# **American Bar Foundation**

#### BOARD OF DIRECTORS

F. Wm. McCalpin, *President*, of the Missouri Bar Randolph W. Thrower, *Vice-President*, of the Georgia Bar Francis A. Allen, *Secretary*, University of Michigan Law School L. Clair Nelson, *Treasurer*, of the District of Columbia Bar

H. William Allen, of the Arkansas Bar
Gerhard Casper, University of Chicago Law School
Hon. Ruth Bader Ginsburg, United States Court of Appeals, District of Columbia
Seth M. Hufstedler, of the California Bar
Hon. Vincent L. McKusick, Supreme Judicial Court, Portland, Maine
Robert W. Meserve, of the Massachusetts Bar
David S. Ruder, Northwestern University Law School
Wm. Reece Smith, Jr., of the Florida Bar
Martha L. Minow, Harvard University Law School

# ex officio:

William W. Falsgraf, President, American Bar Association
Eugene C. Thomas, President-Elect, American Bar Association
Allen E. Brennecke, Chairman, House of Delegates, American Bar Association
L. Clair Nelson, Treasurer, American Bar Association
J. David Andrews, President, American Bar Endowment
Hon. William H. Erickson, Chairman, The Fellows of the American Bar Foundation
Joseph E. Gallagher, Vice-Chairman, The Fellows of the American Bar Foundation
Blake Tartt, Secretary, The Fellows of the American Bar Foundation

# **ADMINISTRATION**

John P. Heinz, Executive Director
Barbara A. Curran, Associate Executive Director
Joanne Martin, Assistant Executive Director
Benjamin S. Jones, Accounting Officer and Office Manager
Bette H. Sikes, Director of Publications
Olavi Maru, Librarian

## PROJECT DIRECTORS

Lori B. Andrews, J.D., Yale Law School Samuel Jan Brakel, J.D., University of Chicago Jonathan D. Casper, Ph.D., Yale University Barbara A. Curran, LL.B., University of Connecticut; LL.M., Yale Law School Stephen Daniels, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin Thomas Y. Davies, J.D., Ph.D., Northwestern University Benjamin S. DuVal, Jr., LL.B., Yale Law School William A. Geller, J.D., University of Chicago Janet A. Gilboy, Ph.D., Northwestern University Terence C. Halliday, Ph.D., University of Chicago Robert Hayden, J.D., Ph.D., State University of New York at Buffalo John P. Heinz, LL.B., Yale Law School Wayne A. Kerstetter, J.D., University of Chicago Spencer L. Kimball, B.C.L., Oxford University;

Joanne Martin, J.D., Loyola University,
M.M. Northwestern University
Olavi Maru, A.B., University of Chicago
Robert L. Nelson, J.D., Ph.D., Northwestern
University
Werner Pfennigstorf, Dr. jur., Habil., University of
Hamburg; M.C.L., University of Michigan
Bette H. Sikes, B.A., College of Wooster
Kent W. Smith, Ph.D., Harvard University
Rayman L. Solomon, J.D., University of Chicago
James A. Sprowl, J.D., University of Michigan
Eric H. Steele, J.D., Harvard Law School
William A. Thomas, Ph.D., University of
Minnesota; J.D., University of Tennessee

### VISITING SCHOLAR

S.J.D., University of Wisconsin

Fred DuBow, Ph.D., Northwestern University
Associate Professor of Criminal Justice and Sociology, University of Illinois at Chicago; Center for
Research in Crime and Justice, University of Illinois at Chicago

