## PROFESSIONAL CONFERENCES

The Midwest Conference of Political Scientists held its eighteenth annual meeting April 28 to 30 at Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana. General sessions of the Conference were addressed by Herbert J. Mueller on "Towards a Philosophy of Political Science" and by President Carl B. Swisher of the American Political Science Association on "Regional Roots of Supreme Court Behavior."

Panel sessions featured papers and discussions on the following topics: "Congressional Representation of the Midwest," "The Politics of the Congressional Committee Assignment Process," "The 'Enemy' in Soviet Propaganda, 1917-1959." "The Present Place of Political Philosophy," "Interdisciplinary Analysis of an Underdeveloped Area (India)," "The Office of the Chief Justice of the United States," "The Constitution and the Governors," "Midwest Municipal Political Systems," "Political Behavior in Western and Non-Western Countries," "Power as an Explanatory Concept in International Relations," "Patterns of National Politics Emerging from State Party Trends," "Food and Drug Laws and State and Local Government," "Bentley's Functionalism and a General Theory of Politics," and "The Calculation of Deterrence." Special sessions were held on "Graduate Training of Political Scientists," "The Job Market for Ph.D.s," "The Nature of Future Conference Programs," and "The National Defense Fellowship Program."

President Amry Vandenbosch chaired the business meeting of the Conference, which elected the following new officers: Lloyd M. Short, Minnesota, president; Paul C. Bartholomew, Notre Dame, vice-president; and as members of the executive council, Louis H. Douglas, Kansas State and Frank L. Klingberg, Southern Illinois.

The 1961 meeting will be held at the University of Missouri on May 11 to 13.

The Northern California Political Science Astion held its annual meeting jointly with the Western Political Science Association at the University of California (Berkeley) on April 15–16, 1960. The Presidential Citation Award for teaching, service to the profession, community service and research was conferred upon Burton R. Brazil of San Jose State College. Officers elected for 1960–61 were: president, Alexander Smetana, University of San Francisco; vice-president, Benjamin C. Franklin, Chico State College; secretary-treasurer, John M. Selig, City College of San Francisco. The following were elected to the council: Gilbert Abcarian, Humboldt State Col-

lege; Charles W. Black, Modesto Junior College; John H. Bunzel, Stanford University; Bernard Kronic, University of Santa Clara; Paul Murray, Sacramento State College; Peter H. Odegard, University of California; Frederic A. Weed, San Jose State College.

The 1960 annual meeting of the New England Political Science Association was held on April 23 to 24 at the University of Massachusetts. James Burns of Williams College was elected president for the coming year, Norman Padelford of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology will serve as vice president, and Vernon Ferwarda of Trinity College will continue as secretary-treasurer. Rolf Haugen of the University of Vermont, Stanley Hoffman of Harvard University, and Duane Lockard of Connecticut College were elected to the executive committee.

The meeting opened with a Saturday afternoon panel on "New Fields for African Research," chaired by Rupert Emerson of Harvard University. Gwendolen Carter, Smith College and Jo Saxe, Harvard University, delivered papers; discussants included Ruth Schachter, Boston University and Lawrence Howard, Brandeis University.

The Saturday evening dinner meeting featured an address on "State Government: A Challenge to Political Scientists" by Kermit Morrissey, Budget Director of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. The closing Sunday morning panel was on "Party Reform Revisited," marking the tenth anniversary of the American Political Science Association report on political parties. Participants included E. E. Schattschneider, Wesleyan University; Earl Latham, Amherst College; E. William Steele, University of Vermont; with Robert Dahl of Yale University serving as chairman.

The New York Political Science Association held its 1960 annual meeting on the campus of Hofstra College, Hempstead, L. I., on April 22, 23. The principal speaker was Mr. Meyer Cohen, director of the Bureau of Operations, United Nations Special Fund. Mr. Cohen spoke on the topic of the role of the United Nations in accelerating the economic development of the less developed countries. In addition, there were panel discussions on the problems of metropolitan areas and on the politics of the nominating process.

Willard N. Hogan, State University College of Education, New Paltz, New York, was president of the Association for 1959-60 and Donald Bishop of Syracuse University, Syracuse, New York, was elected president for the following year.

In observance of the 50th Anniversary of its formal establishment, the department of political science at the University of Michigan conducted a series of Conference-Seminars at Ann Arbor on April 8-9, 1960. Centering around the general theme of "The Status and Prospects of Political Science as a Discipline," the seminars were attended by many of the graduates of the department, a number of political scientists from elsewhere, and members of the departmental staff. Specially invited guest speakers included The Right Honorable Lord Bridges, former Secretary to the British Cabinet and Permanent Secretary of the Treasury; Professors V. O. Key, Harvard University; Rowland Egger, University of Virginia; Amry Vandenbosch, University of Kentucky; Lloyd M. McCaffree, Director of Research, Republican National Committee; John A. Perkins, President of the University of Delaware; the Honorable Joseph Satterthwaite, Assistant Secretary of State for African Affairs and former Director of the Foreign Service; Evron Kirkpatrick, Executive Director, APSA; Governor G. Mennen Williams, of Michigan. A 30-page brochure outlining the main developments in the teaching of political science at Michigan, which began in 1860 when lectures by Professor Thomas M. Cooley on constitutional law and history were first offered, was prepared for the occasion and is available for distribution to graduates and friends of the department. The formal papers presented at the seminars by Lord Bridges, Professor Key, Dr. Perkins, and the present departmental chairman, Professor James K. Pollock, will be published.

Ninety members of the Ohio Association of Economists and Political Scientists met at Otterbein College, Westerville, Ohio, on March 12. Dr. Warne, luncheon speaker, discussed "Advertising and Consumer Behavior." Political scientists appearing on the program were: Norman Blume, University of Toledo; H. P. Secher, Western Reserve University; Herbert Waltzer, Miami University; Hoke Smith, Hiram College. New officers are: Ray Gusteson, Political Science, Ohio University, president; Alvin S. Tostlebe, Economics, Wooster, College vice-president; Mona Fletcher, Political Science, Kent State University was reelected secretary-treasurer.