



ISSN 0030 - 6053 Fauna & Flora Preservation Society Conserving Wildlife Since 1903 Patron Her Majesty The Queen Registered Charity 1011102 A company limited by guarantee: registered in England 2677068 FFPS, 1 Kensington Gore, London SW7 2AR, UK. Telephone 071 823 8899

Vice-Presidents E. O. A. Asibey (Ghana) Sir David Attenborough CBE FRS (UK) David Bellamy (UK) Gerard A. Bertrand (USA) Lt Col C. L. Boyle OBE (UK) Mervyn Cowie CBE ED (Kenya) Ralph Daly OBE (Sultanate of Oman) Gerald Durrell OBE (UK) Maisie Fitter (UK) Richard Fitter (UK) Grenville Lucas OBE (UK) Lady Philippa Scott Academician V. E. Sokolov (USSR) Lee M. Talbot (USA)

Chairman

David M. Jones

Vice-Chairman David Chivers

Honorary Treasurer and Secretary Edward Wright MBE

Council

William Adams Bruce Coleman Mark Collins Lee Durrell

Subscriptions

The Journal is published quarterly (January, April, July, October) and the subscription price for 1994 for non-members is £73.00 (Europe), £80.00 (overseas except North America) and \$119 (US and Canada) post free. Subscribers in Canada must add 7% to the subscription price, to allow for GST. Subscribers in Europe must quote their VAT registration no. or state that they are not registered. Subscribers in the Netherlands who are not VAT registered must add 6% to the price , to allow for VAT. The Journal is published for the Fauna & Flora Preservation Society by Blackwell Scientific Publications Ltd. All matters relating to subscriptions and back numbers should be sent to Journal Subscriptions Dept, Marston Book Services, PO Box 87, Oxford, UK (tel. 0865 791 155; telex 837 515 Mardis G; fax 0865 721 927).

Advertising and offprints

Enquiries should be sent to Blackwell Scientific Publications Ltd, Osney Mead, Oxford OX2 0EL, UK (tel. 0865 240201; fax 0865 721205).

Tony Elisher Edward Holding Angela Horsman Noel McGough William Oliver Professor Paul Racey Michael Rands Gordon McGregor Reid Barry Thomas Piers Trehane Roger Wheater OBE

Director of FFPS Mark Rose

Editor of *Oryx* Jacqui Morris

Editorial Board

Pat Morris (Chairman) Richard H. V. Bell John A. Burton Bruce Coleman Gordon B. Corbet Lee Durrell S. K. Eltringham R. D. Estes Maisie Fitter Joshua R. Ginsberg Terry E. Graham Brian Groombridge Nicholas Hammond Chris Humphries A. M. Hutson Brian Jackman Alison Jolly Richard Luxmoore Jeffrey McNeely T. R. New John E. Newby John F. Oates Anthony B. Rylands John B. Sale John Sparks Simon Stuart Timothy A. Sullivan R. I. Vane-Wright Edward Wright Christopher H. S. Watts

Membership

Oryx is free to members. See application form in this issue. Please notify changes of address to: The Membership Secretary at the address above.

Copyright and Photocopying

Authorization to photocopy items for internal or personal use, or the internal or personal use of specific clients, is granted by the Fauna & Flora Preservation Society for libraries and other users registered with the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) Transactional Reporting Service, provided that the base fee of \$10.50 per copy is paid directly to CCC, 27 Congress Street, Salem, MA 01970, USA. This consent does not extend to other kinds of copying, such as copying for general distribution for advertising or promotional purposes, for creating new collective works or for resale. Special requests should be addressed to the Editor. 0030–6053/94 \$10.50.

The Journal is despatched within Europe by surface mail, to other continents by various forms of air-speeded delivery: to the US* by air freight for forwarding by secondclass post, to India by air freight for guaranteed local delivery, and to all other countries by Accelerated Surface Post. * Second-class postage paid at Rahway, NJ. Postmaster, send address changes to *Oryx*, c/o Mercury Airfreight International Inc, 2323 EF Randolf Avenue, Avenel, NJ 07001 (US Mailing Agent), USA. © 1994 Fauna & Flora Preservation Society. The opinions expressed by the authors do not necessarily reflect the policy of the FFPS.