

Honorary Fellowships

Nominations to the College's Honorary Fellowship will be discussed at the September 2009 meeting of the Education, Training and Standards Committee.

The Bye-Laws of the College state that

'Subject to the Regulations the College may elect as an Honorary Fellow any person, whether or not he is a member of the medical profession, who either is eminent in psychiatry or in allied or connected sciences or disciplines or has rendered distinguished service to humanity in relation to the study, prevention or treatment of mental illness or to subjects allied thereto or connected herewith or has rendered notable service to the College or to the Association.'

Nomination forms are available from Elizabeth Atkinson, Membership Development Manager (email: latkinson@rcpsych.ac.uk), to whom nominations for the Honorary Fellowship should be sent by 30 June 2009. Such nominations must contain recommendations by no fewer than six Members of the

the college

College and include full supporting documentation.

doi: 10.1192/pb.bp.109.024737

Election of President — Notice to Fellows and Members

Fellows and Members are reminded of their rights under the Bye-Laws and Regulations.

Bye-Laws Section XI

1. The President shall be elected annually in accordance with the procedure described by the Regulations.

Regulation XI. Election of the President

- 1. The procedure for electing the President shall be as follows.
- (1) As soon as may be practicable after the first day of June in any year the Central Executive Committee shall hold a

- nomination meeting and shall at such meeting nominate not less than one candidate and not more than three candidates.
- (2) Between the first day of June in any year and the date which is four clear weeks after the nomination meeting of the Central Executive Committee, written nominations accompanied in each case by the nominee's written consent to stand for election may be lodged with the Registrar, provided that each such nomination is supported in writing by not less than twelve Members of the College who are not members of the Central Executive Committee.
- (3) An election by ballot shall be held in accordance with the provisions of the Regulations.

The nominating meeting of the Central Executive Committee will be held on 20 March 2009 and the last date for receiving nominations under Regulation XI (2) above will be 17 April 2009.

Professor Dinesh Bhugra is in his first year of office as President and is therefore eligible for re-election.

Nomination forms are available from Sue Duncan (email: sduncan@rcpsych.ac.uk).

doi: 10.1192/pb.bp.109.024877