HISTORY OF ECONOMICS SOCIETY BULLETIN

Volume 11, No. 2

Fall, 1989



Published semiannually at Vanderbilt University by The History of Economics Society

© Copyright 1989

https://doi.org/10.1017/S1042771600005871 Published online by Cambridge University Press

HISTORY OF ECONOMICS SOCIETY'S DISTINGUISHED FELLOWS

William Jaffé	1980
Joseph J. Spengler	1981
Joseph Dorfman	1982
Frank W. Fetter	1982
George J. Stigler	1983
Lord Robbins	1984
Terence W. Hutchison	1984
G. L. S. Shackle	1985
Fredrich A. von Hayek	1985
Robert Denis Collison Black	1987
Mark Blaug	1988
Don Patinkin	1989

History of Economics Society

Founded in 1974

officers

PresidentWilliam J. Barber, Wesleyan University	
President-Elect and Program ChairmanS. Todd Lowry,	
Washington and Lee University	
Vice PresidentBruce Caldwell,	
University of North Carolina/Greensboro, NC	
Acting Secretary-TreasurerClarence R. Jung, University of Richmond	
executive committee	
In addition to the four officers listed above.	
Past PresidentsDonald Moggridge, University of Toronto Donald A. Walker, Indiana University of Pennsylvania	
Elected MembersJames P. Henderson (1990). Valparaiso University	
Axel Leijonhufvud (1991). University of California	
at Los Angeles	
E. Roy Weintraub (1991). Duke University	
Robert F. Hebert (1992). Auburn University	
Managing Editor of the History of	
Economics Society Bulletin	
Vanderbilt University	

The annual dues for membership in the History of Economics Society is US\$ 20, which include a year's subscription to *HESB* (ISSN 1042-7716). published in the Spring and Fall of each year. Foreign members please add US\$ 4 for postage. Institutional subscriptions are:

domestic US\$ 40: foreign. US\$ 44 (includes postage).

Requests for subscriptions, membership information as well as notices of address changes should be sent to Clarence R. Jung, Acting Secretary-Treasurer, HES, Department of Economics, University of Richmond, Richmond, Virginia 23173.

All communications regarding material for possible inclusion in the *HES Bulletin* should be sent to William O. Thweatt, Managing Editor, *HESB*, Box 206-B, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee 37235. Submitted manuscripts must be completely in double space.

Books to be reviewed in *HESB* should be sent to the Book Review Editor. Professor Roy Rotheim, Department of Economics, Skidmore College, Saratoga Springs, New York 12866-1632.

HESB

Vol. 11, No. 2

Fall, 1989

CONTENTS

Distinguished Fellow Award to Don Patinkin, June 12, 1989	v
Announcement	171
Announcement of the Seventeenth Annual Meeting and Call for Papers	172
Articles	
Economists and Biographers. Presidential Address to HES, June 1989 Donald E. Moggridge	174
Does a Famous Economists Deserve Special Standards? A Critical Note on Adam Smith Scholarship Salim Rashid	190
Destutt de Tracy: A French Precursor of the Virginia School of Public Finance	
Robert W. Dimand and Edwin G. West	210
On Composition of Demand and Income Distribution in Classical Economics Samuel Hollander	216
Adam Smith and Albert Einstein: The Aesthetic Principle of Truth Elias L. Khalil	222
The Winternitz Solution: A Comment Resad Kayali and Osman Sari	238
What Has Happened to Gustav Schmoller in English? Peter R. Senn	252
Geometric Population Increase: A Note on Priority of Usage Geffrey Gilbert	296
On Browsing Through the New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics: II David E. R. Gay	300
Book Reviews	
Economics and Institutions: A Manefesto for a Modern Institutional Economics by Geoffrey M. Hodgson. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1988.	
Pp. xxii, 365. \$39.95 Yngve Ramstad	304
Pre-Classical Economic Thought. Edited by S. Todd Lowry. Boston: Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1987. Pp. x, 271. \$47.50 George W. Wilson	314
Notices and Communications	514
Abstracts of Dissertations in the History of Economic	
Thought. 1988-1989. Brad W. Bateman	
	322
Abstracts of Papers Delivered at the 16th Annual Meeting of HES, June 10-13, 1989 at the University of Richmond, VA	334
Other Announcements	354

ANNOUNCEMENT

Beginning with the Spring 1990 issue, Professor Donald A. Walker will become the Editor of *HESB*. Effective immediately all communications regarding material for possible inclusion in the *H.E.S. Bulletin* should be sent to him at the following address:

Professor Donald A. Walker Department of Economics 148 Keith Hall Indiana University of Pennsylvania Indiana, Pennsylvania 15705