



Microscopical Society of Canada / Société de Microscopie du Canada 2014

doi:10.1017/S1431927614013191

MSC-SMC Council Officers—Membres du Conseil

Executive Council / Conseil Exécutive

President Anja Geitmann 1st Vice President Michael Robertson

2nd Vice President TBA

Secretary David O'Neil

Treasurer Pierre Mathieu Charest

Past President Randy Mikula

Councillors-at-Large

Youssef Chebli Martin Couillard Jeff Fraser Douglas Hall Zygmunt Jakubek

Pen Li

Florence Perrin-Sarazin Isabelle Rouiller Stephen Wood

Ex-Officio Council

Executive Secretary Line Mongeon
Bulletin Editor Nadi Braidy
Bulletin Advertising Manager Dianne Moyles
Webmaster Marin Lagace

Zygmunt Jakubek

Pen Li

Florence Perrin-Sarazin Isabelle Rouiller Stephen Wood

Section Chairs

Alberta Marek Malac
Atlantic Craig Bennett
Ontario Jeff Fraser
Pacific Garnet Mongeon
Quebec Line Mongeon

MSC-SMC Sustaining Members / Membres

Buehler Canada

Canemco-Marivac Limited

Edge Scientific

E.A. Fischione Instruments, Inc.

EDAX Inc.

Electron Microscopy Sciences

Fibics Inc.

Gatan Inc.

Hitachi High-Technologies Canada, Inc.

JEOL

Keyence Canada

Nikon Canada Instruments

OSRAM Sylvania Ltd/Ltée ~www.sylvania.com!

Oxford Instruments

Soquelec Ltd/Ltée

Spectra Research Corporation

SPI Supplies Canada

Systems for Research

Ted Pella, Inc.

Tescan

Carl Zeiss SMT





Microscopical Society of Canada / Société de Microscopie du Canada 2014

MSC-SMC Past Presidents / Anciens Presidents

1975-1977	E.J. Chatfield	1993-1995	L. Arsenault
1977-1979	G.T. Simon	1995-1997	R. Sherbourne
1979-1981	G.H. Haggis	1997-1999	J. Corbett
1981-1983	F.P. Ottensmeyer	1999-2001	G. Harauz
1983-1984	D.A. Northwood	2001-2003	R. Gauvin
1984-1985	J.M. Sturgess	2003-2005	E. Humphrey
1985-1987	D.A. Graig	2005-2007	G. Botton
1987-1989	R.F. Egerton	2007-2009	C. Bennett
1989-1991	P.J. Lea	2009-2011	D. Beniac
1991-1993	G. L'Esperance	2011-2013	R. Mikula

SC-SMC 2013 Gérard T. Simon Award

Haitian Xu, University of Victoria "Ultrafast Magnetic Imaging in Small Magnetic Elements". **Shelly Au**, University of British Columbia "Baculovirus Nuclear Import: Open NPC Sesame".

The Canadian Foundation for the Development of Microscopy Travel Awards

The Canadian Foundation for the Development of Microscopy (CFDM), an arm of the Microscopical Society of Canada, is a charitable organization whose aim is to promote the development of microscopy and associated techniques. Part of its mandate is to provide funds for educational opportunities for young scientists. In 2010 we are offering two awards to assist with the travel expenses of Canadian university students to participate in the Microscopy & Microanalysis Conference. The Board of the CFDM will review submissions by students and evaluate them according to the following criteria: scientific merit, significance of their research, creativity, and a letter of reference. The deadline for submissions is May 1st and recipients are announced on the MSC website: http://www.msc-smc.org/.





Microscopical Society of Canada / Société de Microscopie du Canada 2014

2014 CFDM Travel Award Winners (in conjunction with IUMAS)

Samuel Bastien, Université de Sherbrooke. **Xiaohui Zhu**, McMaster University.

The Francis Doane Award In recognition for their outstanding service to the Microscopical Society of Canada

Odette Desbiens started her career in electron microscopy in 1968 at the Research Center of the Laval Hospital in Quebec City, working with pathologist Dr. Paul-Émile Roy. An internship in the laboratory of Dr. Rosita F. de Estable-Puig at the Faculty of Medicine of Laval University instilled in her the love for microscopy. In 1969, Odette joined the group of Dr. Georges Olah at the Faculty of Agricultural and Food Science at Laval University and had the opportunity to receive advanced training in microscopy in France, England, Germany, and in the US. In 1997 Odette moved to the new Life Sciences building of Laval University where she worked at the electron microscopy platform until her retirement in 2000.

Remarkably, Odette has been member of the Microscopical Society of Canada (MSC) ever since the very first annual meeting of the Society in 1974. She has assisted approximately 25 annual meetings of the Society and was involved in the organization of three of these. She completed three mandates as Councilor-at-large and then became council member ex officio as the first webmaster having set up the first web site of the MSC in 1999. She remained the webmaster and was active in the Society until 2010. Odette's service to the Society has been extraordinary. Her continuous dedication to the functioning of the MSC has been exemplary. By giving the Society an online presence, Odette single-handedly ensured the MSC's smooth transition to the 21st century. It is a great pleasure for the Society to recognize Odette's contribution by awarding her the Frances Doane Award.

Past Francis Doane Award Winners

2002	Jim Corbett	2009	Rakesh Bhatnagar
2006	Ray Egerton	2010	Nancy Clark
2008	Pierre-Mathieu Charest	2012	Fran Leggett