JUNE 1986 VOLUME 80 NUMBER 2

#### MANAGING EDITOR

#### Samuel C. Patterson

Department of Political Science Ohio State University, 223 Derby Hall Columbus, Ohio 43210-1373

#### **BOOK REVIEW EDITOR**

Robert H. Salisbury

Department of Political Science Washington University, Campus Box 1063 St. Louis, Missouri 63130

#### EDITORIAL BOARD

Suzanne Berger Massachusetts Institute of Technology

> **David W. Brady** Rice University

Charles V. Hamilton Columbia University

John R. Hibbing University of Nebraska, Lincoln

> Harold Jacobson University of Michigan

**Milton G. Lodge** State University of New York at Stony Brook John M. Orbell University of Oregon

**G. Bingham Powell, Jr.** University of Rochester

Harvey Starr Indiana University

**Dennis F. Thompson** Princeton University

John C. Wahlke University of Arizona

**Raymond Wolfinger** University of California, Berkeley

Diana D. McCall Assistant Editor

Stephen A. Borrelli APSR Intern

Josie Foo Editorial Assistant Janet McNaughton Copy Editor

> Steven C. Poe APSR Intern

Sara Bateman Designer

The American Political Science Review appears in March, June, September, and December of each year. It is published by the American Political Science Association, 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036, and sent to all members. Dues: Regular Members with income: under \$20,000, \$40; \$20,000-\$29,999, \$50; \$30,000-\$39,999, \$65; \$40,000 and over, \$75; Student Members (limited to 5 years), \$15; Retired Members,

\$20; Life Members, \$1,000; Institutional Members, \$75. Dues allocated for a subscription to the *APSR*: \$10. Changes of address sent to the Membership Secretary of the APSA. Postmaster: Please send notification regarding undelivered journals to address above. Second-class postage paid at Washington, D.C. and at additional mailing offices. Copyright © 1986 by The American Political Science Association (ISSN-0003-0554).

## AMERICAN POLITICAL SCIENCE REVIEW

### CONTENTS

ARTICLES
Market Justice, Political Justice Robert E. Lane
From Tragedy to Hierarchy and Back Again: Women in Greek Political Thought Arlene W. Saxonhouse
Foucault's Challenge to Critical Theory Stephen K. White
Thucydides on the Causes of Athenian Imperialism Steven Forde
Soviet Elections Revisited: Voter Abstention in
Rasma Karklins
Edward N. Muller & Karl-Dieter Opp
Rein Taagepera
Milton G. Lodge & Ruth Hamill
Schematic Assessments of Presidential Candidates Arthur H. Miller, Martin P. Wattenberg & Oksana Malanchuk
The President and the Political Use of Force Charles W. Ostrom, Jr. & Brian L. Job
Candidates and Policy in United States Senate Elections  Gerald C. Wright, Jr. & Michael B. Berkman
CONTROVERSY
Interpreting the 1974 Congressional Election Gary C. Jacobson, Samuel Kernell, Eric M. Uslaner & M. Margaret Conway
RESEARCH NOTES
Strategic Politicians and Unresponsive Voters Richard Born 59

Who Overreports Voting?	
Brian D. Silver, Barbara A. Anderson & Paul R. Abramson	613
BOOK REVIEWS	
Review Essay	631
Political Theory	640
American Politics	660
Comparative Politics	689
International Relations	<b>7</b> 11

#### EFFECTIVE JUNE 1, 1986

All new manuscripts should be sent to:

Samuel C. Patterson, Managing Editor American Political Science Review Department of Political Science Ohio State University Columbus, Ohio 43210-1373

QUARTERLY JOURNAL OF THE
AMERICAN POLITICAL SCIENCE ASSOCIATION
JUNE 1986
VOLUME 80 NUMBER 2

ii

# AMERICAN POLITICAL SCIENCE ASSOCIATION

1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20036

PRESIDENT:

Aaron Wildavsky

University of California, Berkeley

PRESIDENT-ELECT:

Samuel P. Huntington

Harvard University

**VICE PRESIDENTS:** 

Theodore J. Lowi

Cornell University

Dale Rogers Marshall University of California, Davis

**Donald Matthews** 

University of Washington

SECRETARY:

Myron Weiner

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

TREASURER:

Helen Ingram

University of Arizona

**EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR:** 

Thomas E. Mann

PROGRAM CHAIR:

Matthew Holden, Jr.

University of Virginia

MANAGING EDITOR, APSR:

Samuel C. Patterson

Ohio State University

COUNCIL, 1984-86:

**Brian Barry** 

California Institute of Technology

F. Chris Garcia

University of New Mexico

William R. Keech

University of North Carolina

J. Donald Moon

Wesleyan University

Victor A. Olorunsola

Iowa State University

Norman J. Ornstein

American Enterprise Institute

Benjamin I. Page

University of Texas at Austin

Bruce M. Russett

Yale University

COUNCIL, 1985-87:

John Kingdon

University of Michigan

Stephen D. Krasner

Stanford University

Paula D. McClain

Arizona State University

Karen O'Connor

Emory University

Carole Pateman

University of Sydney

G. Bingham Powell, Jr.

University of Rochester

Kenneth Shepsle

Washington University

Nancy H. Zingale

College of St. Thomas

https://doi.org/10.1017/S0003055400183121 Published online by Cambridge University Press

## **APSA**

announces the publication of

## Political Science: The State of the Discipline

NGLEHART • GITHENS

KEOHANE

REISELBACH
 SHALALA

edited by

#### Ada W. Finifter

"a remarkable glimpse of a profession at work... An invaluable resource for any student or practitioner of current politics and policy-making in the U.S. — and indeed elsewhere in the world." **Choice** (February 1984)

19 Chapters by many of the country's leading political scientists reviewing the present state and future directions of research in the subfields of the discipline.

614 pages with a detailed index to authors cited.

Paper:

\$15.00\* for APSA members

\$25.00 for non-members ISBN 0-915654-58-X

Cloth:

\$35.00

ISBN 0-915654-57-1

\*This rate effective for classroom adoptions placed through bookstores.

(Please include \$2.00 to cover the costs of postage and handling)

Send your prepaid order to:

#### State of the Discipline

American Political Science Association 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20036

HANCOCK • MIGDAL • ASHER • KINDER