

The Mathematical Gazette



Reflections on the Woolwich Ferry

Volume 97 Number 539 July 2013



THE MATHEMATICAL ASSOCIATION

THE MATHEMATICAL ASSOCIATION

AN ASSOCIATION OF TEACHERS AND STUDENTS OF ELEMENTARY MATHEMATICS

'I hold every man a debtor to his profession, from the which as men of course do seek to receive countenance and profit, so ought they of duty to endeavour themselves by way of amends to be a help and an ornament thereunto.' BACON

THE COUNCIL

PRESIDENT

Mr Peter Ransom

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT		Professor Marcus du Sautoy	
PRESIDENT DESIGNATE		Mrs Lynne McClure	
CHAIR OF COUNCIL		Professor Adam McBride	
SECRETARY		Dr Catherine Farmar	
TREASURER		Mr Bill Richardson	
REPRESENTATIVES	BRANCHES	Mr David Pountney	(Chair)
OF COMMITTEES	CONFERENCES		(Chair)
	PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT	Mrs Julia Brown	(Chair)
	PUBLICATIONS	Mr Barry Lewis	(Chair)
	PUBLICITY & MEMBERSHIP	Miss Cherri Moseley	(Chair)
	TEACHING COMMITTEE	Ms Rachael Horsman	(Chair)

Dr Paul Harris	
Mrs Fiona Allan	Mr Paul Metcalf
Dr Alison Clark-Wilson	Dr Chris Pritchard
Mr David Crawford	Mr Charlie Stripp
Dr Tony Gardiner	
	Mrs Fiona Allan Dr Alison Clark-Wilson Mr David Crawford

SENIOR ADMINISTRATOR Ms Marcia Murray

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE OF THE MATHEMATICAL GAZETTE

Editor	Dr Gerry Leversha
Production Editor	Mr Bill Richardson
Reviews Editor	Vacant
Problems Editors	Mr Nick Lord, Dr Stan Dolan
Assistant Editors	Mr Tom Roper, Mr Colin Davis, Mr Michael Fox,
	Dr Andrew Jobbings, Professor Adam McBride