THE COURT OF ELECTORS

Ex officio: The President, the Dean, the Registrar

Elected Professor T. Arie, Drs R. Bluglass, C. P. B. Brook, Valerie Cowie, K. L. Granville-Grossman, J. A. Harrington, W. A. Heaton-Ward, M. Markowe, M. Pines, F. Post, Professors K. Rawnsley, W. Linford Rees, Dr A. B. Sclare, Professor W. H. Trethowan, Dr H. H. Wolff.

THE STANDING COMMITTEES

(The Officers are ex-officio members of all Standing Committees except the

Executive and Finance Committee)

Executive and Finance Committee

- *Ex-officio:* The President, the Registrar, the Treasurer and the Dean
- Fellows: Drs W. D. Boyd, J. L. Crammer, J. Harrington, P. G. McGrath, Professor K. Rawnsley, Dr P. Sainsbury.

Members: Drs J. R. Hamilton and Diana Dickens.

Education Committee

Council Members: Professor T. Arie, Drs M. D. Cashman, Diana Dickens, P. d'Orban, D. Dunne, E. B. Gordon, O. Hill, A. M. P. Kellam, E. G. Lucas, W. R. McKibben, T. Nelson, J. Pedder, R. A. Robinson, K. Schapira, A. Shapiro, A. Smith, W. Lumsden Walker.

Non-Council Members: Wing-Cdr E. Anthony, Drs J. L. T. Birley, L. A. Hersov, Professors J. Hinton, G. F. M. Russell, Surg-Cdr A. W. Scott-Brown, Professor H. J. Walton.

Co-opted Members: Drs Pamela Ashurst (WPWIP), J. A. Betts (AVSC), S. Bhate (OTSC), J. Bowlby (LRLSC), I. G. Bronks (CTSC), J. Cobb (Manpower), D. Gill (OTSC), Mrs B. Nicolas (NSC), Drs Sally Pidd (WPT), T. L. Pilkington (AVSC), Ashley Robin (Manpower), C. P. Seager (NSC), L. Tarlo (CTSC), C. Trotter (WPT).

Observers: Drs E. F. Carr (DHSS), C. Freeman (APIT).

Library Committee

Council Members: Drs Valerie Cowie, T. L. Dunn, A. B. Sclare, A. Shapiro, E. W. Shepherd, A. C. Smith.

Non-Council Members: Drs B. Adams, A. Dora Black, B. Heine, J. Johnson, D. Kelly, D. Leigh, Miss H. Marshall, Miss F. Picken, Dr A. Walk.

Observer: Dr R. Jezzard (APIT)

Journal Committee

Council Members: Drs Valerie Cowie, P. d'Orban, D. Early, J. Evans, D. B. Gordon, O. Hill, I. S. Kreeger, E. G. Lucas, A. B. Sclare, A. Shapiro, B. Whitehead.

Non-Council Members: Drs H. R. Beech, G. E. Berrios, P. Bowden, Fay Fransella, J. Jancar, P. Tyrer.

Associate Editors: Dr A. Walk, Professor Sir Martin Roth.

Assistant Editors: Drs B. Barraclough, S. Crown, H. L. Freeman, T. A. Kerr, J. Leff, R. Levy, A. C. Smith, R. P. Snaith.

Observer: Dr C. Halstrom (APIT).

Programmes and Meetings Committee

Council Members: Professor T. Arie, Drs C. Davies, T. L. Dunn, A. M. P. Kellam, E. G. Lucas, W. R. McKibben, E. W. Shepherd, E. D. West.

Non-Council Members: Drs P. Bowden, J. Cobb, A. V. P. Mackay, B. L. Mallett, R. Murray, A. R. Nichol, C. M. B. Pare, Professor M. Shepherd, Dr A. C. P. Sims.

Observer: Dr J. Bird (APIT).

Public Policy Committee

Council Members: Drs H. Cameron, J. M. Cuthill, C. Davies, D. Early, H. Eaton, J. J. Fennelly, Professor J. Gunn, Drs J. R. Hamilton, J. Harrington, M. Markowe, T. Nelson, J. M. Roberts, P. Sainsbury, E. W. Shepherd, B. Ward, T. Gwynne Williams.

Non-Council Members: Drs W. A. L. Bowen, P. H. Connell, T. M. Cuthbert, J. E. McA. Glancy, T. A. Kerr, S. Levine, Professors A. K. M. Macrae, R. G. Priest.

Observers: Drs E. F. Carr (DHSS), R. A. W. Ratcliff (SHHD), J. Bird (APIT).

Research Committee

Council Members: Drs Valerie Cowie, T. L. Dunn, Professor J. C. Gunn, Drs Nita Mitchell-Heggs, P. Jefferys, R. A. Robinson, P. Sainsbury, A. B. Sclare, J. B. Walsh, E. D. West.

Non-Council Members: Drs Pamela Ashurst, B. Barraclough, K. Bergmann, P. Bowden, M. Crowe, Eve Johnstone, J. Jancar, J. Leff, R. Levy, R. Maggs, D. H. Malan, Sheila A. Mann, D. Richter, A. C. P. Sims, G. Szmukler, Professors P. H. Venables and J. P. Watson.

Observers: Drs M. MacCulloch (DHSS), J. Bird (APIT).

Key to Abreviations used above

| APIT | Association of Psychiatrists in Training |
|----------|--|
| AVSC | Audio-Visual Sub-Committee |
| CTSC | Clinical Tutors' Sub-Committee |
| DHSS | Department of Health and Social Security |
| LRLSC | Library and Reading Lists Sub-Committee |
| Manpower | Manpower Committee |
| NSC | Nursing Sub-Committee |
| OTSC | Overseas Trainees' Sub-Committee |
| SHHD | Scottish Home and Health Department |
| WPT | Working Party Trainees |
| WPWIP | Working Party on Women in Psychiatry |

M.R.C.PSYCH. EXAMINATIONS—SPRING 1979

The next M.R.C.Psych. Examinations will take place on the following dates:

Preliminary Test—Wednesday 28 March 1979

Membership Examination (written papers)-Wednesday 9 May 1979

Membership Examination (clinicals and orals)-Monday 14 to Wednesday 17 May 1979

The closing date for receipt of entries is WEDNESDAY 28 FEBRUARY 1979.

The fees for each entry are £30 for the Preliminary Test and £50 for the Membership Examination.

The written papers will be held in London, Birmingham, Glasgow and Dublin. The clinical and oral examinations will be held in London, Birmingham and Glasgow.

Prospective candidates are reminded that late entries WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED. Where candidates have undertaken part-time or overseas experience in psychiatry, or are required to submit the name and address of their Clinical Tutor or Consultant Chief, the entry forms should be submitted at least three weeks in advance so that the application may be

COLLEGE MEETINGS

Annual and Quarterly Meetings of the College will be held on the following dates in 1979:

| 6 and 7 February | London |
|-----------------------------|-----------|
| 1 and 2 May | Sheffield |
| 10-12 July (Annual Meeting) | Exeter |
| 15 and 16 November | London |

and on the following dates in 1980:

| 5 and 6 February | London |
|----------------------------|-----------------------|
| 6 and 7 May | venue to be announced |
| 8-11 July (Annual Meeting) | venue to be announced |
| 20 and 21 November | London |

finalized before the closing date is reached. All candidates are required to pass the Preliminary Test before sitting for the Membership Examination.

Regulations and application forms are obtainable from the Examinations Secretary, 17 Belgrave Square, London SW1X 8PG, together with copies of past Essay Question Papers at 50p per set for 1971-1975, 20p per set for 1976 and 25p per set for 1977/78, inclusive of UK postage. These sets include sample multiple choice questions. Airmail postage is extra according to area.

The 4th Edition of the Reading List in Psychiatry is available direct from the printers, Messrs Headley Brothers Ltd, Ashford, Kent TN24 8HH, at a cost of 40p including UK postage. Airmail postage extra according to area. Cheques/postal orders should be made payable to 'Headley Brothers Ltd'.

All Members and Fellows are asked to bring this announcement to the notice of any prospective candidates who may be working under their guidance.

> THOMAS BEWLEY Dean

WORKSHOP IN RESEARCH METHODS FOR PSYCHIATRY

The University of Birmingham and the Research Committee of the College are planning an intensive residential course to deal with practical aspects of carrying out psychiatric research. It is envisaged that this will be particularly appropriate for psychiatrists in training, but others will not be excluded. There will be discussion papers and small group seminars dealing with specific research problems. It is hoped that this workshop will act as a stimulus to initiate research.

The course will take place from 21-24 May at Stowe House, Lichfield, and the number of participants will be limited. Enquiries should be addressed to Dr A. C. P. Sims, Department of Psychiatry, Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Birmingham B15 2TH.