assure continuing support for an annual award. In spring of 1995, the Women's Caucus for Political Science pledged \$1,200 to the endowment as a 1:2 match for contributions; and the Women's Caucus for Political Science-Midwest pledged \$250. A letter of appeal from Toni M. Travis, president, Women's Caucus for Political Science; Kristi Andersen, chair, Committee on the Status of Women in the Profession; and Janet K. Boles. president, Women and Politics Organized Section, to 1994 contributors has yielded \$1,075 in donations from the following people:

Kathleen L. Barber Walter Beach Annie Johnson Benifield Diane D. Blair Amy Bridges Barbara Burrell Susan J. Carroll Kathy Ferguson Mary Ellen Fischer Jane Flax Fauneil Joyce Rinn Catherine E. Rudder

Mary Segers Roberta Sigel Barbara Sinclair Dorothy M. Stetson Irwin Gertzog Esther S. Goldstein Mary E. Guy Beverly Gail Hawk Susan MacManus Mary Kay Meyer Eileen McDonagh Julie Mostov Jill Norgren Carole Pateman Laura L. Stoker **Sue Thomas** Toni Travis Joan Tronto Diane E. Wall Laura R. Woliver

With these recent contributions and the remaining matching funds from the Women's Caucus, only \$1,000 more is needed. Fifty political scientists contributing \$20 each or 100 contributing \$10 each will top the endowment for the Victoria Schuck Award!

National Academy of Sciences Releases Study of Research-Doctorate Programs

The National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, and the Institute of Medicine has released Study of Research-Doctorate Programs in the United States: Continuity and Change. The book reports the results of an extensive study on research-doctorate programs in 41 disciplines in the Arts and Humanities, Science, and Engineering. It updates and expands upon the widely used 1982 Assessment of Research-Doctorate Programs in the United States and examines changes in size, quality and structure of the nearly 2,000 programs in both studies. Quantitative data on research grants, publications, citations, awards and honors and the characteristics of program graduates are reported along with the results of the 1993

Contributors to APSA

Alan I. Abramowitz Leslie E. Anderson Lee Ann Banaszak Walter E. Beach Seth B. Benjamin Richard D. Bingham Fred Chernoff Clarke E. Cochran William Corlett Donald W. Crowley Joel Delofsky Lee Epstein Martha L. Gibson Harold F. Gosnell Richard L. Hall Glen Halva-Neubauer Mark J. Herbst Jennifer Hochschild Christina F. Jeffrey

Joyce K. Kallgren Anthony King Kay Lawson Christianna Leahy Carol Skalnik Leff Catherine Anne Lucas Ruth B. Mandel Suzanne M. Marillev Dale Rogers Marshall Mary Martinez Lynn Mather Paula D. McClain Susan McWilliams Kenneth J. Meier Barbara J. Nelson Dianne Pinderhughes Eric Plutzer Michael B. Preston Fauneil J. Rinn

Stephen Scroggs
Roshani Cari Shay
James F. Sheffield, Jr.
Barbara Sinclair
Randolph M. Siverson
William C. Sparagens
Christine Di Stefano
Deborah Stone
Susette M. Talarico
Donald Tannenbaum
Otto F. Unsinn
Hanes Walton, Jr.
Stephen L. Wasby

Thank You!!!

National Survey of Graduate Faculty.

Copies of the report can be ordered by contacting the National Academy Press at 1-800-624-6242. Some of the report data will be available on the NAS home page http://www.nas.edu or <gopher.nas.edu or <ftp.nas.edu. If you have questions regarding the report, please call Tony De Santis, 202-334-2293.

Data on political science programs is reproduced in The Profession section of this issue of *PS*.

Women's Caucus Elects New Officers

The Women's Caucus for Political Science elected new officers for 1996 at the APSA Annual Meeting in Chicago. The following will

serve in 1995–96: President: Jane Mansbridge, Northwestern University; President-Elect: Judith Steihm, US Army War College; Membership Director/Secretary: Barbara Presnall, Texas Woman's University; and Newsletter Editor: Susan R. Burgess, University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee.

United States Information Agency Supports Summer Institutes on the American Political System

The United States Information Agency again awarded grants to the American University and American Political Science Association for an institute in Washington, DC, for 18 scholars, each from a different country, and to Southern Illinois University for an institute for 18 Russian scholars. Descriptions of these institutes follow and are accompanied by pictures of the participants. Participants in both programs are enrolled as APSA members in 1996.

The AU/APSA Summer Institute

For the third consecutive year, the American University and the American Political Science Association conducted a "Summer Institute on the American Political System for Foreign Educators" with the support of a grant from the United States Information Agency. The 1995 Summer Institute was



Participants and directors in the AU/APSA Summer Institute are pictured here. Top row (left to right): Philip Brenner, Martha Bonham, Wawrzyniec Konarski, Dimitr Dimitrov, Zhiyao Zhang, Jugderyn Bor. Middle rows (left to right): Youssef Knani, Gui-do Song, Sabysachi Basu Ray Chaudhury, Yevgeniya Bogoyavlenskaya, Tafesse Olika, Zeljiko Bartulovic, Ernesto Velazquez Argana, Elena Kosmach, Sheilah Mann. Bottom row (left to right) Rafael Velazquez Flores, Myint Kyi, Krisha Hachhethu, Adebayo Okunade, Antonio Ramalho Da Rocha.

December 1995 775