Canadian Association of Neuropathologists

L'Association Canadienne des Neuropathologistes

ABSTRACTS

October 15th-18th, 2014

Banff, Alberta

Abstracts and unknown cases presented at the 54th annual meeting

doi:10.1017/cjn.2015.248

Can J Neurol Sci. 2015; 42: S1-S7

The Canadian Association of Neuropathologists (CANP) held their 54th Annual Meeting at the Rimrock Resort Hotel in Banff, Alberta from October 15th to 18th, 2014. Dr. Ian Mackenzie presided. Dr. Jeff Joseph handled local arrangements. The banquet was held at the hotel in the Hawthorn room overlooking the Rocky Mountains.

The academic program of 14 scientific presentations and 13 unknown case submissions was assembled by CANP Secretary/Treasurer Dr. Peter Gould into four sessions, chaired by Drs. Lee-Cyn Ang, Lothar Resch, Ed Johnson and Jeff Joseph. Several unknown cases were submitted for scanning and viewing online, as coordinated by CANP webmaster Dr. Rob Hammond.

The Jerzy Olszewski Guest Lecture was delivered by Dr. J. Gregory Cairncross from the Southern Alberta Cancer Research Institute, Calgary, Alberta, on the subject of "Science, Medicine & Oligodendroglioma."

Dr. Janet Nuth from the CMPA presented the Quality Assurance session, on the subject of "Medico-legal risks in neuropathology."

The 2014 symposium, chaired by Dr. Mackenzie, was devoted to Frontotemporal Dementia. Prof. John Hardy from University College London, London, UK gave the inaugural David Robertson Guest Lecture on the subject of "Genetics of neuro-degeneration: trying to understand selective vulnerability." Dr. Manuela Neumann from the University of Tübingen, Tübingen, Germany discussed "Molecular neuropathology of frontotemporal dementia." Dr. Leonard Petrucelli from the Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville, Florida, USA discussed "Molecular Mechanisms and Therapeutic Approaches for FTD/ALS."

The Gordon Mathieson Invited Member Lecturer for 2014 was Dr. David Munoz from the University of Toronto, on the subject of "Clinicopathological Correlations in FTD."

The Resident Awards Committee was made up of Drs. Jane Barron, Claire Coiré, and Alex Easton. The Mary Tom Award for the best clinical paper was given to Dr. Phedias Diamandis (supervisor Dr. Karamchandani) for his unknown case presentation "C2: Phosphaturic mesenchymal tumor." The Morrison H. Finlayson Award for best basic science paper was given to Jordan Warford (supervisor Dr Easton) for his presentation: "Surfen, a proteoglycan antagonist, reduces lysolecithin-induced demyelination with related effects on macrophage function.":

The following abstracts were presented at the Canadian Association of Neuropathologists 54th Annual Meeting.

DISCLAIMER

The material presented contains the abstracts submitted as part of the Canadian Association of Neuropathologists 54th Annual Meeting, Banff, Alberta, Canada, 15-18 October 2014.

The abstracts have not been peer reviewed as part of the standard process and may contain promotional content that does not represent the views or policies of the journal or publisher. The content and the views expressed therein are those of the presenting entity and not the Editors of the Canadian Journal of Neurological Sciences, The Canadian Neurological Sciences Federation, or Cambridge University Press. Authors have not provided standard disclosure forms as part of their submission, although these would have been evident at the time of the meeting.