Dr. Alan McDougall, briefly replying, thanked the members for their courtesy and Dr. Lord for his appreciative remarks.

IRISH DIVISION.

THE SPRING QUARTERLY MEETING of the Irish Division was held at the District Mental Hospital, Ballinasloe, on Thursday, April 3, 1930, by the kind invitation of the Committee of Management and Dr. J. Mills, Medical Superintendent.

Dr. R. R. Leeper (Divisional Chairman) presided and seventeen others members were present.

Apologies for unavoidable absence were received from Dr. J. C. Martin, Dr. S. J. Graham, Dr. A. Sheridan and Dr. B. F. Honan.

The minutes of the last meeting were read, approved, and signed by the Chairman. On a ballot being taken the following candidates were unanimously elected ordinary members of the Association:

N. M. FITZGERALD, M.B., B.Ch., B.A.O.N.U.I., Grangegorman Mental Hospital, Dublin.

Proposed by Drs. R. R. Leeper, J. O'Conor Donelan and Stanley Blake.

JOHN VINCENT KELLY, M.B., B.Ch.N.U.I., D.P.M., Assistant Medical Officer, District Mental Hospital, Castlebar.

Proposed by Drs. P. Moran, A. Sheridan and D. L. Kelly.

James Scott, M.B., B.Ch.N.U.I., Assistant Medical Officer, District Mental Hospital, Carlow.

Proposed by Drs. P. Moran, T. Greene and D. L. Kelly.

The meeting then proceeded to the election of the officers of the Division for the year 1930-31, and, on a ballot being taken, the following were declared elected: Chairman of the Division: Dr. Richard R. Leeper.

Representative Members of Council: Dr. Richard R. Leeper, Dr. Laurence Gavin.

Secretary of the Division: Dr. R. Thompson.

Dr. Leeper and Dr. J. O'C. Donelan were nominated Examiners for the Association's Certificate in Psychological Medicine for the ensuing year.

Correspondence was then read from Dr. J. R. Lord re the formation of an Irish Sub-Committee of the Research and Clinical Committee. The matter was fully discussed, and it was decided, on the motion of Dr. Nolan, seconded by Dr. Mills, to adopt Dr. Lord's suggestion, and to approve an Irish Research and Clinical Sub-Committee.

The personnel of this Sub-Committee was then nominated as follows:

Dr. M. J. Nolan.
Dr. J. O'C. Donelan.
Dr. J. Mills.
Dr. D. L. Kelly.
Dr. R. R. Leeper.
Lt.-Col. Dawson.
Dr. Moran.
Dr. P. Moran.
Dr. N. Graham.
Dr. B. F. Honan.
Dr. John Fitzgerald.
Dr. R. Thompson.

Dr. Moran was nominated Secretary to the Committee.

Dr. LEEPER then introduced the question of the travelling expenses of the Secretary of the Division in attending the General Meetings of the Association. He stated that he had made repeated efforts to get these expenses defrayed by the local authorities—as is the case with the Scottish and some of the English secretaries—but had been unsuccessful. He then put a resolution to the meeting, which he suggested should be forwarded to the Local Government Departments of the Irish Free State and Northern Ireland. The resolution was discussed and various amendments suggested, and the Secretary was instructed to forward the resolution, as amended, to the Governments of the Free State and Northern Ireland.

The Summer Meeting was fixed for July, day and place to be decided upon later.