# BULLETIN

OF

# THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

Volume 46, Number 1 August 1992

The Australian Mathematical Publishing Assoc. Inc., St Lucia, Queensland 4067, Australia
Printed in Australia by Watson Ferguson & Co.

Registered by Australia Post - Publication No QBQ2945

## THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

President: Cheryl E. Praeger Department of Mathematics

University of Western Australia, Nedlands, W.A. 6009, Australia.

Secretary: D. Elliott Department of Mathematics,

University of Tasmania, Hobart Tas. 7000, Australia.

Treasurer: B.D. Jones Department of Mathematics,

The University of Queensland, Queensland 4072, Australia.

These officers serve until July 1993

Membership and correspondence.

Applications for membership, notices of change of address or title or position, members' subscriptions and correspondence related to accounts should be sent to the Treasurer. Correspondence about the distribution of the Society's BULLETIN, GAZETTE, and JOURNALS, and orders for back numbers should be sent to the Treasurer. All other correspondence should be sent to the Secretary.

#### The Bulletin.

The Bulletin of the Australian Mathematical Society began publication in 1969. Normally two volumes of three numbers are published annually. The BULLETIN is published for the Australian Mathematical Society by the Australian Mathematical Publishing Association Inc.

Editor: Alan S. Jones

Deputy Editor:

Department of Mathematics, The University of Queensland, Queensland 4072, Australia.

Honorary Editor: B.H. Neumann

### ASSOCIATE EDITORS

| Robert S. Anderssen     | Brian A. Davey | J.A. Hempel     | J.H. Rubinstein      |
|-------------------------|----------------|-----------------|----------------------|
| Alan L. Andrew          | P.M. Diamond   | B.D. Hughes     | Ross Street          |
| R. Bartnik              | P.G. Dodds     | D.C. Hunt       | R.P. Sullivan        |
| Elizabeth J. Billington | P. Donovan     | B.D. Jones      | G. Szekeres          |
| J. Clark                | J.R. Giles     | K.L. McAvaney   | E.U. Tarafdar        |
| RD Craven               | IR I Groves    | Sidney A Morris | A.J. van der Poorten |

N.C. Weber

#### ASSISTANT EDITORS

K.G. Smith G.A. Chandler

©Copyright Statement Where necessary, permission to photocopy for internal or personal use or the internal or personal use of specific clients is granted by the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., for libraries and other users registered with the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), provided that the base fee of \$A2.00 per copy of article is paid directly to CCC, 21 Congress Street, Salem, MA 01970, U.S.A. Special requests should be addressed to the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., c/- Department of Mathematics, The University of Queenslanded Older 4072 and University of Queenslanded Older 4072