Barnett, Browne, and Prothro to be Commended at Annual Meeting

Gwendolyn Howard

American Political Science Association

Marguerite Ross Barnett of the University of Missouri-St. Louis and Vincent J. Browne of Howard University are being honored by the APSA Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession at the annual meeting in Washington, D.C. In addition, James W. Prothro of the University of North Carolina will be posthumously honored by the Committee. Plaques will be bestowed on these scholars at a reception on Friday, August 29, at 10:30 p.m., at the Washington Hilton Hotel.

Barnett, Browne, and Prothro are being recognized for their contributions to the discipline of political science and their efforts to improve the status of black Americans in the profession. The committee began honoring political scientists eight years ago to commend those who



Marguerite Ross Barnett



Vincent J. Browne

have advanced the interests of black political scientists and have distinguished themselves as scholars and teachers.

Michael Preston of the University of Illinois is chair of the Committee on the Status of Blacks whose members include Irwin Brown of the University of Pittsburgh, Michael Combs of Louisiana State University, Ernest Wilson of the University of Michigan, and Linda Williams of Howard University.

Marguerite Ross Barnett

Marguerite Barnett is the recently appointed Chancellor of the University of Missouri-St. Louis. She received her Ph.D. from the University of Chicago in 1972. Her previous position was as Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and professor of political science at the City University of New York. She has also taught at Columbia University, Howard University (where she served as chair of the political science department), and Princeton University.

Barnett has published books on equal education, public policy for the black community, and the politics of cultural nationalism in South India. Barnett's other awards and honors include a Samuel Stouffer Fellowship, a Princeton University Faculty Research Grant, Guest Scholar at Brookings Institution, an Award for Distinguished Research and Scholarship at the Howard University

690 PS Summer 1986

Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, and the Bethune-Tubman-Truth Woman of the Year Award.

Vincent J. Browne

Vincent J. Browne is a professor of political science and chairman of the political science department at Howard University. He received his Ph.D. from Harvard University. He has also served as Dean of the College of Liberal Arts at Howard University.

Browne's books, articles, and reports have covered such topics as: control of the public budget, civil defense, racial desegregation in public service, economic development in Liberia, natural disaster relief, and elimination of segregation by executive order. His writings have appeared in *The Journal of Negro Education, Public Management,* and a number of government publications.

James W. Prothro

This year James W. Prothro is being posthumously honored by the committee. He received his Ph.D. from Princeton University in 1952. At the time of his death in February of this year, he had just completed a term as chairman of the Department of Political Science at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill and was on leave preparing a grant proposal with a colleague. The intent was to restudy after 25 years some of the communities that had been analyzed in Negroes and the New Southern Politics, a book he published in 1966 with Donald Matthews, which analyzed southern politics and particularly black political participation.

Many doctoral students studied with James Prothro, and a considerable number of them are now leaders in the profession. He had a profound influence on these men and women, providing for them an excellent role model for the development of their professional careers.

This year's honorees will join the ranks of the other prominent political scientists recognized by the Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession: Twiley



James W. Prothro

W. Barker, Jr., University of Illinois; E. Wally Miles, San Diego State University; Charles V. Hamilton, Columbia University; Jewel L. Prestage, Southern University; Samuel Cook, Dillard University; Charles Harris, Howard University; Charles Harris, Howard University; Clarence Mitchell, former chief lobbyist for the NAACP; Evron Kirkpatrick, former APSA Executive Director; Lucius Barker, Washington University; Matthew Holden, University of Virginia; and Earl M. Lewis, Trinity University.

Frank Bonilla and Herman D. Lujan to be Honored

Gwendolyn Howard

American Political Science Association

Frank Bonilla of the City University of New York (CUNY) and Herman D. Lujan of the University of Washington will be honored by the APSA Committee on the Status of Chicanos in the Profession at the APSA's Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. These two scholars will receive plaques at a reception on Thursday, August 28, at 6:30 p.m., at the Washington Hilton Hotel.