Nominations Sought FOR

1995 APSA CAREER AND DISSERTATION AWARDS

Nominations are invited for APSA Career and Dissertation Awards to be presented at the 1995 Annual Meeting, August 31 - September 3 at the Chicago Hilton and Towers.

Departments are invited to submit nominations for dissertation prizes although not more than one submission per award. Dissertations eligible are those completed and accepted during the past two calendar years. Department submissions should be sent to each member of the award committee and include a letter of nomination and a copy of the dissertation. Departments must submit their nominations by January 15, 1995.

Individuals are invited to submit, for consideration, letters of nomination for Career Awards. Career Awards are decided upon by three-member committees appointed by the President and approved by the Council. The deadline for submission of letters is January 15, 1995.

APSA Career and Dissertation Awards are listed below:

Dissertation Prizes

Gabriel A. Almond Award - in the field of comparative politics.

William A. Anderson Award - in the field of intergovernmental relations.

Edward C. Corwin Award - in the field of public law.

Harold D. Lasswell Award - in field of policy studies.

Helen Dwight Reid Award - in the field of international relations, law and politics.

E.E. Schattschneider Award - in the field of American government.

Leo Strauss Award - in the field of political philosophy.

Leonard D. White Award- in the field of public administration.

Career Awards

John Gaus Award and Lectureship - to honor a recipient's lifetime of exemplary scholarship in the joint tradition of political science and public administration.

Ithiel de Sola Pool Award and Lectureship - given to a scholar selected to explore the implications of research on issues of politics and global society, evoking a broad range of scholarship pursued by Ithiel deSola Pool.

Charles E. Merriam Award - given to a person whose published work and career represents a significant contribution to the art of government through application of social science research.

Hubert H. Humphrey Award - in recognition of notable public service by a political scientist.

Carey McWilliams Award - to honor a major journalistic contribution to our understanding of politics.

Award Committee members and further information may be obtained by contacting the Award Coordinator, Sean Twombly, at the National Office by phone (202) 483-2512 or e-mail: incem023@sivm.si.edu