Special Announcements

Special Announcements

Austrian Ministry for Science and Research Scholarships

The Austrian Ministry for Science and Research will grant a limited number of scholarships for the academic year 1976-1977 to American graduate students now working on doctoral dissertations or other research projects in the field of Austrian history. The grants cover the cost of tuition and maintenance for one person. They may not be used to supplement a stipend received from another scholarship or fellowship. Holders of these scholarships are expected to be in residence at an Austrian university and should have a good command of the German language.

A candidate wishing to apply should send a letter of application, together with transcripts, letters of recommendation, and an outline of projected research, directly to Prof. Istvan Deak, Institute on East Central Europe, Columbia University, New York, New York 10024. The deadline for applications is November 15, 1975.

American Committee to promote Studies of the History of the Habsburg Monarchy

In December, 1972, at the business meeting of the Conference Group for Central European History at New Orleans, Gunther E. Rothenberg was elected to succeed Piotr S. Wandycz, of Yale University, as a member of the American Committee to promote Studies of the History of the Habsburg Monarchy. In San Francisco in December, 1973, Dimitrije Djordjević was selected to replace Wayne Vucinich, of Stanford University. Istvan Deak was chosen to replace William A. Jenks as executive-secretary of the Committee. In 1974 the Committee was composed of the following members: Peter Brock, of the University of Toronto; Istvan Deak, of Columbia University (executive-secretary); Dimitrije Djordjević, of the University of California at Santa Barbara; William A. Jenks, of Washington and Lee University; Enno Kraehe, of the University of Virginia; Gunther E. Rothenberg, of Purdue University; and R. John Rath, of Rice University (ex officio member).

American Association for the Study of Hungarian History

At the fourth annual business meeting of the American Association for the Study of Hungarian History in San Francisco on December 29, 1974, Peter Sugar, of the University of Washington, was elected chairman. George Barany, of the University of Denver, was elected vicechairman; Thomas Sakmyster, of the University of Cincinnati, secretary; and Samuel Goldberger, of Greater Hartford Community College, treasurer.

The Association will offer a \$100.00 prize for the best article on Hungarian history published by a junior historian in a Canadian or United States journal between 1971 and 1975. Articles submitted for consideration for the prize should be sent to Prof. Istvan Deak (Institute on East Central Europe, New York, New York 10027). The winner of the prize will be announced at the Association's business meeting in December, 1975.

Conference Group for Central European History

At the business meeting in New Orleans on December 28, 1972, Hans Rosenberg, of the University of California (Berkeley), was elected chairman of the Conference Group for Central European History. Vernon L. Lidtke, of Johns Hopkins University, was chosen for a two-year term as secretary-treasurer; and Barbara Jelavich, of Indiana University, was elected to the executive board. At the business meeting at San Francisco on December 29, 1973, Harold C. Deutsch, of the University of Minnesota, was made chairman. Dietrich Gerhard, of the University of Missouri, was selected to replace Harold Gordon on the executive board.

The \$250.00 prize of the Conference Group for the best article published in any journal by a North American scholar between October, 1972, and October, 1974, has been awarded to Carl E. Schorske, of Princeton University, for his article "Politics and Patricide in Freud's Interpretation of Dreams," published in The American Historical Review, Vol. LXXVIII, No. 2 (April, 1973).