Canadian Journal of Economics and Political Science

Volume 19 1953

Reprinted with the permission of the original publisher by
Periodicals Service Company
Germantown, NY
2013

Printed on acid-free paper.

This reprint was reproduced from the best original edition copy available.

NOTE TO THE REPRINT EDITION:

In some cases full page advertisements which do not add to the scholarly value of this volume have been omitted.

As a result, some reprinted volumes may have irregular pagination.

The Canadian Journal of Economics Revue canadienne d'Economique and Political Science et de Science politique

VOLUME / TOME XIX
1953

Reprinted by

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO PRESS

1968

The

Canadian Political Science Association

President, ALEXANDER BRADY

G.-H. Lévesque H. MARSHALL Vice-Presidents E. F. Beach J. D. GIBSON H. B. HAWTHORN MABEL F. TIMLIN Secretary-Treasurer C. B. MACPHERSON Assistant Secretary-Treasurer Mrs. Elizabeth D. Wangenheim

Past Presidents

Representative Member

on C.S.S.R.C. V. W. BLADEN Elected Members of the Executive Council

A. S. ABELL K. A. H. BUCKLEY R. M. CLARK R. Dehem P. W. Fox E. J. Hanson C. R. HISCOCKS G. R. HORNE D. Ivor D. B. MARSH V. W. MALACH N. H. Morse AILEEN D. Ross

W. Y. SMITH

Representatives of the Board of Editors of the Journal

> S. D. CLARK 1. E. HODGETTS Wм. C. Hood

The Canadian Political Science Association was founded in 1913, and reorganized in 1929. The object of the Association is to encourage the investigation and study of economic, political, and social problems in Canada.

> Annual Subscription \$5.00 Student Subscription \$2.50

The Association welcomes as members all who are interested in its objects. Members receive a copy of The Canadian Journal of Economics and Political Science, published quarterly for the Association by the University of Toronto Press.

> Subscriptions should be sent to the Secretary-Treasurer. Canadian Political Science Association, 273 Bloor St. West, Toronto 5, Canada

Printed in U.S.A.

THE CANADIAN JOURNAL OF ECONOMICS AND POLITICAL SCIENCE

BOARD OF EDITORS

V. C. Fowke, University of Saskatchewan
J. E. Hodgetts, Queen's University

Managing Editors: S. D. Clark, University of Toronto

WM. C. Hood, University of Toronto

EDITORIAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

ALEXANDER BRADY (Chairman)

A. S. ABELL	J. D. Gibson	V. W. Malach
E. F. Beach	E. J. Hanson	D. B. Marsh
V. W. BLADEN	H. B. HAWTHORN	H. Marshall
K. A. H. Buckley	C. R. HISCOCKS	N. H. Morse
R. M. CLARK	G. R. Horne	AILEEN D. Ross
R. Денем	D. Ivor	W. Y. Smith
P. W. Fox	C. B. Macpherson	Mabel F. Timlin

Editorial Office, Baldwin House, University of Toronto Business Office, University of Toronto Press

All Correspondence relating to the business of the Canadian Political Science Association should be addressed to the Secretary-Treasurer, Canadian Political Science Association, 273 Bloor St. W., Toronto 5, Canada