## BULLETIN

OF THE

## BRITISH SOCIETY

FOR THE

# HISTORY OF SCIENCE

L. 1	November, 1952	No
		4
	CONTENTS	
	Presidential Address, by Dr. F. Sherwood Taylor: The Theory	PAGE
	OF METALS IN THE WORKS OF 13TH-CENTURY ENCYCLOPAEDISTS	195
	Some Aspects of Early Electrochemistry, by A. J. Berry, M.A.	205
	Symposium Held on 17th April, 1952:	
	Abstract of Paper read by Dr. H. E. Stapleton	211
	" " " " " D. M. DUNLOP, M.A	213
	" " " " " D. Justin Schove, B.Sc	214
	Abstract of Paper read by J. A. Chaldecott, M.Sc., A.Inst.P.	215
	PROCEEDINGS AT MEETINGS, APRIL TO SEPTEMBER 1952	217
	Notices	218
	Report of the Council	218
	Book Reviews	220

## OFFICERS AND COUNCIL

1952 - 1953

#### PRESIDENT

Dr. F. SHERWOOD TAYLOR

#### VICE-PRESIDENTS

Prof. HERBERT BUTTERFIELD

Prof. J. R. PARTINGTON, M.B.E.

Dr. A. C. CROMBIE

Prof. L. ROSENFELD

Dr. D. McKIE

Dr. E. ASHWORTH UNDERWOOD

#### HONORARY SECRETARY

F. H. C. BUTLER, Esq. Rayensmead, Keston, Kent.

## HONORARY TREASURER

Dr. H. R. CALVERT

## ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COUNCIL

Dr. ANGUS ARMITAGE

Dr. H. HEYWOOD

Dr. R. S. CLAY

THOMAS MARTIN, Esq.

Prof. HERBERT DINGLE

Dr. F. J. NORTH

Dr. F. A. Freeth, O.B.E., F.R.S.

Dr. Charles Singer

Dr. A. R. HALL Dr. N. H. DE V. HEATHCOTE Dr. H. Hamshaw Thomas, M.B.E., F.R.S. Robert S. Whipple, Esq.

SATHCOID HOBERT S

### PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE GROUP

#### CHAIRMAN

VICE-CHAIRMAN

Prof. K. R. POPPER

Prof. J. H. WOODGER

### HONORARY SECRETARY

Dr. A. C. CROMBIE

Department of the History and Philosophy of Science, University College, Gower Street, London, W.C.1.

#### ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COMMITTEE

Dr. E. H. HUTTEN L. L. WHYTE, Esq. Dr. J. O. WISDOM

## Editor of the Bulletin

Dr. N. H. DE V. HEATHCOTE, Department of the History and Philosophy of Science, University College, Gower Street, London, W.C.1.

Ordinary membership of the British Society for the History of Science is open to all persons who have been proposed by two Members, approved by the Council, and elected at an Ordinary Meeting.

The Annual Subscription of the Society is at present £1 1s. 0d., payable to the Treasurer on 1st May in each year.

Ordinary Membership of the Philosophy of Science Group is open to all persons who have been proposed by two Members of the Group, approved by the Committee and elected at an Ordinary Meeting.

The Annual Subscription of the Group is 10s. 6d. Members of the British Society for the History of Science are not required to pay a subscription as Members of the Group.

Published by The Society.