BREWER PRIZE CONTEST

The American Society of Church History is pleased to announce a new competition for a booklength manuscript in church history. The award will consist of a subsidy of \$2,000.00 to assist the author in the publication of the manuscript. The winning manuscript shall be published in a manner acceptable to the Society, and have printed on its title page, "The Frank S. and Elizabeth D. Brewer Prize Essay of the American Society of Church History." If competing essays are otherwise of equal quality, preference will be given to those topics relating to the history of Congregationalism.

Complete manuscripts in final form, fully annotated, must be received by William B. Miller, Secretary, American Society of Church History, 305 East Country Club Lane, Wallingford, PA 19086, by 15 December 1982, with return postage included. No manuscript previously submitted will be considered. The award will be announced at the spring meeting of the Society in 1983.

The 1981 winner of the Brewer Prize was "The Control of Marriage in the German Southwest: A Comparative Study, 1550–1600," by Thomas M. Safley.

PHILIP SCHAFF PRIZE

The American Society of Church History takes pleasure in announcing the 1981–82 Philip Schaff Prize. The prize is in the amount of \$1,000.00 to be paid to the author of the best book originating in the North American scholarly community and presenting original research or interpretation in the history of Christianity or any period thereof.

Books considered for this award must be published during the years 1981 or 1982. Any member of the Society may nominate titles for consideration for the Schaff Prize. Copies of books do not have to be submitted. Titles nominated for consideration of the award must be received by the chairperson of the Committee on Research of the Society or William B. Miller, Secretary, American Society of Church History, 305 East Country Club Lane, Wallingford, PA 19086, by 1 March 1983. The announcement of the winner of the Schaff Prize will be made at the annual meeting of the Society in December 1983.

The 1979–1980 winner of the Philip Schaff Prize was *The Age of Reform, 1250–1550: An Intellectual and Religious History of Late Medieval and Reformation Europe,* by Steven Ozment (Yale University Press).