The Canadían Journal of ECONOMICS AND POLITICAL SCIENCE

The Journal of the Canadían Polítical Science Association

VOLUME XXIX FEBRUARY TO NOVEMBER 1963

PUBLISHED QUARTERLY BY UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO PRESS

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL OF THE CANADIAN POLITICAL SCIENCE ASSOCIATION

President, C. B. MACPHERSON

| Past Presidents | Vice-Presidents | | Secretary-Treasurer |
|-----------------|------------------|-----------------|---------------------|
| W. J. WAINES | J. H. Aitchison | Charles Lemelin | H. C. Eastman |
| E. A. Forsey | Philippe Garigue | A. E. Safarian | |

Elected Members

R. T. Adamson Jean Burnet Wm. B. Cunningham Larratt Higgins R. L. JAMES Alain Jubinville A. W. Johnson J. A. Laponce

R. A. MACKAY J. J. MADDEN R, A. MUNDELL GUY ROCHER L. A. Skeoch D. V. Verney

Representatives of the Board of Editors of the Journal J. H. DALES J. E. HODGETTS

Representative Member of the SSRCC S. D. CLARK

The Canadian Political Science Association was founded in 1913, and reorganized in 1929. The object of the Association is to encourage the investigation and study of economic, political, and social problems in Canada. The Association welcomes as members all who are interested in its objects. Members receive a copy of the CANADIAN JOURNAL OF ECONOMICS AND POLITICAL SCIENCE, published quarterly for the Association by the University of Toronto Press. Correspondence with the Association should be addressed to the Secretary-Treasurer, 100 St. George Street, Toronto 5, Canada.

MEMBERSHIP FEES

Ordinary, \$6.00 per annum Student, \$3.00 per annum Life, \$90.00