HISTORY OF ECONOMICS SOCIETY BULLETIN

Volume 10, No. 2

Fall, 1988



Published semiannually at
Vanderbilt University
by The History of Economics Society

HISTORY OF ECONOMICS SOCIETY'S DISTINGUISHED FELLOWS

William Jaffé	1980
Joseph J. Spengler	1981
Joseph Dorfman	1982
Frank W. Fetter	1982
George J. Stigler	1983
Lord Robbins	1984
Terence W. Hutchison	1984
G. L. S. Shackle	1985
Fredrich A. von Hayek	1985
Robert Denis Collison Black	1987
Mark Blaug	1988

HISTORY OF ECONOMICS SOCIETY

Executive Committee, 1988-1989

Ex Officio Members

President

Professor Donald E. Moggridge Department of Economics University of Toronto 150 St. George Street Toronto, CANADA M5S 1A1

President Elect

Professor William J. Barber Department of Economics Wesleyan University Middletown, CONNECTICUT 06457

Vice President

Professor Karen Vaughn Department of Economics George Mason University 4400 University Avenue Fairfax, VIRGINIA 22030

Past President

Professor Donald A. Walker
Department of Economics
148 Keith Hall
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Indiana, PENNSYLVANIA 15705

Past President

Professor Abraham Hirsch 41 Beverly Road Upper Montclair, NEW JERSEY

Secretary-Treasurer

Professor Patrick Raines
Department of Economics
University of Richmond
07043Richmond, VIRGINIA 23173

Elected Members

Professor Bruce J. Caldwell (1989) Department of Economics University of North Carolina Greensboro.

NORTH CAROLINA 27412

Professor James P. Henderson (1990) Department of Economics Valparaiso University Valparaiso, INDIANA 46383

Professor Axel Leijonhufvud (1991) Department of Economics University of California, Los Angeles

405 Hilgard Avenue Los Angeles, CALIFORNIA 90024 Professor E. Roy Weintraub (1991)
Department of Economics
Duke University
Durham, NORTH CAROLINA 27706

All communications regarding material for possible inclusion in the *H.E.S. Bulletin* should be addressed to:

Professor William O. Thweatt, Editor H.E.S. Bulletin
Box 206-B
Vanderbilt University
Nashville, TN 37235

All submissions should be typed and double-spaced (including footnotes). Requests for institutional subscriptions, membership information as well as notices of address changes should be sent to Patrick Raines, the H.E.S. Secretary-Treasurer whose address appears above.

HESB

Vol. 10, No. 2 Fall, 1988 CONTENTS Distinguished Fellow Award to Mark Blaug, June 20, 1988 iv - v From the Editor vi Announcement of the Sixteenth Annual Meeting and Call for Papers 97 Articles Ten Major Problems in the Study of the History of Economic Thought Presidential Address to HES. June 1988 Donald A. Walker 99 Towards a Post-Classical Economics Bill Gerrard 117 Monopolies as "Mechanical Defects": Frank H. Knight on Market Power J. Patrick Raines and Clarence R. Jung 135 National Styles in Contemporary Economics: Some Introductory Remarks A.W. Coats 145 Japanese Economics from a Sociological Perspective Shohken Mawatari 147 On Browsing Through the New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics: I William O. Thweatt 155 Notes and Communications Keeping Whig History Honest Paul A. Samuelson 161 Buchanan, Wicksell and Finanztheoretische Untersuchungen Bo Sandelin 169 Vincent J. Tarascio Jaffé's Walras 171 Who Was the Author of the Essay on Commerce? A Note on Sir James Steuart's Doctrinal Sources Francisco Cabrillo 175 Abstracts of Dissertations in the History of Economic Brad W. Bateman Thought, 1986-1987 179 Abstracts of Papers Delivered at the 15th Annual Meeting of HES, June 19-21, 1988 at Trinity College, University of Toronto 191 Announcements and Notices

209

Award for Best Dissertation in the History of Economic Thought