COMMISSION 36: THEORY OF STELLAR ATMOSPHERES (THÉORIE DES ATMOSPHÈRES STELLAIRES)

Report of the Business Meeting, 19 August 1994

President: W. Kalkofen

Secretary: R. Pallavicini

The business meeting of Commission 36 was attended by the President of the Commission (W. Kalkofen), the Vice-President (L. C. Cram), several members of the Organizing Committee and *circa* 30 members of the Commission. Concurrent business sessions of related commissions and working groups affected the attendance.

The agenda proposed by the President was accepted. It consisted of four parts: A report by S. Bowyer on the NASA space mission EUVE, discussion of the Report to the IAU of scientific activity in the Commission, the election of officers and new members of the Commission, and a discussion led by L. Cram of electronic communication between the President and members.

R. Wehrse advertised a conference he will host and distributed the first announcement of the workshop on "Numerical Methods for Multidimensional Radiative Transfer Problems", to be held at the University of Heidelberg on December 8-10, 1994.

The President asked for comments on the Commission Report, which he had distributed by mail to all Commission members. The Report had been prepared by members of the Organizing Committee (OC) plus one commission member not in the OC (L. Hartmann) and coordinated, assembled and edited by the President. Several people felt that the Report was biased towards observations and studies of stellar activity, and insufficient attention had been paid to theoretical aspects and NLTE numerical calculations. The President pointed to limitations in the amount of space allotted to commission reports, and he stressed the importance of the selection of the members of the OC to insure proper balance between subdisciplines represented in the Commission because of its importance for writing the Report as well as for proposing IAU Symposia, Colloquia and Joint Discussions.

The President discussed the history of the Commission from its creation in 1961 under de Jager, and the change in focus and scope of scientific subjects in the third of a century of its existence:

The roster of presidents, their country of origin and the year ending their triennium of service included de Jager (Netherlands, 1964), Böhm (Germany, 1967), Underhill (Canada, 1970), Thomas (USA, 1973), Cayrel (France, 1976), Mihalas (USA, 1979), Traving (Germany, 1982), Gustafsson (Sweden, 1985), Kodaira (Japan, 1988), Gray (Canada, 1991), Kalkofen (USA, 1994), and expected for the future, Cram (Australia, 1997) and Pallavicini (Italy, 2000). These presidents come from Europe (6), North America (5), Asia (1) and Australia (1). Only one president was a woman, Dr. Anne Underhill.

Whereas the first Commission Report, in 1964, had dealt mainly with radiative transfer, the theory of stellar atmospheres and the construction of models of atmospheres, the focus changed over the years, especially in response to the new kind of data provided by the space age, to include observational and theoretical work on the whole spectrum of electromagnetic radiation, from the Infrared to X-rays and γ -rays. Thus the Commission kept pace with the changes in astronomy to stay current.

The President stated the rules and criteria to be followed in the election of a president and a vice-president. He then proposed that the current vice-president, L. Cram, be elected president and that R. Pallavicini be elected vice-president, noting that the latter choice took into account scientific expertise and geographical distribution. Both candidates were elected unanimously by the members present.

The President then discussed the composition of the Organizing Committee, the criteria of specialty and geographic distribution and tenure. Ordinarily, an OC member would rotate off the OC after two triennia, although an extension could be requested. The discussion between

201

I. Appenzeller (ed.), Transactions of the International Astronomical Union Volume XXIIB, 201-202.

© 1996 IAU. Printed in the Netherlands.

COMMISSION 36

the president and several Commission members in the audience then resulted in the unanimous adoption of the following list of members of the OC: D. Dravins, I. Hubeny, R. Kurucz, J. Linsky, S. Owocki, D. Sasselov, C. Schrijver, E. Simonneau, R. Wehrse, K. Werner, L. A. Willson, plus W. Kalkofen as past-president.

Dr. Bowyer reported on results from EUVE and their impact on the theory of stellar atmospheres and presented briefly the new EUVE space program ORPHEUS. He invited astronomers to propose observations with EUVE and offered the services of his team to prospective proposers.

The President-elect, L. C. Cram, raised the problem of communicating more effectively with Commission members, possibly using electronic systems. The problem was felt to be of great importance given the large membership of the Commission. Several options were considered, including publishing a newsletter, establishing Working Groups on various subdisciplines, creating an open account (possibly via MOSAIC) accessible by electronic link, and others. It was felt that the Commission should facilitate the exchange of information within the Commission and with other related commissions while at the same time avoiding a flood of information or too rigid a structure. No decision was taken, but the President-elect assured his audience that he would address the problem as one of his first tasks. As a start, e-mail addresses would be obtained for all Commission members and preliminary responses would be solicited from them.