Association News

Administration. The first Lasswell Symposium will be held at the 1982 APSA Annual Meeting in Denver. The participants, selected by the Program Committee, will each receive an honorarium for preparing and presenting a paper. Every effort will be made to publish the three papers each year.

Financing. The Association has established an interest-earning fund to receive contributions. Friends of Harold Lasswell have made a contribution to give the fund a start. Other friends of Lasswell and beneficiaries of his ideas and work are urged to contribute. Tax-exempt contributions should be made payable to: APSA H. D. Lasswell Symposium, American Political Science Association, 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036.

Evron M. Kirkpatrick Fund Established to Honor Former Executive Director

The Evron M. Kirkpatrick Fund has been established by the Council of the Ameri-

can Political Science Association to aid in the study of political science as a discipline and profession. The Fund is designed to pay tribute to Dr. Kirkpatrick's distinguished service of 27 years as executive director of the Association. During that time he played an important role in fostering the growth and development of political science as a discipline and profession.

The Fund is also intended to recognize his lively interest and accomplishments as a teacher and scholar in the philosophy and intellectual history of political science.

The Fund's program will include the Pi Sigma Alpha Oral History Project, the APSA archives at Georgetown University, a monograph series, and a small grants program. A Board of Trustees has been appointed by the Council to raise an endowment for the Fund and set policy guidelines for the administration of the Fund's programs.

The Board is composed of Walter E. Beach, Brookings Institution, Chairperson; Mae Brodbeck, University of Iowa; John Davis, City University of New York; Max M. Kampelman, Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver and Kampelman; Clement E. Vose, Wesleyan University; and Robert E. Ward, Stanford University.



Evron Kirkpatrick with close friend Hubert H. Humphrey at the 1969 Annual Meeting in New York.

94 PS Winter 1982

The Council, with the concurrence of the Association's Trust and Development Fund, made the initial gift to the Kirkpatrick Fund in the amount of \$5,000. A second gift of \$5,000 has been given to the Fund by Pi Sigma Alpha, the National Political Science Honor Society.

The Council and Board of Trustees of the Fund invite members of the Association to contribute to the Evron M. Kirkpatrick Endowment Fund. Checks should be made out to the APSA Kirkpatrick Fund and sent to the Association's National Office, 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036. Gifts are tax deductible. ■

Task Force Develops Feminist Units

The Committee on the Status of Women in the Profession met with members of the Committee on Education on October 30 to set in motion a new project designed to enhance and enlarge coverage of women's issues, activities and concerns in basic American government courses.

The project, supported by a grant to the Association from the Fund for the Improvement of Post-Secondary Education, calls for the preparation and distribution of a series of instructional units that can supplement the textbooks and monographs used in the introductory American government course. The units will be written by members of a special task force. The units will then be demonstrated to faculty who attend workshops held in conjunction with the 1983 meetings of the regional political science associations.

Eight of the ten possible task force members were selected at the October committee meeting. The task force was convened on December 10 to determine the objectives and strategies of the project and to specify topics for the units. Task force members decided to produce eight units in order to cover core topics in American government and introduce topics on women's issues and feminist



Susette Talarico of the University of Georgia heads the Committee on the Status of Women in the Profession.

perspectives that are not now taught in American government. It is likely that the units can be adopted also in specialized upper division courses.

The task force agreed to entitle the project: *Citizenship and Change: Women and American Politics.*

The task force is chaired by Diane Fowlkes, Georgia State University, who will coordinate the preparation of the units and provide an essay for the profession describing the project and its materials. Other current task force members and their responsibilities are:

• Irene Diamond, Purdue University, who will write a unit on family and public policy.

• Milda Hedblom, Augsburg College, who will write a unit on federal institutions: executive-legislative.

• Mary L. Shanley, Vassar College, who will write a unit on feminist theory and feminism.

• Sarah Slavin, University College at Buffalo, who will write a unit on constitutional principles.

Judith N. Stiehm, University of