THE AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR THEATRE RESEARCH

The American Society for Theatre Research was founded in 1956 to encourage theatre scholarship and to provide a link with other similar groups represented in the International Federation for Theatre Research. In 1967 it was incorporated under the laws of the State of New Jersey as a non-profit corporation. In informal correspondence it is referred to as ASTR.

Theatre Survey, the official journal of the Society, is published twice a year, in May and November. The Annual Meeting of the ASTR occurs each fall. In 1990 the location will be Trinity College of the University of Toronto and the dates 16-18 November.

Inquiries and communications for ASTR should be addressed to the Secretary, Cary M. Mazer, Department of English, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA 19104-6273. ASTR annual dues are \$30 (\$15 for students). Membership includes a subscription to *Theatre Survey*. Subscription for institutions and for non-members is \$30 per year.

The Officers and Executive Committee of ASTR

Kalman A. Burnim, President (1988-91)

Margaret Loftus Ranald, Vice-President (1989-91)

Cary M. Mazer, Secretary (1989-92)

Albert Wertheim, Treasurer (1988-91)

Michael R. Booth (1989-92)

Gresdna Doty (1988-91)

Ron Engle (1988-91)

Dennis Kennedy (1990-93)

Margaret Knapp (1990-93)

Bruce A. McConachie (1990-93)

Judith Milhous (1989-92)

Thomas Postlewait (1988-91)

Joseph Roach (1989-92)

Margaret Wilkerson (1990-93)

Don B. Wilmeth (1989-92)

Alan Woods (1989-92)

ExOfficio: Rosemarie K. Bank, Oscar G. Brockett, Irving Brown, Richard M. Buck, Phyllis T. Dircks, Joseph Donohue, Errol Hill, Jill Levenson, Thomas F. Marshall, Benito Ortolani, Simon Williams, Barry Witham

The Graduate School and University Center of The City University of New York 33 West 42 Street New York, N.Y. 10036

CASTA

Center for Advanced Study in Theatre Arts

THEATRE SURVEY

ISSN 0040-5574

Non-Profit Org.
U.S. Postage
PAID
New York, N.Y.
Permit No. 2057