From the Editor

2018 *Microscopy Today* Innovation Awards



Congratulations to the winners of the ninth annual *Microscopy Today* Innovation Awards competition. These awards honor innovative microscopy-related products and methods that appeared in the previous year.

Our team of judges, led by Tom Kelly, looked for innovations that will make new scientific investigations possible. The ten winning innovations were selected on the basis of their importance and usefulness to the microscopy community. The entries most likely to win are those that provide better, faster, or entirely new methods of analysis using some type of microscope or microanalytical instrument.

The 2018 *Microscopy Today* Innovation Award winners are:

École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne for single-shot three-dimensional electron imaging

Deutsches Elekronen-Synchrotron (DESY) for high-NA, high-efficiency hard X-ray lenses **HREM Research, Inc.** for a method of phase retrieval from the differential phase contrast signal

Integrated Dynamic Electron Solutions, Inc. for Relativity® multiplexed TEM video imaging US Naval Research Lab and Vanderbilt University for engineered materials for hyper-lensing Neurescence, Inc. for the Quartet® miniature microscope that can follow activity in four neurons simultaneously

National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering for reflective imaging that improves spatiotemporal resolution and collection efficiency in light sheet microscopy University of California Davis Health for MUSE microscopy enabling slide-free histology University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign for gradient light interference microscopy (GLIM)

Voxa Company for Mochii S, a portable SEM-EDS small enough to be carry-on luggage

Descriptions of the above innovations are given in an article within this issue. Nomination applications for the next competition are available upon request (charles.lyman@lehigh.edu). The deadline for application submission is March 21, 2019.

Charles Lyman Editor-in-Chief

Publication Objective: to provide information of interest to microscopists.

Microscopy Today is a controlled-circulation trade magazine owned by the Microscopy Society of America that is published six times a year in the odd months. Editorial coverage spans all microscopy techniques including light microscopy, scanning probe microscopy, electron microscopy, ion-beam techniques, and the wide range of microanalytical methods. Readers and authors come from both the life sciences and the physical sciences. The typical length of an article is about 2,000 words plus figures and tables; feature articles are longer. Interested authors should consult "Instructions for Contributors" on the *Microscopy Today* website: www.microscopy-today.com.

ISSN 1551-9295

Disclaimer

The Microscopy Society of America and the editors cannot be held responsible for opinions, errors, or for any consequences arising from the use of information contained in *Microscopy Today*. The appearance of advertising in *Microscopy Today* does not constitute an endorsement or approval by the Microscopy Society of America of any claims or information found in the advertisements. By submitting a manuscript to *Microscopy Today*, the author warrants that the article is original or that the author has written permission to use copyrighted material published elsewhere. While the contents of this magazine are believed to be accurate at press time, neither the Microscopy Society of America, the editors, nor the authors can accept legal responsibility for errors or omissions.

© Copyright 2018 by the Microscopy Society of America. All rights reserved.



Editorial Staff

Charles E. Lyman, Editor-in-Chief charles.lyman@lehigh.edu (610) 758-4249

Gennifer Levey, Production Manager glevey@meridianartpro.com (212) 780-0315

Ron Anderson, Executive Editor randerson20@tampabay.rr.com

Phil Oshel, Technical Editor oshellpe@cmich.edu

Robert Price, Associate Editor bob.price@uscmed.sc.edu

Stephen Carmichael, Columnist carmichael.stephen@mayo.edu

Eric Clark, Pioneers Editor eclark@magnet.fsu.edu

Richard Edelmann, Education Editor edelmare@miamioh.edu

Deb Kelly, *Microscopy 101 Editor* debkelly@vt.edu

Thomas E. Phillips, Consulting Editor phillipst@missouri.edu

Paul Webster, Calendar Editor p.webster@oak-crest.org

John Shields, Humor Editor jpshield@uga.edu

Nikolaus Cordes, *Digital Content Editor* ncordes@lanl.gov

Thomas Kelly, Chief Awards Judge Thomas.kelly@ametek.com

Advertising Sales

M.J. Mrvica Associates, Inc. 2 West Taunton Avenue, Berlin, NJ 08009 mjmrvica@mrvica.com (856) 768-9360

Kelly Miller, Account Manager kmiller@mrvica.com

Magazine website:

http://www.microscopy-today.com Free subscriptions are available

Publisher

Cambridge University Press One Liberty Plaza, 20th Floor New York, New York 10006 (212) 337-5000

Circulation: 18,000

Editorial Board

Nasim Alem, Penn State University Arlan Benscoter, Lehigh University John Bozzola, Southern Illinois University Peter Crozier, Arizona State University Vinayak Dravid, Northwestern University David Grubb, Cornell University Bryan Huey, University of Connecticut Heather Lowers, U.S. Geological Survey John Mackenzie, North Carolina State Univ. Paul Maddox, U. of North Carolina-Chapel Hill Ania Majewska, U. Rochester Med School Joseph Michael, Sandia National Labs Caroline Miller, Indiana University Brian M. Patterson, Los Alamos National Lab John Reffner, John Jay College, SUNY Ian Robertson, University of Wisconsin Phillip Russell, Appalachian State University Glenn Shipley, Citizen Microscopist Robert Simmons, Georgia State University Bradley Thiel, SUNY Polytechnic Institute Simon Watkins, University of Pittsburgh Cynthia Zeissler, Nat. Inst. of Stds. and Tech. (NIST)