THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

President:	A. L. Blakers	Department of Mathematics, University of Western Australia, Nedlands, W.A. 6009
Secretary:	W. R. BLOOM	School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences, Murdoch University, Murdoch, W.A. 6153
Treasurer:	V. G. Hart	Department of Mathematics, University of Queensland, St. Lucia, Qld. 4067
Associate Treasurer:	D. G. TACON	School of Mathematics, University of New South Wales, Kensington, N.S.W. 2033
Membership subscriptions (for 1982):	Ordinary members: Reciprocal and junior members: Sustaining members: Institutional members:	A\$35 (or \$30 if paid before 1 January 1982) A\$17.50 (or \$15 if paid before 1 January 1982) A\$70 (or \$60 if paid before 1 January 1982) A\$290 (this includes all publications)

Reciprocity agreements: Such agreements have been made with a number of other mathematical societies. Under the agreements members of the other societies who are not normally resident in Australia may join the Australian Mathematical Society at half the current rates.

Membership and correspondence: Applications for membership, notice of change of address or title or position, and other correspondence, except as noted below, should be sent to the Secretary. Member's subscriptions and correspondence related to accounts should be sent to the Associate Treasurer. Correspondence about the distribution of the Society's GAZETTE, JOURNAL and BULLETIN, and orders for back numbers, should be sent to the Treasurer.

Members of the Society receive copies of the GAZETTE free, and may subscribe to any of the Society's research publications, the JOURNAL (Series A) for A\$15, the JOURNAL (Series B) for A\$10 and the BULLETIN for A\$14 (for the year 1982). For junior members the subscription rates are half those quoted.

OTHER PUBLICATIONS OF THE SOCIETY

The JOURNAL SERIES B. This series contains papers on applied mathematics. It is published in volumes comprising four parts, starting with Volume XIX Part 1, 1975. One volume will be published in 1982, the price to non-members being A\$68. Typescripts for publication should be sent to the Editor,

Associate Professor I. H. SLOAN, School of Mathematics, University of New South Wales, Kensington, N.S.W. 2033, Australia

The BULLETIN of the Australian Mathematical Society began publication in 1969. It aims at quick publication of original research in all branches of mathematics. Normally two volumes of three parts are published annually. The cost to non-members in 1982 is A\$49 per volume. Each paper for publication should include an abstract and a 1980 Mathematics Subject Classification. Three copies of the typescript should be sent to the Editor,

Dr S. A. MORRIS, Department of Mathematics, La Trobe University, Bundoora, Victoria 3083, Australia

The GAZETTE started publication in 1974 and carries news items, mathematical articles of general interest, and articles on tertiary mathematics teaching. The price to non-members for 1982 is A\$17. Typescripts for publication should be sent to the Editor,

Dr J. D. GRAY, School of Mathematics, University of New South Wales, Kensington, N.S.W. 2033, Australia

Editor of the Journal, Series A

H. Lausch, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168.

Associate Editors

Gavin Brown—harmonic analysis, Department of Mathematics, University of New South Wales, P.O. Box 1, Kensington, N.S.W. 2033

J. N. Crossley—logic, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168

T. E. Hall—semigroups, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168

R. Lidl—algebra, Department of Mathematics, University of Tasmania, Box 252C, G.P.O., Hobart, Tasmania 7001

K. Mackenzie—differential geometry,
Department of Mathematics,
Institute of Advanced Studies,
The Australian National University,
P.O. Box 4, Canberra,
ACT, 2600

J. B. Miller—functional analysis, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168 B. Mond—operations research, programming, games,
 Department of Pure Mathematics,
 La Trobe University,
 Bundoora, Victoria 3083

W. Moran—harmonic analysis,
Department of Pure Mathematics,
University of Adelaide,
G.P.O. Box 498, Adelaide,
S.A. 5001

G. R. Morris—differential equations, Department of Mathematics, University of New England, Armidale, N.S.W. 2351

J. H. Rubinstein—topology, Department of Mathematics, University of Melbourne, Parkville, Victoria 3052

R. H. Street—categories, School of Mathematics & Physics, Macquarie University, North Ryde, N.S.W. 2113 D. E. Taylor—groups, Department of Pure Mathematics, University of Sydney, Sydney, N.S.W. 2006

R. L. Tweedie—probability and statistics,
SIROMATH Pty. Ltd.,
York Street,
Sydney, N.S.W. 2000

A. J. van der Poortennumber theory, School of Mathematics and Physics, Macquarie University, North Ryde, N.S.W. 2113

R. O. Vyborny—abstract analysis, partial differential equations, complex functions in one variable,

Department of Mathematics, University of Queensland, St. Lucia, Queensland 4067

W. Wallis—combinatorics, Department of Mathematics, University of Newcastle, Newcastle, N.S.W. 2308

Assistant Editors

G. Virsik, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168 R. T. Worley, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168

Correspondence concerning the printing of papers after their acceptance for publication should be addressed to G. Virsik.

©Copyright Australian Mathematical Society 1982

Copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for scholarly purposes as permitted under the Copyright Act, no part of this JOURNAL may be reproduced by any process without written permission from the Treasurer of the Australian Mathematical Society.