Association News

Annual Meeting	Year	City	Site/Hotel	Program Chair	Attendance	Dates
80	1984	Wash., DC	Washington Hilton	Doris Graber	3,391	8/30-9/2
81	1985	New Orleans	New Orleans Hilton	Joseph Cooper	2,842	8/29-9/1
82	1986	Wash., DC	Washington Hilton	Matthew Holden, Jr.		8/28-31
83	1987	Chicago	Palmer House	Robert Jervis		9/3-6

Plenary Sessions Set For Annual Meeting

Richard Rosecrance of Cornell University and Yehezkel Dror of Hebrew University of Jerusalem will be the panelists at the Lasswell Symposium, Annual Meeting Program Chair Matthew Holden has announced. Holden, the Henry L. and Grace Doherty Professor of the University of Virginia, will chair the symposium whose theme will be "The Garrison State Reconsidered."

Participation in the Lasswell Symposium, which will be held at 8/30 p.m. on Friday, August 29 at the Washington Hilton this year, is a major honor accorded senior scholars by the Association.

In addition to presenting a paper at the Lasswell Symposium, Yehezkel Dror has been named the Fulbright 40th Anniversary Distinguished Lecturer. Dror is professor of political science and Wolfson Professor of Public Administration at Hebrew. His works include Public Policymaking Reexamined, Design for Policy Sciences, Ventures in Policy Sciences, Crazy States, Policymaking Under Adversity, Advanced Aids for Top Decisionmaking: An Action Approach, The Israeli Political System, and National Planning in the Netherlands.

Richard Rosecrance, the other Lasswell Symposium honoree, authored the widely acclaimed *The Rise of the Trading* State: Commerce and Conquest in the Modern World. Rosecrance is the Walter S. Carpenter, Jr. Professor of International and Comparative Politics at Cornell and a former member of the Policy Planning Council of the Department of State. His other works include Action and Reaction in World Politics and International Relations: Peace or War?

Gaus Lecture

Prior to the Lasswell Symposium on Friday, Herbert Kaufman of Boston College, has been selected to deliver the first annual John Gaus Lecture at 5:30 p.m. His topic will be "The End of an Alliance: Public Administration in the Eighties." Funded through a bequest of former APSA President John M. Gaus, the lectureship was established by APSA's Council to highlight the work of political scientists in the field of public administration.

Kaufman is the 1986-87 Thomas P. O'Neill, Jr. Professor of American Politics at Boston College. He received the 1982 Louis Brownlow Award of the National Academy of Public Administration for his book, *The Administrative Behavior of Federal Bureau Chiefs*, published by the Brookings Institution where he was a senior fellow from 1969-83 and a guest scholar this year.

Two of his books, The Forest Ranger: A Study in Administrative Behavior and (with Wallace Sayre) Governing New York City have become classics in politi-

-	Member- ship	President	Affiliation of Time of Presidency	Title of Presidential Address	Address Published in:
	12,101 (3,059)	Philip E. Converse	U. of Michigan	"Power and the Monopoly of Information"	Mar., 1985 APSR
	12,269 (2,996)	Richard F. Fenno, Jr.	U. of Rochester	"Observation, Context, and Sequence in the Study of Politics"	Mar., 1986 APSR
	12,511 (3,046)	Aaron Wildavsky	UC, Berkeley	"Choosing Preferences by Constructing Institutions: A Cultural Theory of Preference Formation"	
		Samuel P. Huntington	Harvard U.		

cal science. Some of his other principal publications include *The Limits of Organizational Change, Are Governments Immortal?, Red Tape: Its Origins, Uses, and Abuses,* and, most recently, *Time, Chance, and Organization: Natural Selection in a Perilous Environment.*

Presidential Address

At Thursday evening's plenary session at 8:30, the announcement of APSA award recipients will be followed by Aaron Wildavsky's presidential address.

In addition to the two plenary sessions on Thursday and Friday evenings, several daytime panels have been organized to consider the work of four noted political scientists. Former APSA President Luther Gulick will be honored by a panel entitled "A Luther Gulick Retrospective" and will himself present a paper on the future of public administration on Thursday at 1:30 p.m. On the following day at 8:30 a.m., a symposium on scholarship and citizenship will be held with distinguished scholar Norton Long.

Also on Friday Mack Jones of Howard University will chair a panel on former APSA President and Nobel Prize winner Ralph J. Bunche. And, two panels will offer retrospectives on the contributions of V. O. Key, Jr. to the study of American politics.

APSA's annual meeting will be held at the Washington Hilton and will begin on Thursday, August 28 and conclude on Sunday, August 31 at noon. On Wednesday, August 27, APSA is sponsoring six short courses, as follows:

- 8:30-4:30: Monitoring and Researching Public Policy Through Free and Commercial Data Bases. Stephen E. Frantzich, U.S. Naval Academy.
- 9:00-4:00: Money, People, Organization, Process and the Administration of American Foreign Policy. William I. Bacchus, U.S. Department of State.
- 9:00-11:30: Writing a Research Proposal for the National Science Foundation. Lee Sigelman, National Science Foundation.
- 9:00-4:00: Inside the Budget Process (to be held on Capitol Hill). Allen Schick, University of Maryland.
- 9:00-4:00: Microcomputers Applied to Political Science and Public Policy Analysis. Stuart S. Nagel, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
- 10:00-4:00: The Supreme Court: Behind the Scenes (to be held at the Supreme Court). Jeffrey B. Morris, University of Pennsylvania.

The fee is \$40.00 for all short courses except for "Writing a Research Proposal," which will cost \$25.00. APSA members may register by writing the national office, indicating which short course is desired, and enclosing a check for the appropriate amount.