## FOREWORD

The scientific programme of the International Geophysical Year, 1957–58, began officially at midnight on 30 June 1957; in fact observations had already been started at many centres some months previously. The collection, assimilation and publication of the observations which will result from the activities of sixty nations presents a formidable problem. Some of it will be published by individual national institutions or by international associations. There will remain, however, a vast amount of unpublished material, and this is to be collected in World Data Centres. These centres will preserve and catalogue material contributed from the various participating nations, and make it available at a minimum cost to all research workers. They will be established and maintained by I.G.Y. National Committees at their own expense, as an international service conforming to international rules. There are to be not less than three centres for unpublished data in each discipline to insure against loss or destruction, and for geographical convenience. Two nations, the United States and U.S.S.R., have offered to maintain collections of all such data and their World Data Centres will be known as Centres A and B respectively. Other nations, and certain organizations, will maintain partial collections of data; collectively holding the complete data, and known as World Data Centre C. The Centres A, B and C will receive material directly and exchange it between themselves. Existing arrangements for the international collection of certain types of geophysical data will remain, as, for example, those under the auspices of the International Council of Scientific Unions. In 1956 Vice-Admiral Sir Archibald Day was appointed co-ordinator of the plans for World Data Centres. These plans were finally approved at a conference held in Bruxelles in April 1957.

## World Data Centres are as follows:

Centre A	All disciplines	United States
	~	
Centre ${f B}$	All disciplines	U.S.S.R.
Centre C	Meteorology	World Meteorological Organization
	Geomagnetism	Denmark and Japan
	Aurora	Great Britain and Sweden
	Airglow	France and Japan
	Ionosphere	Great Britain and Japan
	Solar activity	Australia, France, German Federal
		Republic, Great Britain, Italy,
		Switzerland
	Cosmic rays	Japan and Sweden
	Glaciology	Great Britain
	Seismology	Permanent Service at Strasbourg ICSB

Members of the Committee for the Scott Polar Research Institute, which was set up in accordance with Recommendation VI of the Report of the

501

General Board of the University on the constitution of the Institute, have been appointed as follows:

FOREWORD

To serve until 31 December 1958:

Dr H. Godwin, F.R.S., appointed by the General Board.

Mr W. B. Harland, appointed by the Faculty Board of Geography and Geology.

Dr C. F. A. Pantin, F.R.S., appointed by the Faculty Board of Biology 'A'.

Mr L. P. Kirwan, appointed by the Royal Geographical Society.

## To serve until 31 December 1960:

Professor W. V. D. Hodge, F.R.S., appointed by the General Board.

Sir Raymond Priestley, M.C., appointed by the Faculty Board of Geography and Geology.

Professor Sir Bryan Matthews, F.R.S., appointed by the Faculty Board of Biology 'B'.

Dr N. A. Mackintosh, appointed by the National Institute of Oceanography. Professor L. R. Wager, F.R.S., appointed by the Royal Society. The Professor of Geography (now Professor J. A. Steers), the Director of the Scott Polar Research Institute, and the Hydrographer of the Royal Navy (now Rear-Admiral K. St B. Collins) are ex officio members of the Committee. At the first meeting of the committee Professor Hodge was appointed Chairman.

Dr G. de Q. Robin has been appointed to succeed Dr G. C. L. Bertram as Director of the Scott Polar Research Institute. The appointment was announced as this number of the *Polar Record* goes to press, and a full notice will appear in the January 1958 number.

The frontispiece of this issue is a photograph of Rear-Admiral George Dufek, U.S.N., who is Commander, United States Naval General Support Forces, Antarctica, and of Task Force 43. He is responsible for the construction of the seven United States stations which have been established in Antarctica in connection with the International Geophysical Year, 1957–58. Rear-Admiral Dufek's polar experience has covered both the Arctic and Antarctic. He served as a member of the United States Antarctic Service Expedition in 1939–40, on Operation "High Jump", 1946–47, on Operation "Deepfreeze I", 1955–56, and on "Deepfreeze II", 1956–57. In 1940 he commanded Task Force 80, which established and supplied weather stations in the Canadian Arctic. In 1954 he was appointed head of the Special Antarctic Planning Group of the Office of the Chief of Naval Operations.