in Leadership Recognition).





## **Zi and Conings** to receive MRS **Postdoctoral Awards**

Yunlong Zi, Georgia Institute of Technology, has received a MRS Postdoctoral Award "for pioneering research to improve the efficiency and wider applicability of mechanical energy harvesting systems" and Bert Conings, Hasselt University, has received the award "for innovation in hybrid perovskite photovoltaics, addressing fabrication, lifetime, and toxicity

issues." The MRS Postdoctoral Award recognizes postdoctoral scholars who show exceptional promise, which may include excellence in scientific research, leadership, advocacy, outreach, or teaching during their postdoc assignment.

Zi received a B.Eng. degree in materials science and engineering from Tsinghua University, China, and a PhD degree in physics from Purdue University. Zi's postdoctoral research focuses on highefficiency mechanical energy harvesting through triboelectric nanogenerators (TENG), TENG-triggered high-voltage applications, and self-powered systems.

Conings received a MS degree in applied physics from Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands, and a PhD degree from Hasselt University, Belgium. Recent research includes understanding the origins and implications of grain size in hybrid perovskite films and solar cells, and electro-optical investigation of hybrid perovskites with improved film formation properties toward up-scalable and stable solar cells.

MRS acknowledges the Jiang Family Foundation and MTI Corporation for their generous contribution to support this award.



7th International Conference on Hard X-Ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy to be held September 11–15 in the United States https://sites.google.com/a/lbl.gov/haxpes2017

The 7th International Conference on Hard X-Ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy (HAXPES) will be held September 11-15, 2017, in Berkeley, California, USA. Co-chairs are Charles Fadley of the University of California, Davis, and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA; Zahid Hussain of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA; and Piero A. Pianetta of Stanford University/SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, USA.

HAXPES brings together researchers from a variety of fields, from fundamental condensed matter and atomic and molecular physics to more applied surface and interface studies of catalysis, energy and IT device- and process development, and environmental research. HAXPES involves photon energies in the multi-keV range above ~2 keV, but the conference also encourages presentations involving complementary photoemission measurements at lower energies, as well as other x-ray-based techniques.

The conference features a single session of oral presentations and three poster sessions. The five plenary speakers are Michael Bedzyk of Northwestern

University, USA; Hendrik Bluhm of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA; Ralph Claessen of the Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg, Germany; Tien-Lin Lee of Diamond Light Source, United Kingdom; and Maria Novella Piancastelli of Uppsala University, Sweden. There are 18 additional invited speakers.

The abstract submission deadline is June 15. More information can be accessed from the conference website at https://sites.google.com/a/lbl.gov/ haxpes2017 or by email at haxpes2017@ gmail.com.