The Secretariat is headed by the General Secretary, L. Perek. The staff of the office consists of the Assistant Secretary, A. Jappel, and a secretarial employee, Mrs J. Daňková. All problems related to Symposia and Colloquia are dealt with by the Assistant General Secretary,

Prof. C. De Jager Astronomical Observatory "Sonnenborgh" Zonnenburg 2 UTRECHT The Netherlands.

He also maintains the contact with the publisher.

B. FINANCES

(a) The XIIIth General Assembly raised the unit of contribution to 900 gold francs, that is to 293.94 U.S. dollars, for the years 1968, 1969, 1970.

III. THE INTERNATIONAL ASTRONOMICAL UNION AND THE OTHER INTERNATIONAL SCIENTIFIC ORGANIZATIONS

A. THE INTERNATIONAL COUNCIL OF SCIENTIFIC UNIONS

The composition of other international bodies changes at other intervals than does that of the IAU. The reader is therefore referred to the Yearbook of the ICSU for the current year. Only IAU representatives are mentioned in the following paragraphs.

The IAU is represented by the General Secretary, L. Perek, in the Executive Committee of the ICSU.

B. IAU REPRESENTATIVES IN SCIENTIFIC AND SPECIAL COMMITTEES AND COMMISSIONS OF ICSU

- 1. Committee on Space Research (COSPAR): L. Gratton (till 1968).
- 2. Special Committee for the International Year of the Quiet Sun (IQSY). The Committee was discontinued as from 1 January 1968.
- 3. International Abstracting Board (IAB): J.B. Sykes.
- Federation of Astronomical and Geophysical Sciences (FAGS): D.H. Sadler (Vice-President), B. Guinot.

IAU representatives in FAGS services:

Bureau International de l'Heure (BIH): H.M. Smith, F. Zagar.

International Polar Motion Service: Organizing Committee of IAU Commission 19.

Quarterly Bulletin on Solar Activity: Organizing Committee of IAU Commission 10.

International Ursigrams and World Day Service (IUWDS): R. Michard.

Solar Particles and Radiation Monitoring Organization (SPARMO): C. De Jager.

C. IAU REPRESENTATIVES IN INTER-UNION COMMITTEES AND COMMISSIONS OF ICSU

- 1. Comité International de Geophysique (CIG): G. Righini (Vice-President), R. Michard.
- 2. Inter-Union Committee on Frequency Allocations for Radio Astronomy and Space Science (IUCAF): J.F. Denisse, V.A. Sanamjan, F.G. Smith (Chairman), O. Hachenberg.
- 3. Inter-Union Committee on the Ionosphere (IUCI): discontinued.
- 4. Inter-Union Commission on Solar Terrestrial Physics (IUCSTP) created in 1966: Z. Švestka.
- 5. Inter-Union Commission on Science Teaching (IUCST): Miss Edith Müller.
- 6. Committee for Data on Science and Technology (CODATA): Mrs. Ch. Moore-Sitterly.
- 7. Inter-Union Commission on Spectroscopy: A.H. Cook, B. Edlén, J.G. Phillips, M.J. Seaton.

D. IAU REPRESENTATIVES IN OTHER ORGANIZATIONS

- 1. La Fondation Internationale du Pic du Midi: A. Lallemand.
- Le Comité Consultatif pour la Définition de la Seconde (CCDS) du Bureau International des Poids et Mesures: B. Guinot, H.M. Smith.
- 3. Le Comité Consultatif pour la Définition du Mètre du Bureau International des Poids et Mesures: A.H. Cook.
- 4. Le Comité Consultatif International des Radiocommunications: H. M. Smith.

IV. SERVICES AND FUNCTIONS OF THE IAU

A, B, C. No change of principle against Trans. IAU XIIC, 17.

D. THE CENTRAL BUREAU FOR ASTRONOMICAL TELEGRAMS

Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory, Cambridge, Massachusetts 02138, U.S.A.

Director of the Bureau: Dr B.G. Marsden

Associate Directors: Dr O.J. Gingerich, Dr R.B. Southworth

For nearly a century astronomers have maintained a telegraph and cable network for rapid communication of such celestial news as the discovery of comets and novae. When the International Astronomical Union was established the Central Bureau for Astronomical Telegrams was placed under its jurisdiction (through Commission 6 of the Union), initially at the Brussels Observatory, and then for a great many years at the Copenhagen Observatory. Since 1965 the Bureau has been at the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory.

Telegrams or cables can be received any time of day or night at the Smithsonian Observatory. The cable address is SATELLITES, NEWYORK, the telex number is 92-1428, and the Western Union address for astronomers in North America is RAPID SATELLITE, CAMBMASS. In North America, telegrams are sent out collect via Western Union to any astronomers agreeing to pay for the messages. The larger share of other addresses are reached through the Regional Warning Centers of the International Ursigram and World Days Service (the AGIWARN network). The financial arrangements depend on the particular Regional Warning Centers, whose addresses appear below; observatories served through the Meudon center are expected to place a deposit with the Central Bureau.

France, British Isles, Spain, Portugal, Italy, Greece, Middle East, North Africa, Germany, Austria, Belgium, Denmark:

Dr P. Simon, Observatoire de Paris, Section d'Astrophysique, 92-Meudon, France.

Sweden, Norway, Finland:

Mr Per Akerlind, Board of Swedish Telecommunications, Stockholm 16, Sweden.

The Netherlands:

Mr H. Van Lohuizen, Radio Receiving Station NERA, Nederhorst den Berg, The Netherlands. Czechoslovakia, Poland, Hungary, Rumania:

Mr P. Tříska, Czechoslovak Academy of Sciences, Geophysical Institute, Ionosphere Department, Praha, Spořilov, Czechoslovakia.

U.S.S.R., People's Republic of China, Bulgaria:

Mrs L. N. Liakhova, Institute of Terrestrial Magnetism, Ionosphere and Radio Propagation (IZMIRAN), Leninskii r-p, P.O. Vatutenki, Moscow, U.S.S.R. Japan:

Dr H. Uyeda, Radio Research Laboratories, Ministry of Posts and Telecommunications, Kokubunji P.O., Koganei-shi, Tokyo, Japan.