ASTRONOMER'S HANDBOOK

The Astronomer's Handbook (IAU Transactions XIIC, edited by J.-C. Pecker and IAU Transactions XIIIB, edited by L. Perek) contains documents of permanent value. Only the parts changed after the XIVth General Assembly are supplemented here. The numbering of paragraphs is the same as in XIIC.

PART 1 OF ASTRONOMER'S HANDBOOK

I. SHORT HISTORY OF THE INTERNATIONAL ASTRONOMICAL UNION

D. Table 2 should be supplemented as follows:

XIVth General Assembly, 1970, Brighton, Sussex, England	
Members of the Union, after the General Assembly	2590
Participants (850 Members)	2255
Number of Commissions	39
Volumes of Transactions A	566 pages
В	378 pages
Highlights 1970	805 pages
President: B. Strömgren	197073
General Secretary: C. de Jager	1970-73
Assistant General Secretary: G. Contopoulos	1970-73
Vice-Presidents: B. J. Bok	1970-76
B. Lovell	1970-76
E. R. Mustel	1970–76

II. ADMINISTRATION AND FINANCES OF THE UNION

A. ADMINISTRATION

The address of the Secretariat is:

International Astronomical Union Space Research Laboratory The Astronomical Institute 21, Beneluxlaan UTRECHT The Netherlands

The Secretariat is headed by the General Secretary, C. de Jager. The staff of the office consists of the Executive Secretary, A. Jappel, the Secretary of the office, Mrs J. Daňková, and a typist.

All problems related to Symposia and Colloquia are dealt with by the Assistant General Secretary

Prof. G. Contopoulos Astronomical Department University of Thessaloniki THESSALONIKI Greece

He also maintains the contact with the publisher.

B. FINANCES

(a) The XIVth General Assembly resolved to maintain the unit of contribution at 900 gold francs, that is 293,94 U.S. dollars, for the years 1971, 1972, 1973.

III. THE INTERNATIONAL ASTRONOMICAL UNION AND THE OTHER INTERNATIONAL SCIENTIFIC ORGANIZATIONS

A. THE INTERNATIONAL COUNCIL OF SCIENTIFIC UNIONS

The terms of office of other international bodies differ from those of the IAU. Information in this respect should be looked up in the Yearbook of the ICSU for the current year. Only IAU representatives are mentioned in the following paragraphs.

The IAU is represented by the General Secretary, C. de Jager, on the Executive Committee of the ICSU.

B. IAU REPRESENTATIVES ON SCIENTIFIC AND SPECIAL COMMITTEES AND IN COMMISSIONS OF ICSU

- 1. Committee on Space Research (COSPAR): C. de Jager
- 2. International Abstracting Board (IAB): J. B. Sykes
- 3. Federation of Astronomical and Geophysical Sciences (FAGS): B. Guinot and G. H. Wilkins IAU representatives in FAGS services:

Bureau International de l'Heure (BIH): H. M. Smith and G. M. R. Winkler.

B. Guinot is Director of the Bureau

International Polar Motion Service (IPMS): E. P. Fedorov and B. Guinot

Quarterly Bulletin on Solar Activity: Organizing Committee of IAU Commission No. 10

International Ursigrams and World Day Service (IUWDS): R. Michard

Solar Particles and Radiation Monitoring Organization (SPARMO): C. W. Allen, C. de Jager and P. Simon

C. IAU REPRESENTATIVES ON INTER-UNION COMMITTEES AND IN COMMISSIONS OF ICSU

- 1. Comité International de Géophysique (CIG): discontinued
- 2. Inter-Union Committee on Frequency Allocations for Radio Astronomy and Space Science (IUCAF): O. Hachenberg, D. S. Heeschen, V. A. Sanamian and F. G. Smith
- 3. Inter-Union Commission on Solar Terrestrial Physics (IUCSTP): Z. Švestka
- 4. Inter-Union Commission for Science Teaching (IUCST): Edith A. Müller
- 5. Committee for Data on Science and Technology (CODATA): G. A. Wilkins
- 6. Inter-Union Commission on Spectroscopy (IUGS): B. Edlén, G. Phillips and M. J. Seaton