Secretary (1987-88): James E. Anderson, Texas A&M University.

Council (1987-89): William I. Bacchus, Department of State; Donald Kinder, University of Michigan; Jane Mansbridge, Northwestern University; Dianne Pinderhughes, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Margaret E. Scranton, University of Arkansas, Little Rock; Mary Shanley, Vassar College; Richard A. Watson, University of Missouri-Columbia; Aristide Zolberg, New School for Social Research.

Under APSA's constitution the preceding nominations are subject to the vote of those members of the Association attending the Annual Business Meeting. If there is a contest for any elected office, an election will be conducted by mail ballot. Ballots will be distributed within 30 days of the Annual Business Meeting by the executive director. They must be returned within 30 days following distribution.

The 1987 Annual Business Meeting rules are printed in the Features section of this issue of PS. The rules require that any nominations in addition to those made by the Nominating Committee must be received in writing at the Association's Washington office prior to Friday, August 28, 1987, or thereafter at the Association's annual meeting office in the hotel headquarters. All such nominations and certifications must be received at least 24 hours before the session of the Annual Business Meeting in order to include those names on the original nominating document. Specific procedures for offering nominations are indicated in the Annual Business Meeting rules.

Members of the 1987 Nominating Committee are: Myron Weiner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, chair; Charles V. Hamilton, Columbia University; Kathleen McGinnis, Trinity College; Nelson W. Polsby, University of California, Berkeley; Samuel Popkin, University of California, San Diego; Arlene Saxonhouse, University of Michigan.

Continuing Council members from September 1987-September 1988 are: *President:* Kenneth Waltz, University of California, Berkeley. *Council* (1986-88):

Robert H. Bates, Duke University; David W. Brady, Rice University; Demetrios Caraley, Columbia University; Francis M. Carney, University of California, Riverside; Margaret Karns, University of Dayton; David Morgan, University of Liverpool; Mitchell Rice, Louisiana State University; Robert M. Rosenzweig, Association of American Universities.

# Catherine Rudder Named Executive Director

At its April 24th meeting, the Council appointed Catherine Rudder executive director of APSA.

She will fill the vacancy left by Thomas E. Mann, who is moving to the Brookings Institution where he will serve as senior fellow and director of the Governmental Studies Program. Rudder will assume the executive director's position following the 1987 annual meeting in September.

In announcing his choice to the Council, APSA President Samuel P. Huntington reported that members of the Search Committee "unanimously agreed" that their "clear first choice was Dr. Catherine Rudder." Huntington explained that after the Search Committee met, he "carried out an extensive range of consultations of people active in the profession, including a substantial number of former Presidents, and I have found virtually unanimous enthusiasm for Dr. Rudder's candidacy."

Currently associate director of APSA, Rudder directs the Congressional Fellowship Program and edits *PS*. As adjunct professor at Smith College, she teaches a seminar on public policy for Smith College interns in Washington, DC, and she serves on the Executive Committee of APSA's Legislative Studies Section. She has written several articles on tax policy making and is a frequent lecturer at Brookings, the Governmental Affairs Institute of the Office of Personnel Management, the Internal Revenue Service, and other institutions.

"Cathy has succeeded brilliantly with her two major responsibilities at the Associa-

#### **Association News**

tion—the Congressional Fellowship Program and *PS*," Tom Mann said. "The Congressional Fellowship Program has never been as well run as it is today," he continued.

"Under her leadership, PS has become a central organ of our profession, featuring spirited debates on the nature of our enterprise and substantively rich reports on scholarly findings," Mann said.

Prior to coming to APSA in 1981, Rudder was chief of staff for then Rep. Wyche Fowler of Georgia. She is a former Congressional Fellow and was assistant professor at the University of Georgia from 1973 until 1977.

A Phi Beta Kappa graduate of Emory University, Rudder received her PhD from Ohio State University in 1973.

In addition to Huntington, the Search Committee was composed of Martha Derthick (University of Virginia), John Ferejohn (Stanford University), Helen Ingram (University of Arizona), Harold Jacobson (University of Michigan), and Michael Preston (University of Southern California).

## Ferejohn and Krasner To Head 1988 Program

Kenneth Waltz, president-elect of APSA, has appointed Stephen D. Krasner and John Ferejohn, both of Stanford University, to co-chair the Program Committee for the 1988 Annual Meeting. In addition, scholars have been named to head the 25 sections planned for next year's program. These nominations were approved by the Council at its April 24 meeting in Washington, D.C.

The Program Committee is composed of Ferejohn, Krasner and the section heads of the program. The 1988 meeting will be held in Washington, D.C. at the Washington Hilton from Thursday, September 1 to Sunday, September 4.

## Joint Sessions with International Meeting

The XIVth World Congress of the International Political Science Association will be held in conjunction with the APSA meeting in Washington in 1988. The IPSA World Congress will convene on Sunday, August 28, and will conclude Thursday, September 1 at the Sheraton Washington in walking distance from the Washington Hilton.

APSA and the international association will hold a joint evening plenary session on Thursday, September 1, and will cosponsor the book exhibit at the Washington Hilton from Tuesday, August 30 through Saturday, September 3.

### **APSA's Meeting**

On behalf of the Program Committee, Krasner and Ferejohn are soliciting from Association members paper suggestions and offers to appear as discussants for next year's meeting.

Due to the lead time required for preparation of copy for the Spring preliminary program published in *PS*, the deadline for receiving suggestions is December 1, 1987.

Association members are asked to write directly to the appropriate section chair-person listed below. More general inquiries or suggestions may be addressed to:

- Stephen D. Krasner, Department of Political Science, Stanford University, Stanford, CA 94305; (415) 723-1806.
- John Ferejohn, Hoover Institution, Stanford University, Stanford, CA 94305; (415) 723-0021 (Hoover), (415) 723-4355 (Political Science Department).
- Norinne M. Hessman and Ann V. Peyser, APSA, 1527 New Hampshire Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20036; (202) 483-2512.

Further details on the plans for each section will be provided in the Summer issue of *PS*. The section heads are: