KEVIN WHELDALL

Macquarie University, NSW

University of Southern Queensland

PAT WHITE-DAVIDSON

The Australasian Journal of Special Education

		-	
Editor	DAVID EVANS Faculty of Arts, Ec University of West Bankstown Campu Locked Bag 1797		Editorial Assistant & desk-top publishing JENNIFER LEES University of Western Sydney CHANTELLE RISSIK
•	PENRITH SOUTH DC 1797 NSW Australia Telephone: (02) 9772 6552 Facsimile: (02) 9772 6738 e-mail: d.evans@uws.edu.au		University of Western Sydney
Associate Editors	MICHAEL LAWSC	N	KERI WILTON
School of Educa		n	Department of Education
		ersity of South Australia	University of Auckland
	GPO Box 2100		AUCKLAND
ADELAIDE SA 50 Telephone: (08) 20		001	New Zealand
			Telephone: Auck 737999
Editorial Consultant	ts		
SANDRA BOCHNER Macquarie University, NSW MARK CARTER Macquarie University YOLA CENTER Macquarie University, NSW		STEPHEN HOUGHTON	DEBORAH SIMMONS
		University of Western Australia	University of Oregon, USA
		KEN HOWELL	DONALD STEDMAN
		Western Washington University, US	SA University of North Carolina, USA
		TOM LIPSCOMB	JEFF SIGAFOOS
		Springwood, QLD	Sydney University, NSW
DAVID CHARD		BARTON MACARTHUR	ROBERT STROM
University of Texas a	t Austin, USA	University of Auckland, NZ	Arizona State University, USA

University of Southern Queensland Founding Editor: JEFF BAILEY, University of Western Sydney, Nepean and Children's Hospital Educational Research Institute.

MEREDITH MARTIN

MEREDITH RAWLINGS

Sydney, NSW

DON RICE

Toowoomba, QLD

The AJSE is published twice a year. Membership subscription to AASE or NZSEA includes two issues of AJSE. Other subscriptions: A\$40.00 (+GST) Individual; A\$60.00 (+GST) Institution; Student concession A\$35.00 (+GST) for two years, current student number required. Address subscription enquiries to the Editor. Manuscripts for publication, advertising enquiries, books and other materials for review all should be addressed to the Editor.

Australian Association of Special Education Incorporated **National Executive** WENDY CASTLES (VIC) President

		NANCY DEVLIN (NT) Vice President ROS GREIG (VIC) Treasurer	
	Address (National Executive) (Membership Office)	PO Box 226, BOMADERRY NSW 2541	
	Addresses (State Chapters)	Australian Capital Territory Chapter, PO Box 466, CANBERRA ACT 2601 Queensland Chapter, GPO Box 2070, BRISBANE QLD 4001 New South Wales Chapter, PO Box 223, BOMADERRY NSW 2541 Northern Territory Chapter, PO Box 40528, CASUARINA NT 0810 South Australian Chapter, C/- CEASA, PO Box 111, GOODWOOD SA 5037 Tasmanian Chapter, PO Box 308, MOONAH TAS 7009 Victorian Chapter, PO Box 11, CLIFTON HILL VIC 3068 Western Australia Chapter, PO Box 1715, WANGARA WA 6065	
New Zealand Special Education Association Incorporated			
	Interim Executive	JUDY NICHOLAS (Auckland) President MARGARET ZUBCIC (Auckland) Vice-President ANDREA BOYD (Auckland) Vice-President JUDY DOHERTY (Auckland) Secretary CHARLES NICHOLLS (Auckland) Treasurer	
	Council	FRANK FILLARY (Hawkes Bay) MARTIN VAN DER KLEY (Canterbury) PETER IVERSEN (Auckland)	
	Address	102 Hillside Road, Glenfield, Auckland 10, NZ	

PHILIP FOREMAN

Visiting Professor

BOB HENDERSON

LORETTA GIORCELLI

University of Illinois, USA

University of Newcastle, NSW