Association News

The amendment was accepted by Sundquist.

The motion on the proposed constitutional amendment, as amended, was approved without objection.

Report of the Managing Editor of the APSR

The Council received the report of the Managing Editor of the *APSR*. The report is printed in the Fall issue of *PS*.

Report of the Book Review Editor of the APSR

The Council received the report of the Book Review Editor of the *APSR*. The report is printed in the Fall issue of *PS*.

Committee on Research Support

Patterson outlined for the Council a proposal for a Conference on the Implementation of Education and Social Service Programs to bring together policy makers and evaluators from the federal government with political scientists to discuss empirical findings and insights from political science research on the implementation of education and social service policies.

Havard moved approval of the proposal. The motion was approved without objection.

Commendations

President Miller expressed his appreciation to the Council for the cooperation and support during the year.

Dennis commended the President for his effective leadership during the past year. The commendation was approved by acclamation.

1980 Annual Business Meeting Minutes

Washington Hilton Hotel Washington, D.C. August 30, 1980

President Warren E. Miller called the Meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

Nomination of Candidates

Professor William H. Flanigan offered the following nominations for the APSA Nominating Committee:

President-Elect: Seymour Martin Lipset, Stanford University.

Vice Presidents: Henry J. Abraham, University of Virginia; Doris A. Graber, University of Illinois, Chicago Circle; Robert H. Salisbury, Washington University, St. Louis.

Secretary: Marian Lief Palley, University of Delaware.

Treasurer: William J. Keefe, University of Pittsburgh.

Council Members: Bernard C. Cohen, University of Wisconsin-Madison; William J. Daniels, Union College; Dorothy Buckton James, American University; Samuel A. Kirkpatrick, Texas A&M University; Naomi B. Lynn, Kansas State University; Harvey C. Mansfield, Jr., Harvard University; Frank J. Munger, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Joseph A. Schlesinger, Michigan State University.

Professor Austin Ranney moved that the Annual Business Meeting elect to the offices for which they have been nominated all of the persons nominated by the Nominating Committee of the American Political Science Association. The motion was approved by voice vote with no objections.

Constitutional Amendment

Professor James L. Sundquist, for the Council, presented the following proposed constitutional amendment which the Council had unanimously recommended for adoption:

That the following language be added as a new paragraph 5 of Article V of the Constitution to read: Nominations for the office of Treasurer should be from among members of the Association who, at the time of nomination, are serving as members of the Council or who have completed service during the preceding year.

That Article V, clause 1, paragraph 2 be changed to read: The terms of elective offices, except members of the Council and the Treasurer, shall ex-

62 PS Winter 1981

tend.... The term of the Treasurer shall also extend for two years, similarly calculated.

The Business Meeting recommended, without objection, the adoption of the proposed Constitutional Amendment.

Report of the Treasurer

Professor James L. Sundquist, for the Council, presented the following proposed dues schedule for consideration of the Meeting, and pointed out that the dues schedule could not go into effect unless approved by a referendum vote of the members.

Category	Dues
Student	\$15
Retired	\$20
Regular – Annual Income:	
Ūnder \$20,000	\$40
\$20,000-29,999	\$50
\$30,000-39,999	\$65
\$40,000 and over	\$75

The Business Meeting recommended, without objection, the adoption of the proposed dues schedule.

President Miller turned the Meeting over to President-Elect Lindblom. President-Elect Lindblom adjourned the meeting at 5:25 p.m.

Following the Meeting, a mail ballot was sent to all members of the Association. The proposed Constitutional Amendment was approved by a vote of 2,476 for, 497 opposed, and the proposed dues schedule was approved by a vote of 1,572 for, 1,257 opposed.

APSA Committees

The following is a list of Association committees with members who have been appointed by Presidents of the Association with the consent of the Council. Members of the Association are invited to correspond with the Chairperson of any Committee concerning subjects with which his or her Committee is dealing.

I. CONSTITUTIONAL COMMITTEES

Administrative Committee

Bernard C. Cohen, University of Wisconsin-Madison William J. Daniels, Union College

William J. Keefe, University of Pittsburgh

Charles E. Lindblom, Yale University

- Seymour Martin Lipset, Stanford University
- Harvey C. Mansfield, Jr., Harvard University
- Marian Lief Palley, University of Delaware

Nominating Committee

Terms expiring December 31, 1982: Lewis Dexter, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Adam Przeworski, University of Chicago Ronald Rogowski, Duke University

Terms expiring December 31, 1981: Samuel H. Beer, Harvard University

William H. Flanigan, University of Minnesota, Chair

Ann Hopkins, University of Tennessee

1961 Program Committee

- Marguerite Ross Barnett, Columbia University
- Richard Brody, Stanford University
- Eldon Eisenach, University of Arkansas-Little Rock
- Erwin Hargrove, Vanderbilt University
- Kenneth Jowitt, University of California, Berkeley
- Samuel Kernell, University of California, San Diego
- Stephen D. Krasner, University of California, Los Angeles
- Peter Lange, Harvard University

Gerhard Loewenberg, University of lowa

- Theodore Lowi, Cornell University, Co-Chair
- Marian Lief Palley, University of Delaware

Adam Przeworski, University of Chicago

- Martin Shefter, Cornell University
- Alan Stone, University of Houston
- Philippa Strum, Brooklyn College, CUNY
- Sidney Tarrow, Cornell University, Co-Chair
- Jack Walker, University of Michigan

Editorial Board, APSR

- Charles O. Jones, University of Pittsburgh, Managing Editor
- Robert M. Axelrod, University of Michigan
- Steven J. Brams, New York University