AMERICAN POLITICAL SCIENCE REVIEW CONTENTS

٨	R	CT.	\sim 1	EC.

American Federalism, Welfare Policy, and Residential Choices Paul E. Peterson & Mark Rom	711
Political Parties, Public Opinion, and State Policy in the United States Robert S. Erikson, Gerald C. Wright, Jr. & John P. McIver	729
Republican Schoolmaster: The U.S. Supreme Court, Public Opinion, and Abortion Charles H. Franklin & Liane C. Kosaki	
Strategic Politicians and the Dynamics of U.S. House Elections, 1946-86 Gary C. Jacobson	
Floor Behavior in the U.S. Congress: Committee Power under the Open Rule	
Barry R. Weingast Political Transition, Social Development and Legal Mobilization in Spain	<i>7</i> 95
Micheal W. Giles & Thomas D. Lancaster	817
Richard Gunther	835
Developmental Strategy Philip G. Roeder Personal Influence, Collective Rationality, and	859
Mass Political Action Steven E. Finkel, Edward N. Muller & Karl-Dieter Opp	885
The Cooperative Resolution of Policy Conflict Paul J. Quirk	905
Arms Control Verification and Other Games Involving Imperfect Detection Donald Wittman	923
RESEARCH NOTE	
Dimensions in Congressional Voting Kenneth Koford	949

CONTROVERSY	
Principal-Agent Models of Political Control of Bureaucracy Brian J. Cook & B. Dan Wood	965
REVIEW ESSAY	
Mistrust but Verify: Memoirs of the Reagan Era Charles O. Jones	981
BOOK REVIEWS	
Political Theory	995 1011
Comparative Politics	1044
International Relations	10/4

QUARTERLY JOURNAL OF THE AMERICAN POLITICAL SCIENCE ASSOCIATION

SEPTEMBER 1989 VOLUME 83 NUMBER 3

ii

AMERICAN POLITICAL SCIENCE ASSOCIATION

1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20036

PRESIDENT: Lucian W. Pye

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

PRESIDENT-ELECT: Judith N. Shklar Harvard University VICE-PRESIDENTS: Murray Edelman

University of Wisconsin

Robert Jervis Columbia University

Martin Shapiro
University of California, Berkeley

SECRETARY: Daniel J. Elazar Temple University

TREASURER:
Nancy H. Zingale
College of St. Thomas
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR:

Catherine E. Rudder
PROGRAM CHAIR:
Nelson W. Polsby
University of California, Berkeley

MANAGING EDITOR, APSR:

Samuel C. Patterson Ohio State University COUNCIL, 1987–89: William I. Bacchus Department of State

Donald Kinder University of Michigan

Jane Mansbridge Northwestern University

Dianne Pinderhughes
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Margaret E. Scranton University of Arkansas, Little Rock

Mary Shanley Vassar College

Richard A. Watson University of Missouri, Columbia

Aristide Zolberg *New School for Social Research*

COUNCIL, 1988-90: Christopher Achen University of Chicago

Kathleen Frankovic CBS News, New York City

Peter A. Gourevitch University of California, San Diego

Ted Robert Gurr University of Colorado

Ronald Kahn Oberlin College Barbara J. Nelson University of Minnesota

Adolph Reed, Jr.
Yale University
Donald Searing

University of North Carolina

Announcing the 38th Annual, 1990-91

American Political Science Association

CONGRESSIONAL FELLOWSHIP PROGRAM



Political Scientists _

Opportunities for young and mid-career political scientists to learn more about the legislative process by working as congressional aides for nine months.

Qualifications: Scholarly interest in Congress and the policy process and a Ph.D. completed within the last fifteen years (or near completion). Stipend: \$20,000, plus travel allowance. The fellowship stipend may be supplemented, at the fellow's initiative, with university support.

Fellowship Year: Orientation begins in November 1990; office assignments run from December 1990 through August 15, 1991.

Applications: Application materials must be submitted prior to December 1, 1989. Awards will be announced by March 15, 1990.

Application Procedures

For Political Scientists who have completed their Ph.D. within the last fifteen years or are near completion, submit six copies of:

- A detailed curriculum vitae;
- •A personal statement of about 500 words explaining how the Congressional Fellowship Program relates to your professional career goals;
- •A sample of your best professional writing (one published or unpublished manuscript or paper).

In addition, applicants should submit the names of three professional references who will send letters of recommendation to our office by December 15, 1989. (You are responsible for seeing that these letters are sent.)

By December 1, 1989 send to:
Director
Congressional Fellowship Program
American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

Program activities include:

- •A comprehensive 3-week orientation period, beginning in early November 1990, in preparation for work assignments,
- •Full-time work assignments in the House of Representatives and the Senate, and
- Weekly seminar meetings with leading congressional, governmental, and academic figures.

Chairman of the Congressional Fellowship Program Advisory Committee

Thomas E. Mann, The Brookings Institution

Former Congressional Fellows include:

Charles Bullock, University of Georgia Richard Cheney, Secretary of Defense Lawrence Dodd, University of Colorado, Boulder Murray P. Dry, Middlebury College Delmer Dunn, University of Georgia Ada W. Finifter, Michigan State University Alton Frye, Council on Foreign Relations Robert Healy, Atlantic Richfield Company Charles Henry, University of California, Berkeley George Kundanis, Office of Thomas S. Foley, Speaker of the House of Representatives Eve Lubalin, Office of Senator Frank R. Lautenberg David B. Magleby, Brigham Young University John Manley, Stanford University David Mayhew, Yale University Bruce Oppenheimer, University of Houston Norman Ornstein, American Enterprise Institute David Rohde, Michigan State University Alan Rosenthal, Rutgers University Robert M. Rosenzweig, Association of American Universities Mark A. Siegel, Mark A. Siegel and Associates Barbara Sinclair, University of California, Riverside Terry Sullivan, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill Howard Swearer, Brown University James A. Thurber, The American University Marcia L. Whicker, Virginia Commonwealth University Raymond Wolfinger, University of California, Berkeley Charles E. Young, Chancellor, UCLA

Designed by MOSES JACKSON